7/5 Frip AMPS 54, +1 50, +2 67, +3 86, +5 117, PMPS 331 ouch

Status
Not open for further replies.

Frip&Grip

Member Since 2010
This is unexpected and it’s the second time this week.

At 8:30 BG was 254. Fed him ½ can of DM as usual.
At 10:45 BG is 54, should I decrease dose or skip it again today? I already fed him… Should I give him more food?

Note: I'm going back to our regular schedule: shot time at 10:00 (by 15 minutes), it was delayed last week.


I’m back at work today (I work from home), so I'm here all day today..

Please see Frip’s SS… Any guidance please?
confused_cat
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54 Dose?

can you test again in 30 minutes and see which way he's going?

When do you need to be back on the 10:00 schedule?
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54, +1 50 Dose?

Libby,

Just tested again... going down: 50? Think I will feed him dry DM... Any suggestions?

No rush to go back to 10:00, just easier...

Thanks...
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54 +1 50, Dose?

in this situation, usually we keep testing every 30 minutes or so, and shoot when we get a good rise. He has earned a dose reduction, so when you do shoot the dose would be 2.75. You don't usually need to feed HC or dry at this point, because at the end of the cycle he's not likely to drop too low (insulin is wearing off).

eta: a nibble or two of LC food should keep the surf going, then when the insulin wears off we'll see a natural rise.
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54, +1 50, +2 67 - Waiting to give shot?

We are going back up: 67, fed him also ...

Should I wait to give him his shot? (1 AM is the latest I can do at night) Until about what number? I will start using 2.75U...
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54, +1 50, +2 67 - Waiting to give shot?

Sorry no one got back to you. Get another test and if the numbers have continued to rise, shoot. You want to shoot 2.75u.
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54, +1 50, +2 67, +3 86

Went up a little again... Gave him 2.75 U....

Thanks Sienne and Libby....

OUF... Back to work!!
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54, +1 50, +2 67, +3 86

nice shooting. :smile:

Plan to get a +1 and +2 to be sure he's surfing or rising. Do you have high carb canned food on hand, in case it's needed later?
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54, +1 50, +2 67, +3 86, +5 117, Next shot?

AMPS: 54 fed
+1 50 fed
+2 67 fed
+3 86 fed shot at 1:30 PM
+5 117
+8 160 fed
I don't have FF HC, will get some next time.. only have dry DM

Question on shot time...

I had to delay this morning’s shot to 1:30 PM, which means I should give him his evening shot at 1:30 AM… Not too convenient!!! We are sleeping then normally… :YMSIGH: ~O)

I want to go back to 10:00… Is there a way I can do this in one shot with a reduced dose? Or is it better to go back 15 minutes a day for the next 14 days? Seems less impact in one shot?

Can I evaluate the dose that way: Moving from 13:30(1:30) back to 10:00 is 3:30 hours less so about ¼ less? :?:
Since we went down to 2.75 U * 3.5/12= 0.8 so 2.75 -0.8 about 2 U… and then resume 2.75 tomorrow? cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54, +1 50, +2 67, +3 86, +5 117, Next shot?

First, yes, get the HC Fancy Feast ASAP. Frip is running in low enough numbers now that you need to have it on hand. Get several different flavors in case he suddenly decides to hate one of them when he's in the 30's. :roll:

Second, I would not shoot 3 1/2 hours early, even with a reduced dose, unless there is no other option. That can set up a lot of overlap, and in the numbers range Frip is in right now, you don't have room for that. Usually the best option is to move 15 minutes per shot or 30 minutes per day, but if there is a day when he is running higher than usual (like if he's bouncing) then you can sometimes shoot an hour early. Some cats can get away with going 2 hours early every now and then, but Frip's numbers aren't high enough to do that.

Or, next time you get a low preshot, you can skip it and start over from there. I'm guessing that opportunity will come up again sooner rather than later. Not ideal, but we've all had to do it at some point.
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54, +1 50, +2 67, +3 86, +5 117, Next shot?

Hi Sylvie from Quebec!

Libby is guiding you so I won't interfere.... just wanted to say hello and welcome.

I agree that you should get HC fancy feast... you can get those anywhere. Mark them with a sharpie pen (to say 18% or whatever % carb they are). It's easier to get that stuff when you are not rushing at the door in a panic.

And.... also... I wouldn't shoot that early either.

See you around.
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54, +1 50, +2 67, +3 86, +5 117, Next shot?

another option would be just to skip any ole shot (like tonight) and move Frip's shot time to a time when you'll be able to get PM spot checks (whether that is 10:00 or some other time). He's in a phase where spot checks are important, and in the grand scheme of things one skipped shot isn't a big deal. Basically you would just be doing his next shot 8 hours late, right?
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54, +1 50, +2 67, +3 86, +5 117, Next shot?

Was looking for the list of HC FF.. Anything with gravy will do? Will get some tomorrow.

Libby, I like the option of skipping tonight shot and start over tomorrow morning at 10 (8.5 hours late).

I will test him later tonighr to see how he’s doing.
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54, +1 50, +2 67, +3 86, +5 117, Next shot?

Helene, thanks ... seen a couple of Canadians so far.. Which HC FF do you buy? don't think we have all the same kinds as in the US? I can not find any beef FF anywhere anymore...
 
Re: 7/5 Frip AMPS 54, +1 50, +2 67, +3 86, +5 117, Next shot?

FF beef was "discontinued" in Canada, some time last fall...I haven't seen it (FF beef) mentioned in some time...
if you're up for it, send a PM to Randi & Max, she's in your neck of the woods, she might be able to tell ya where you can find varities of FF.
 
Just tested him: now 331, Think I should go ahead and give him his shot 2.75 U at 12:30. Anyone still around?
 
Wow Flip is like Trey my cat he is on the move.I tried Friskies with gravy shredded Turkey with cheese Trey went from 43-72 in 15 minutes...hope this helps Good luck to both of you :mrgreen: :o nailbite_smile ~O) :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top