7/5, Binie, AMPS 248, +6 158

Heike & BInie

Very Active Member
Last post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-2-binie-amps-411-3-354-6-267.291746/

Good evening,

yesterday I had to leave the house for an imprortant job appointment. Because everything seemed safe and calm the days before, I was not overly worried when I got up. Binie started in yellow which was lower than usual. Even though I gave her her usual dose and was quite surprised, when she started to fall quickly almost directly after the shot. :nailbiting: I panicked a bit and gave her LOTS of high carb while trying to reach my neighbor. Finally my neighbor promised to look after Binie and I could leave the house. She is really our angel! Binies bg didn't went below 100 this morning but I gave her so much carb. I wonder when we will see these famous flat lantus cycles....

In the evening, the sensor failed so I had to prick her before pm and am shot this morning. She let me do it but was not happy. This morning she was yellow again and I gave a reduced dose of 1.25 because I was scared she would go low while we were at the vet.

The vet wanted to see her wound again. Unforunately she didn't improve since our last visit. She even developed a new wound which is fortunately not very deep. It is really a slow healing process. But her overall well-being seems better so I try not to be overly concerned. She lost a little weight which is really good. I think it is the result of almost only feeding low carb. It's a step in the right direction!

Hope everyone is having a good start in the weekend! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
The vet wanted to see her wound again. Unforunately she didn't improve since our last visit. She even developed a new wound which is fortunately not very deep. It is really a slow healing process. But her overall well-being seems better so I try not to be overly concerned. She lost a little weight which is really good. I think it is the result of almost only feeding low carb. It's a step in the right direction!
Hi Heike ,I'm sorry to hear the wound didn't improve since the last visit , darn wound . I'm glad the new wound isn't not very deep. It's good to hear she has lost a little weight . I hope you both have a nice evening :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Heike ,I'm sorry to hear the wound didn't improve since the last visit , darn wound . I'm glad the new wound isn't not very deep. It's good to hear she has lost a little weight . I hope you both have a nice evening :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Thank you so much Diane! :bighug::bighug::bighug: When the vet told me that the half-life of the threads is three month I knew it could take long. Seems we need some patience. I hope you have a nice day too Diane! :cat:
 
Hi Heike, I’m sorry the wound is taking so long to heal. I hope it’s not bothering sweet Binie.
Glad you got the stupid sensor replaced quickly.

I hope she stays stable for you when you have to go out. It’s so challenging when we need to leave for a little while and that’s when they decide to drop, it’s like they know.
It’s wonderful that your neighbor helps when they can, if you’re in a bind.
Wishing you both a calm night and a peaceful sleep :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That's good news on the weight loss. An overweight kitty I adopted from the local shelter really benefited from Neko's low carb diet. Compared to the "vet prescription" weight loss food that he had been gaining weight on at the shelter. :rolleyes:

It's great you have a neighbour who can help you out with mid day feedings.
 
Hi Heike, I’m sorry the wound is taking so long to heal. I hope it’s not bothering sweet Binie.
Glad you got the stupid sensor replaced quickly.

I hope she stays stable for you when you have to go out. It’s so challenging when we need to leave for a little while and that’s when they decide to drop, it’s like they know.
It’s wonderful that your neighbor helps when they can, if you’re in a bind.
Wishing you both a calm night and a peaceful sleep :bighug::bighug::bighug:

Hi Staci, I think the wound is bothering her but as her all overall well-being gets better every day I think she can manage. And yes, I was so glad I could change the sensor today. The fur really pushed it out and I think I have to change it more often in future. The times where she could wear it for 14 days because her fur was not growing are over.

Not being able to go out without worry is really a sacrifice. I really hope to find a dose which gives her good numbers AND is safe. But we still seem to be quite far away from this.

Tonight she is all red. Not nice, but I will try to use it for sleeping well. Hope you have a calm night too! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
That's good news on the weight loss. An overweight kitty I adopted from the local shelter really benefited from Neko's low carb diet. Compared to the "vet prescription" weight loss food that he had been gaining weight on at the shelter. :rolleyes:

It's great you have a neighbour who can help you out with mid day feedings.

Hi Wendy, so nice you adopted an overweight cat! :bighug::bighug::bighug: Seems like all the "vet prescription" food is rubbish. Binie has a long way to go with her weight. She was always a bit chonky but her hypothyreosis made her gain lots of weight in a short time. I am so glad she accepts her low carb food - even though she still prefers kibble over wet food. :rolleyes:
Hope you enjoy your start in the weekend Wendy! :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Back
Top