7/5 Tiger Amps Hi Upcoming Dental

Deb and Tiger

Very Active Member
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-2-tiger-amps-359.291756/

Numbers been all over lately. Had his libre changed today so he wouldn’t need a new one next week after his dental on Monday. Of course I’m already a nervous wreck over it! He needs at least 3 teeth removed possibly more. Poor little guy can’t catch a break. Dentist said it could have been done before he even started insulin, unlike our usual dentist that said he had to be regulated before the procedure……
He is going to give him an injection of antibiotics that shouldn’t upset his tummy as much and said we could feed him at his usual 3am feeding but not to feed him in the morning. He has to be there at 8am. We are to give him 1/2 dose of insulin that morning.
Does all this sound normal? Any advice? @Wendy&Neko and anyone else? Thanks for any input. I need all the help I can get!

Hope everyone is having a great 4th weekend!
 
Dentist said it could have been done before he even started insulin, unlike our usual dentist that said he had to be regulated before the procedure……
Yup, that's the value of going with a specialist. Way too many vets say what your usual dentist did. Sounds like Tiger will be in good hands. :bighug::bighug: Think of how much better he's going to feel with this all done.

The injection of antibiotics will be Convenia - has Tiger had that before?

I was allowed to feed 1/3 of a meal until 6AM, but that probably depends on what time the dental is scheduled for, mine appointement was usually later. Half dose is pretty normal for anaesthesia. The only caveat is if you think he's toying with a reduction. But with the unfortunate reduced dose last night, and his track record so far on this dose, I don't think it'll be a worry.

He actually looks like he needs an increase. One thing to be aware of is that with extraxtions, he'll probably see some higher numbers the next week to week and a half due to inflammation. Might be a time for that increase once he's eating normally after the dental.

You have some soft food on hand for him to eat the first little while? Like all meat plain baby food? Or Tiki Cat Mousse.

Keep us posted on the dental.
 
Thank you so much Wendy! I’m stressing so much…
I think he has had cove in before, at least when he was spayed.

yes he actually is needing an increase but I wanted to wait with the dental coming up. The dentist said a little high is better than low. Do you think I should do a reduction to be safe?

I have fancy feast pates that he likes, will those be soft enough? I am worried about him not eating afterward and tummy troubles starting up.

Dentist also said he would send him home with pain meds as well….
 
Do you think I should do a reduction to be safe?
No, not needed at all. In fact, you may find you have to increase for that week after the dental.

You might want to buy a jar of the babyfood anyway - Gerbers or Beechnut make all meat ones. Cats seem to really like it. FF is OK, you just may need to water it down or blend it with some water. The baby food they can lick and swallow and don't need to use their teeth.

Good that he's getting pain meds for home.

Post when you get home from the dental. Some vets have used a type of anaesthesia that lowers the BG, though that's an older one. If you are going to a specialist, it's not as likely to be used. But if you find his numbers are going down between when you get home and shot time, and he's not comfy eating, a reduced dose may be needed that night. Note, Neko once had major work on her jaw with a bony growth removed, and still ate and got full dose that night. Ditto for a simple extraction. When you get home, also try a small, like 1 tsp of food, to see if he'll eat. Due to the anaesthesia you want to space out his feedings as it can impact the GI system.
 
Yes, I was going to say like Wendy, buy a jar or 2 of baby food. When Bella had her dental extractions last year, she did not eat the first night because she was completely sedated still, but accepted to be syringe-fed with baby food (plain turkey). Her fist dental 2 years before that, she ate right away.
It sounds like your dentist is a good one, all should be going well :bighug:
 
Sending you lots of pawsitive energy and love, Deb and Tiger. Please let us know how he’s doing. Will be sending prayers to you and your sweet boy for a successful dental and very fast recovery :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Deb, I can imagine how nervous you are! I had many similar questions before Binies surgery and we went very well with the advice given here. And for Binie it was very true what Wendy said, that she might need more insulin after the surgery for the time she is healing.

One thing I learned about the libre, not knowing if it is true: I read somewhere that during the surgery they should not take the numbers from the libre but do ear pricks. The reason is, that during anaesthesia the blood gets centralised and the tissue fluid doesn't give right numbers any more. I talked about it with my vet before the surgery. She didn't knew that but was o.k. to do ear pricks. So I am not 100 % sure if it is really necessary but it is an easy option to keep him safe.

All fingers and paws are crossed for you and Tiger! This will be an important step to make him feel better! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-2-tiger-amps-359.291756/

Numbers been all over lately. Had his libre changed today so he wouldn’t need a new one next week after his dental on Monday. Of course I’m already a nervous wreck over it! He needs at least 3 teeth removed possibly more. Poor little guy can’t catch a break. Dentist said it could have been done before he even started insulin, unlike our usual dentist that said he had to be regulated before the procedure……
He is going to give him an injection of antibiotics that shouldn’t upset his tummy as much and said we could feed him at his usual 3am feeding but not to feed him in the morning. He has to be there at 8am. We are to give him 1/2 dose of insulin that morning.
Does all this sound normal? Any advice? @Wendy&Neko and anyone else? Thanks for any input. I need all the help I can get!

Hope everyone is having a great 4th weekend!
I know what it’s like to worry about giving her diabetic Dental. I was a nervous wreck about getting my Bailey done. But he came through fantastically. And I’m sure your little guy will as well. So try not to worry, it’s all gonna be just fine.
 
Thank you so much Wendy! I’m stressing so much…
I think he has had cove in before, at least when he was spayed.

yes he actually is needing an increase but I wanted to wait with the dental coming up. The dentist said a little high is better than low. Do you think I should do a reduction to be safe?

I have fancy feast pates that he likes, will those be soft enough? I am worried about him not eating afterward and tummy troubles starting up.

Dentist also said he would send him home with pain meds as well….
my Bailey also had no problem eating afterwards. You’d be surprised how cats are after Dentals. It’s like they don’t care they just eat anyways. Lol
 
my Bailey also had no problem eating afterwards. You’d be surprised how cats are after Dentals. It’s like they don’t care they just eat anyways. Lol

I can absolutely confirm that! Binie was always a kibble addict and she even ate her beloved kibble right after the surgery and ignored the soft food. :)
 
Thank you all for the encouraging posts. I will get some baby food just to be sure. I am already having trouble with him eating. His tummy has been acting up too. I don’t know if it’s his tummy or his teeth causing it being he gets sick if he doesn’t eat. He still wants to eat his old party mix treats tho. I’m using those to “ prime the pump” to get him started. He sounds like Binie, a hard food addict! I am worried about him not eating after and the tummy acting up.
Good to know so many here have come through it so well.
 
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-2-tiger-amps-359.291756/

Numbers been all over lately. Had his libre changed today so he wouldn’t need a new one next week after his dental on Monday. Of course I’m already a nervous wreck over it! He needs at least 3 teeth removed possibly more. Poor little guy can’t catch a break. Dentist said it could have been done before he even started insulin, unlike our usual dentist that said he had to be regulated before the procedure……
He is going to give him an injection of antibiotics that shouldn’t upset his tummy as much and said we could feed him at his usual 3am feeding but not to feed him in the morning. He has to be there at 8am. We are to give him 1/2 dose of insulin that morning.
Does all this sound normal? Any advice? @Wendy&Neko and anyone else? Thanks for any input. I need all the help I can get!

Hope everyone is having a great 4th weekend!
When is Tiger's dental? I would like to follow that journey. We have a theory dental issues, although not seen during the Vet's visual exam, may have caused my cat to fall out of remission. I too have been nervous of dentals. Good Luck!
 
When is Tiger's dental? I would like to follow that journey. We have a theory dental issues, although not seen during the Vet's visual exam, may have caused my cat to fall out of remission. I too have been nervous of dentals. Good Luck!
It was yesterday. I did a post on it last night. I just wish we did it sooner.
 
Back
Top