7/5 Rupert PMPS 399+3 214

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pip & Rupert

Member Since 2012
yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=74375

numbers:
AMPS 352.8
+2 381.78
+6 316.8
PMPS 284.4
+2.5 244.8
+4 194.4

sl;ow dip to the blues for Rupert yesterday and last night. This morning we have a pink, but only just. Hoping he heads down from this and not up again like he did yesterday. Fed a larger breakfast than usual in an attempt at front loading. Rupert is super BEBT, sleek and happy and very elegant and charming this morning. Gave me a very cute little 'beg' for his breakfast. Hungry but not over the top anxious about his breakfast so that's good. Eaten it all of course. Perhaps he's just too dignified to show such base and primal behaviours now! tee hee. Feel like we are beginning to make progress, if we can stop this rise/bounce in it's track and get him heading down to the blues again for today that would be great.

sun is already out! promises to be a wonderful day so I'm guessing he'll spend it out on the deck lounging underneath the love seat, supervising bird activity in the garden.

hope all is well in LL and everyone had a great July 4th.
 
Re: 7/5 Rupert AMPS 300

Lovely morning with Rupert on the deck bird watching. It's like a pic! Hope Rupert comes down slowly! Is the front loading of more food is helping with the dip?
 
Re: 7/5 Rupert AMPS 300

What a very nice evening for Rupert - love the blues. maybe again today Rupert? Good luck to with the front loading - I do that with Mannie, and it has really helped control is love got the dives.

It is gorgeous sunny morning here too - nice cool temps, great morning for deck lounging.
 
Re: 7/5 Rupert AMPS 300 +1.5 309

still just in the pink for +1.5, with a possibly slight rise from the big breaky? interesting to see him go UP a bit in the first few hours instead of the usual crash and burn. Hoping he'll start heading down a little in a few hours and show me a yellow or high blue for +6 test.

off to feed the horsies now! took Rojo over to the indoor arena last night for the first time. He was so totally well behaved and fun to ride! Hubby hopped on and rode him for a few minutes when I was done and seemed to enjoy it, although is very very guarded and still easily upset. Ro made him laugh though and he said he liked playing with him. He was showing off too.. got a flying change, which I STILL haven't mastered on any of my horses... and we didn't know if Ro knew how to do them on request, but hubby was just cantering around and I happened to turn around just in time to see him get the change. Told him he was showing off. I think it made hubby feel like he was getting a good connection with Ro. Ro works well for him, but they will definitely never have the connection that Stu had with Small Gee. Still, it's nice to see Stu back in the saddle and smiling now and then. We have a dressage clinic with my 'once a month' coach this weekend and Stu says he'll take one lesson so that should be fun, plus Larry is always SO much fun and So positive. He hasn't seen Ro yet so it will be interesting to see what his opinion is.

on a more depressing front, my 'regular' cowboy coach that I have ridden with for the past 8 years and who is like a dad to me, is not doing well healthwise. He's being cagey (just like a typical curmudgeony old cowboy) but I believe his lung cancer is back (yes, the idiot smoked his whole life and didn't even quit the FIRST time he was diagnosed seven years ago, and then went into remission). He's not saying much but my feeling is that it's bad and he's not even bothering with chemo or anything this time around. Dammit. Not sure what I"ll do without him. Such a wealth of knowledge and such a dry wit, he sure helped me stay sane with Harvey and saved my butt I don't know how many times. I'm hoping that he's just too ornery to die, but this time around he seems quieter, more tired, and he's even being nice to me in my lessons which can't be a good sign?!

sigh. well, that was a downer wasn't it.

Rupie has moved back in the house and is on the couch for now, probably waiting for the sun to come around.. and the municipality, in their infinite wisdom (NOT!) has decided to sealcoat/gravel the road outside our house so there are trucks and rollers and all kinds of noise going on out there right now. bleah. Rupie unbothered of course!
 
Re: 7/5 Rupert AMPS 300 +1.5 309 +2.5 240

yay, he's turned around and is heading back down. Firmly in mid yellow for +2.5... just hoping the 69pt drop in one hour won't freak his liver out... 69pts in one hour is fairly slow for Rupie! fingers crossed he slows down and surfs and lets his body figure things out without panicking!!!
 
Re: 7/5 Rupert AMPS 300 +1.5 309 +2.5 240

This is definitely a good trend for your guy! :-D That big drop at +2.5 would be a good time to give him some higher carb food to try to slow that down and minimize future bouncing. Fun stories about the horses. Rojo is a sweetheart. He may worm his way into DH's heart yet. Paws crossed for your cowboy coach but being nice is not a good sign. Hope you get some sun!
Liz
 
Re: 7/5 Rupert AMPS 300 +1.5 309 +2.5 240

Come down Rupie! Rosy & Checkers are waiting for you in the green! Nice & easy boy!
 
Re: 7/5 Rupert AMPS 300 +1.5 309 +2.5 240

Rupert, the idea is to come down nice and slow. Let's see some blue today, and make your mama happy.

Hi Pip ...wouldn't a nice blue surf look good for a change? Here's hoping. :-D
 
Re: 7/5 Rupert AMPS 300 +1.5 309 +2.5 240

i agree with anne - slowing down the drop is essential for mr dramatic rupert. actually, i think yesterday's relative flatness and today's are both looking better than a fast drop. perhaps frontloading is going to be a big help on getting him stabilized.

i'm glad to see a food spike on him today.
 
Re: 7/5 Rupert AMPS 300 +1.5 309 +2.5 240

thanx guys. yes.. I've always commented in the past that i've never seen the 'normal' food spike that other kitty's show... but lately Rupie is starting to do more 'normal' things. he got a bigger breakfast again today (almost 3/4 can instead of half can) and the another good dollop at +1.5. I'm at work so can't feed him any more at the moment but he'll get a smidge at +6 when i test again. he's looking great, coat getting sleeker, blacker and shinier by the day. I sure hope we are on the right track. We are going to be away for july 26 and 27 so I'll be reducing his dose for the sitter... hoping that it doesn't set us back too much!

i think the frontloading is what he needs, so hard to tell though, but this does seem to be slowing him down a bit. Hoping that the dip from =1.5 to +2.5 wasn't too too sharp. Could be an interesting night tonight! I have my lesson at 7, hubby will be home though, and I'll be home by 8:30pm (so +2.5) so Rupie will be safe.

weather today GLORIOUS and finally the weekend is forecast to be lovely as well, 25-28 (80's!!! - we'll be melting we are so NOT used to that yet this year)... hoping for some quality deck/bbq time! have dressage clinic both days so will be running around a bit though! also I won tickets to go see Bill Maher on Saturday night. seems to be shaping up to be an exciting weekend!
 
Re: 7/5 Rupert AMPS 300 +1.5 309 +2.5 240 +6 174

whee, hopefully this was a nice gentle slide into his +6 and a blue (hoping he didn't go 'elsewhere' first!!). fingers crossed he'll surf blue till PMPS and NOT bounce...... shhhhhhhhh!
 
Re: 7/5 Rupert AMPS 300 +1.5 309 +2.5 240 +6 174 PMPS 399

drat. obviously not gentle enough slide. rocket back up to nearly red. :cry: was hoping he might not go so high this time.
 
Re: 7/5 Rupert AMPS 300 +1.5 309 +2.5 240 +6 174 PMPS 399

I wonder where Rupert went today? Oh well, at least it's not red! You can come down now Rupert! Enjoy the evening Pip - good night for a ride.
 
well, if that was a bounce, it's cleared rather quickly.!! hoping not so fast that he'll rebounce... again and again and again. sigh! just under 200pts in three hours is fairly 'average' for Rupie, let's hope Mr. Liver agrees and doesn't panic... grrrrrrrr.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top