7/6/14 Jose Update

Status
Not open for further replies.
update on Jose's eating
For about the last month I noticed that Jose started eating less food than he had in the past. It didn't bother me much until I noticed about a week ago some soft stool for two days. I took him to the vet. They checked his stool and did a health checkup and everything was fine but she still gave me antibiotics to put him on along with fortiflora. I did not want to give antibiotics since they make Jose's BG skyrocket. I decided to not give him the antibiotics since his diarrhea stopped, his stool sample was fine, and his behavior was normal (aside from eating less). I have been putting fortiflora on his food though. I was given some advice/information by other board members saying that since Jose has been much better regulated he may just not need to eat as much anymore. I also know that Jose needs to loose a little bit more weight. I have decided that Jose eating less food is no longer a concern. He still is interested in food and still runs to eat when it's meal times he just doesn't eat as much anymore. He is now eating about 2 or 2 1/2 cans a day rather than the 3 cans a day he was eating previously. So, that is where we are at with his eating. Does anyone else have advice regarding this? Do you think I made the right choice or should I still be worried ??

OTJ trial??
Ok so lately Jose's numbers have been low enough to forgo insulin and still be low for the next cycle needing only a low dose. At what point do I try to take him off insulin altogether? I'm not sure how this works...
 
I wouldn't worry unless he looses lots of weight. Weighing once a week or so might be good. If he needs to loose some, it's probably not bad that he's eating less. Not eating too much less. Just something to keep an eye on probably but not really worry.

As for OTJ I don't have any advice. I'm not sure what would be best. I'm sure someone else can help advise. I am excited though!!! Go Jose!
 
Are you using U-100 syringes?
If yes, is the dose down to 0.2 units when you do shoot?
If no, what is the smallest dose you shoot?
What is your no shot number?


Some options to go OTJ:
1) Drop method - fill syringe to 0.5 units. Carefully squeeze out drops of the same size. Practice until consistent number and size. Start reducing dose by drops.
2) chasing numbers - wait until high enough to shoot, generally more than 12 hours. Very erratic schedules, though
3) Cold turkey
 
Yes I'm using U100 syringes. I just dropped the dose from .4 to .2 this morning. My no shot number has been 140 with .4u but I did give .2 on a 132PS on 6/4.

Lately I've just only been dosing at 12 hour intervals if it's a shoot able number. He seems to only need a small dose every 24 hours. With my work schedule I am not able to chase his numbers.

If I do the drop method would I count how many drops there are in .2 units and then dose down one drop?
 
Rebecca & Jose said:
...If I do the drop method, would I count how many drops there are in .2 units and then dose down one drop?

Exactly. reduce by drops until a) you hit 0 or b) you find a dose you can do every 12 hours.
 
As with regular shots, if his nadir (lowest glucose) goes below 50 mg/dL on a human glucometer, you reduce.

Or, if you can't shoot twice a day, you reduce.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top