7/5 Bucky

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mr.Wheats

Member Since 2010
Good morning, bucky is on day 4 of lantus his AMPS has been 278 both mornings but is only 141 today. Do I still give him his unit of Lantus?
 
Re: 6/28 Bucky AMPS 141 - Do I still give him his lantus

Hi-

I'm guessing that this 141 is the lowest pre-shot number you've seen. Since this is only your 4th day on Lantus and this number is quite a bit lower than Bucky's other pre-shot numbers, I personally would skip this shot, to be safe.

Ultimately, we don't like to skip shots because that does cause it's own brand of wonkiness, but safety comes first, especially with newly diagnosed cats that don't have a lot of testing data yet. Eventually, once you've got some time and testing data behind you, you will be able to shoot this number and even lower, but we like to work our way down cautiously, so we don't put the kitty at risk for going hypo, especially if you're not going to be around during the cycle to test and monitor.

I just finished my own kitty's morning test/feed/shoot routine and can barely keep my eyes open, so I have to head back to bed. I hope this helps, and I'm also sure others (especially those who may be more familiar with Bucky) will be along soon...members on the east coast are starting to wake up right about now.

Have a great day!!
 
Re: 6/28 Bucky AMPS 141 - Do I still give him his lantus

I agree with Amy to skip the shot this morning.
You could have stalled without feeding, to see if his numbers would come up some, enough that you would feel more comfortable giving him his insulin. But since you probably already fed, and if you have to leave for the day for work or can not monitor him during the day, then in this instance skipping is best.
If you skipped, and if he is high at +23, you can shoot an hour earlier than your normal shot time if you like. I would post at +23 for advice. Could you get a spreadsheet together, so that we can look at his numbers?
 
Re: 6/28 Bucky AMPS 141 - Do I still give him his lantus

I had to leave at 5:30. I didn't see a reply so I gave Him his shot and 3oz of FF salmon feast. I hope he's ok today. It's the weekend so I will be able to test him better.
 
Re: 6/28 Bucky AMPS 141 - Do I still give him his lantus

Is there any possibility of your putting together a spreadsheet so we can offer better informed help?

Since you shoot early, it may help if you get a +11 test an if you have a question, post at your +11. That will give the early risers here a chance to respond hopefully, before you need to shoot.

Did you leave food out for Bucky?
 
Re: 6/28 Bucky AMPS 141 - Do I still give him his lantus

What meter are you using? That 141 is interpreted differently if you are using a pet specific meter like an Alphatrak then it would be if you were using a human glucometer.

Along with the spreadsheet that Sienne has asked if you would be willing to set up, having some additional information in your signature or a profile would be helpful.

Totally optional but we are stumbling around in the dark a bit without knowing some of this information and it is more difficult to help you without some of this basic information. We would rather have this information especially in case of emergency like a possible hypo situation. Saves time. Here are the instructions for doing that.

Would you please provide us with some more information and put this in your user control panel? It helps us to help you better. This will take about 5 minutes of your time.
Think of this as having some very useful information at our finger tips for those that are replying to your posts. One reason we like to see this information in your signature is because if there is ever an emergency situation like a possible hypoglycemic episode, we don’t have to ask a lot of questions like what meter you are using to give you the best advice. Doing this signature update is totally optional, but it does help us to help you better.
If you are willing to do this, would you please do those updates when you get a chance? Thanks.
Go to the upper left corner of your screen and click on the words, User Control Panel
On the next screen, a row of tabs is presented. Select the Profile tab
On the next screen, there are a number of choices along the left hand side. Select Edit Profile.
Go down to the location field and enter your country, state/province, and city if you are willing to share that info.
Click on submit to save this change.

Still in the User Control Panel, Profile tab, this time select Edit Signature from the left hand list of options.
A free form text box appears.
We like to see information like your name, your cats name age and sex, the diagnosis date for the diabetes like this (DX 4/30/13), what meter you are using for testing, what insulin you are using , what you are feeding (wet or dry, what brands/style of food), any complicating health issues your cat may have, any additional medications your cat is receiving. If you are using a pet specific meter like an Alphatrak or Ipet, please change the font size on that text from Normal to Large (using the drop down arrow list in the middle of the editing commands)

Click on submit to save this information. Now, this will appear at the end of every post you make. You can update the info when you need to.

There is an additional document you can create to provide even more information about your cat. This is also optional to create this google document and link it into your signature. The profile is in addition to the synopsis info in your signature. See this link on the how to's of profile creation. http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=6&t=79123
 
Re: 6/28 Bucky AMPS 141 - Do I still give him his lantus

Relion confirm. Have a spreadsheet that I use online already. I have a specialist that is helping me through the spreadsheet and emails. He just wasn't up yet. I will do the +11 test. Thanks!
 
Re: 6/28 Bucky AMPS 141 - Do I still give him his lantus

And please let us know how Bucky is doing tonight...we worry about each other's kitties here :smile: !
 
Re: 6/28 Bucky AMPS 141 - Do I still give him his lantus

What do you do if you think you missed the needle in the skin? His fur smelled strong of insulin. I trimmed the spots on the sides where I will be giving shots so I won't do it again.
 
Re: 6/28 Bucky AMPS 141 - Do I still give him his lantus

It sounds like you did what we call a "fur shot". DO NOT RE-SHOOT! When a fur shot happens, you don't know for sure if any insulin actually went in, and if so, how much. Better safe than sorry....so don't attempt a second shot, or Bucky could end up over-dose.

Don't worry about this...we all give fur shots - even after years of giving injections. This is just one of those things that happens, and we just keep moving forward.

Do mark on your spreadsheet that tonight's dose was a probable fur shot, just for your reference. And, even though it's a fur shot, you can still do some BG tests...you might be surprised to see that some of the juice actually made it in.
 
Re: 6/28 Bucky AMPS 141 - Do I still give him his lantus

Thank you. I was getting a little nervous thanks for responding so quickly.
 
Re: 6/28 Bucky AMPS 141 - Do I still give him his lantus

You're welcome! There is definitely a ton of help and support here....sometimes it takes a little time for someone to get here, but if you hang tight, someone will be along.

One thing that does help draw attention to your condo (thread) is to go to your very first post, click "edit", select the question mark icon, then click "submit". This will alert people to the fact that you have a question.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top