7/6 Gus PMPS 318 @+6 290 PMPS 411 high BG not seen since april

Status
Not open for further replies.

elizabeth and gus

Member Since 2015
AMPS 318
@+6 290
PMPS 411

Gus seems OK today. Is hungry, drinking lots of water but sleeps more than usual and BG so high. We had really good BG regulation for three months and is so high. I don't want increase his dose now until we understand what is going with his other issues. What a bummer or jinx????????
 
When did you open your Lantus? Depending on how old it is, it may be getting toasty and you need a new vial or pen. This might be the beginning of a pancreatitis flare. (I'm leaning toward toasty insulin.)
 
We opened Lantus on 2/28 and store it in fridge. So it is 4.5 months it is worth to try new. One thing I see that he was on 0.1 or drop or NS lot significant length time and his BG was blue and green. Since at that time we decreased from 0.1 to drop there wasn't really deposit. I am thinking we are in pancreatitis flare since on 7/4 he throw up was lethargic, refused food and looked like he is pain. At that time BG started to go up. I gave him bupre and Cerenia and he appeared much better. My vet was not available until tomorrow and the other vet in the practice refused to dispense more medication. We have appointment tomorrow. I am crossing my fingers

Thank you so much.
 
It could be a combo of pancreatitis and old(er) insulin. Gus was seeing some blue amid the higher numbers which may reflect his not feeling well or that the insulin is getting old. At this point, it's hard to tell. Fingers crossed that all goes well with the vet. If you need to raise Gus' dose, I wouldn't hesitate to do so.

Also , if you think this is pancreatitis, try to get a ketone test. If he's not feeling well, you don't want ketones on top of everything else.

 
It could be a combo of pancreatitis and old(er) insulin. Gus was seeing some blue amid the higher numbers which may reflect his not feeling well or that the insulin is getting old. At this point, it's hard to tell. Fingers crossed that all goes well with the vet. If you need to raise Gus' dose, I wouldn't hesitate to do so.

Also , if you think this is pancreatitis, try to get a ketone test. If he's not feeling well, you don't want ketones on top of everything else.
Thanks. I am testing for ketons and 10 analytes as soon his BG went up. I am not very good in result interpretation but one thing I am sure ketons are neg and blood not present. Possible traces protein. One thing I am concerned that he is constipated ( no poop for second day) despite eating pumpkin pure and 1/8 tsp miralax 2 x per day and SEB.
 
Please remember to tell your vet about the constipation. That's an awful lot of intervention to still not have Gus running to the litter box. He could be impacted -- which would also cause his belly to hurt. Are you also adding plenty of water to his food?
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top