7/5 Pumbaa AMPS/219 +3/288 +6/291 PMPS/370 +5.5/304

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
Pumbaa dropped down to blue at both AM and PM nadirs yesterday, so, I am not surprised in the least with his high numbers (bounce & flat numbers) today.

But I am tickled that he's not diving dramatically anymore, and his bounces are only lasting a day. So far. But I am the MOST tickled that his pattern of one day of low numbers followed by six days of high numbers seems to have ended. Whew!!!!!

I have also noticed that he is now eating less on this 1.50U dosage. I hope and pray that is a good sign! I've been encouraging him to eat more after his injection, just to give the insulin more to work with while it is peaking. He used to be a Hoover at the AMPS and PMPS feedings. Now he is eating much more like the civvie, Larry. As in eating some, going away, coming back and eating more, going away, totally in grazing mode instead of Hoovering up all food mode. To me, that is good news, too!

Hope everyone suffering through this heatwave is surviving and not suffering abnormally. Including the animules.

I'm glad that I get to go to bed at a fairly reasonable time tonight (although I won't get my necessary and heavenly 7 hours of sleep that my body requests), as life in general, and caring for/testing Pumbaa, has taken a toll on my energy. As many, many, many of you understand!

Suze
 
Pumbaa said:
...I have also noticed that he is now eating less on this 1.50U dosage. I hope and pray that is a good sign! I've been encouraging him to eat more after his injection, just to give the insulin more to work with while it is peaking. He used to be a Hoover at the AMPS and PMPS feedings. Now he is eating much more like the civvie, Larry. As in eating some, going away, coming back and eating more, going away, totally in grazing mode instead of Hoovering up all food mode. To me, that is good news, too!
It should be good but keep checking his weight every week. With ketones still negative I doubt it's *way* too little insulin. So he should be able to settle in to his ideal weight, which may be a little less than when he was eating more to counter the higher dose. Keep an eye on the urination but it shouldn't be too bad in the blue/yellow to low pink, as long as he doesn't stay pink for days. When they get too much insulin they can get fat trying to eat it down or should I say eat it back up. Chip was up to 19 lbs. which was too much, but that was also prescription dry food. He doesn't have that problem now, in fact I'd rather see Chip put a pound back on.

When they go OTJ it's just a lot easier since they can eat when hungry and not on the forced artificial schedule of the shots.
 
Hey Chippendale's:

Nice streak of greens this morning! Whooohooo! Way to go, Chip!

On the other hand, Pumbaa has been in red numbers today. Don't know why. I was an hour late with his injection this morning, and I know that being late is like a dose decrease, but this shouldn't have been evident so soon. Perplexing, that is for sure.
 
Pumbaa said:
...I was an hour late with his injection this morning, and I know that being late is like a dose decrease, but this shouldn't have been evident so soon.
With Lantus, anything but the expected dose at the normal time may cause a disruption to the shed which can have immediately unpredictable results. Any kind of hold, missed, or chicken shot may affect any and all readings from that point forward for days. That's why you shift the time in 15 minute intervals to minimize such effects. And you hold each dose change for 4 to 21 days to see the full result. So the last time Pumbaa was on the previous 7 day egg timer was an hour before the red 473.

Glass of wine, some tears, box of FlexPens anyone?

For now everything is still in limbo and shaking out from the effects of the one hour hold. Give him two days after the schedule gets shifted back (since you are doing that in optimal increments) for the shed to stabilize. At that point you would restart the 7 day egg timer. Or the 21 day egg timer? :?

But bottom line is, everything else perfect for the next 4 days should see him back to his *normal* unpredictably for this dose. Such as blue nadirs every other day? Until then almost anything is possible (unusual highs or lows) but it seems like it is usually somewhat higher, somewhat flatter surfing? With perhaps a dip or two in the wrong place. On second thought, make that the whole bottle of wine. ;-)

As for Chip, would you have guessed that a perfect green surf was coming 12 to 14 days after the last one for this dose? I suspected as such and that's why I kept holding long after all the protocols said to move on. What that tells me is there must be something to the effect of some additional bounce/rebound component (one that limits him to mid blue?) which is taking 12 to 21 days to clear. When the dose was changing it was 21 days to the next green surf.

So likely all these doses (over 1U?) may be too high for Chip, since it takes that long to clear the *entire* rebound from a set of green surfs. It would have been interesting to have held the original 1U dose for 14 days, to see where he would be at. Sienne said to hold 1U for 3 -5 days which I did and Tilly said to hold it for 5-7 days, I was close. Sheila warned me not to go above 1U again until holding for an unspecified period, but MammaOfMuse said to get him up to 1.5U *pronto* which is what I did. I don't regret that since Chip has been safe all this time, and I believe we have learned *something* important from it. Without (really) risking ketones, or for that matter hypo, as it turns out looking back after another 150 test strips. Namely, I learned that I want to switch him to Detemir. :-D

At this point it's probably time to apply Sheila's principals to the standard Tilly protocol. Which I guess would result in the "Levemir protocol" if I'm not mistaken.
 
Dale 'n' Chip said:
...For now everything is still in limbo and shaking out from the effects of the one hour hold. Give him two days after the schedule gets shifted back (since you are doing that in optimal increments) for the shed to stabilize. At that point you would restart the 7 day egg timer. Or the 21 day egg timer? :?
Things are looking good enough who cares about the egg timer? :o

Still seems like there may be some kind of *bounce* coming, but maybe it won't last a whole week like it did the last time just before you dropped to this dose? :-D

(anti-jinx of course)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top