7/5 Lucy PMPS=146;+2=113

Status
Not open for further replies.

mariko

Member Since 2011
Good morning!

Yesterday's

Recap

7/4 AMPS=178; +2=137; +9.5=124
7/4 PMPS=133; +2=83; +3=104; +6=117

7/5 AMPS=149; +2=131; +8=115
7/5 PMPS=146; +2=113

Last weekend, I posted about Lucy showing higher numbers on prednisolone cycles.
She's been on pred for over 5 years in alternate day dose of 5mg.
After talking to the vet, I changed it to 2.5mg every day, to make her numbers even.
Then yesterday, I saw BJM's post in Zener's previous condo saying that some steroids are given in alternate day doses to reduce adrenal suppression.
So, I googled and found a lot of info that suggests the importance of alternate-day schedule to keep the adrenal glands active.
Now I'm worried again..... I don't like the new plan for Lucy any more so much....
I'm sure she's already dependent on pred considering how long she's been on it, but I don't want her adrenal glands to completely lose their abilities to work on their own.
I wish this was mentioned when I talked to the vet last weekend.
I have an acupuncture appointment for Lucy on Sunday, so I'm going to talk to the vet about this again.
She'll be on every day dosing for 6 days on Sunday.
I hope it will not be too late.....
I thought about just changing it back, but I think I'm going to wait till I talk to the vet on Sunday because I don't want to keep changing it in case the vet has a different idea.

This is worrying me A LOT, but other than that we are doing good.
Lucy ate her 1st breakfast by herself again!! and she seems to be feeling good.
Ginger caught a big moth at 4am this morning, swallowed it, and vomited with hairball.
When I got up to clean up 2 hours later, the moth was still wiggling. ewwwwwww.

Sorry for the long post and thank you for reading.
The pred thing has been bothering me and worrying me so much since last night.

I hope everyone will have nice Friday & weekend!!!

-----
Also posted on Health http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=99236
 
Re: 7/5 Lucy AMPS=149 worried again...

Oh Mariko,

It is always something with our babies!! But so happy to hear about Lucy's breffis appy!!

6 days is not long, I think she would be fine. Does your vet have Sunday appts? Cool, if they do :-D

Yuck on the wiggling moth - although I have had slightly wiggling, almost whole lizards upchucked :shock:

Happy Friday!
 
Re: 7/5 Lucy AMPS=149 worried again...

I don't have any prednisone experience, but am sending positive vines your way that you get some answers to your satisfaction - from here and from your vetty. I tell ya, I know being a vet is difficult, but I get so frustrated when key pieces of information are left out...it seems to happen far too frequently, IMO.

Huge ewwww on the moth...that may have cured me desire to eat for the rest of the day :lol: !

Have a great day, despite the worry. Remember that Lucy is feeling good, and that is the most important thing!
 
Re: 7/5 Lucy AMPS=149 worried again...

Thank you, Jane
Yes, my vet is open on Sunday.
In fact, they only close on Christmas Day and New Year's Day.
And they also have emergency service, an on-call doctor is assigned every day for after-hour emergency.
This was one of the key reasons I selected this clinic.

Amy,
Thank you very much for the vines.
I know, I am really puzzled why this side effect of pred was not mentioned during the conversation last weekend.

I posted about Prednisolone alternate-day vs every-day dosing on Health, hoping someone have had similar experience would see it.
The link is in my first post.
 
Re: 7/5 Lucy AMPS=149 worried again...

I sent this to you in a PM but I'm posting here since others seem interested.

Alternate day dosing with a steroid is preferred so the adrenals continue to produce their own hormone. This is from a vet clinic website, Marvista Vet, that I like a lot. The bold is mine.
Prednisone/prednisolone are commonly used for several weeks or even months at a time to get a chronic process under control. It is important that the dose be tapered to an every other day schedule once the condition is controlled. The reason for this is that body will perceive these hormones and not produce any of its own. In time, the adrenal glands will atrophy so that when the medication is discontinued, the patient will be unable to respond to any stressful situation. An actual circulatory crisis can result. By using the medication every other day, this allows the body's own adrenal glands to remain active.
The issue here is how long is a steroid going to be needed. If it's long term, alternate day dosing is wiser. If it's for a brief period, daily dosing should be fine.
 
Re: 7/5 Lucy AMPS=149;+2=131 worried again...

Thank you Sienne.

Lucy will be on prednisolone permanently (the vet says "highly unlikely" she'll be off), but I want Lucy to keep her adrenal glands functions so at least I may have a try at reducing the pred dose in order to give her a better chance at insulin remission.

I want her adrenals to continue producing hormone, so I will at least have an option of reducing pred dose in future.....
When I see the vet on Sunday, I will stress this point, and ask her again what dose and what schedule.
I think I will say I want her every other day, and she'll probably say no problem since that's how it was before last Sunday.
But then there will be this problem of her BG fructuation in sync with the pred schedule........ :sad: :sad:
 
Re: 7/5 Lucy AMPS=149;+2=131;+8=115 worried again...

Try not to stress. Her BG levels are great so even if she has to stay on pred and insulin at least you know you have a happy healthy kitty.. doesnt matter if she needs meds to be that way.
 
Re: 7/5 Lucy AMPS=149;+2=131;+8=115 worried again...

I hope you can get a good schedule for the steroids to help Lucy. It is easy to get caught up in only the numbers. The important thing is to look at the whole cat. If Lucy is feeling good and eating good that's great. Try not to stress over her needing the steroids.
 
Lucy's appetite was good this evening too.
She ate the 1st and 2nd dinner by herself again.

I found out that the vet who knows Lucy's vet works tomorrow, so I think I'll call her tomorrow about prednisolone instead of waiting till Sunday acupuncture appointment with a different vet.
I had a chance to talk with another vet, who has never seen Lucy but (I think) experienced and a good doctor.
He said that adrenal suppression caused by steroids is much less common in cats that dogs.
He said it's a concern with dogs, but isn't as big of a concern when treating cats.
Anyway I'll talk to Lucy's regular doctor tomorrow, and see what she thinks.....

Today was my volunteer day.
Since I left work early, I'm going to work a bit tonight.
I won't be able to visit condos tonight, but thank you very much for your visit and advice.
 
Nice to see Lucy has her appetite again. I hope you get some good answers from the vet tomorrow. Which vet do you use? Sounds like a good one with all that coverage and providing acupuncture too. There's only one vet on the North Shore who does acupuncture, but she doesn't take new patients - too busy.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top