7/6/24 Dose advise ASAP AMPS 346 PMPS 397

MaxsMom74

Member
Hello,

I need some advice please. My vet had me start my cat on Lantus at 2 units 2x day. After getting advice on the main forum to lower to 1 unit 2 x a day, Max's numbers have started going up again. Need to know if I should start giving an increased dose tonight? He is due for his dose in 30 minutes. Can anyone give me some advice on if I should increase his dose?

Thank you
 
Jana, it is very hard to give any dosing advice when there are no tests done during the cycles.
Lantus dosing is based on the nadir or lowest point in the cycle. Without any testing, we have no idea what that lowest point is.
It could be dropping really low and then going back up at the next preshot or it could be staying flat.
Do you think you could get some inbetween tests in during both cycles so we can see what is happening?.
As you are doing SLGS you need to get a curve done every 7 days before any decision is made about the dose.
Could you do that?
I would not increase until you can do a curve and we can see what is happening.
 
His ears should not be beat up on 2 tests every 24 hours. What’s going on? Are you having trouble getting blood? A curve testing every 2 hours fur 12 hours or every 3 hours for 18 hours will give some information. Since you don’t have any test except amps and pmps the 18 hour would probably give more information.
 
Can someone please advise if I should increase Max's dose for tomorrow morning? I still have two more tests for his curve to complete for today. Thanks :-)
 
Back
Top