? 7-5-17 - Jones AMPS 166, +7 184 PMPS 182 - Looking for some input on dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tracey&Jones (GA)

Member Since 2016
Previous

I am liking the affect on appetite with Jones on the new dose. He comes to eat vs. me finding him to get 2 tsp in for the shot and then waiting for the appetite stim to kick in about 2 hrs after shot to eat more - plus the last day and half is bowl has been empty!

He is really enjoying the cooked beef I did and it seems he likes the beef stew chunks there were in there to chew on.

That all said, I am not liking his numbers as they really kicked it up a notch in the last 2 days. I would like to increase the dose back up 1 more notch to his 0.1u less 8 drops which would add 1 more drop to his dose but we are leaving for the weekend and he will have 1 drop doses with the cat sitter and I know she can't do the whole less drop thing. So do I increase for the next few days and let her do just the drop dose or just wait till I get back?

It is just drops of insulin we are talking about here. He was doing so well once he adjusted to the last dose increase just took 6 weeks and I am hoping to do that again.
 
Last edited:
I am glad the pred seems to be helping him feel better and have a better appetite. It's greT you found a food he likes, especially something he will eat while you are gone.

As for the Lantus dose, two things to consider. First, the depot will carry on for a few cycles after you lower the dose. Second thing, keeping him in higher numbers might cause a tiny bit of glucose toxicity. It's a tradeoff. Will the petsitter be monitoring?
 
Will the petsitter be monitoring?
She will be doing the AM & PM check. I will do Saturday morning, the she is here for Saturday night and Sunday morning. Then I am back for Sunday night.

DS is home but can be un-reliable for doing midday checks. :banghead::banghead::banghead: He is off Sunday and will be home Saturday after work at about 2. I can try to beat it into him. The importance to get a +6 or +7.

My gut is telling me to get that extra drop in, I can see more drinking and urination in the last 2 days as well.

ETA Add: We are not leaving until late Saturday morning so I can get a Saturday mid-cycle test in. Talked with DS about what I would like to do - I will be hounding him by text to get those tests. CS will be doing the AMPS and PMPS - so I think we are covered?

Till we leave DH is home to watch even if he can't test. (read won't).

I really don't want to wait till late next week to start offsetting this. Then I am just losing all the gains in appetite and controlling the IBD.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top