7/4-Racci-AMPS-154,+3.5-LO!,+4-77,+6-81,+8.5-99,PMPS-134

Status
Not open for further replies.

MelanieAndRacci

Member Since 2010
Yesterday: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=74347
7/3-Racci-AMPS-147,+5-108,PMPS-171,+3-84

Happy 4th of July! Please keep your animals inside and safe and please encourage all you know to do the same!

I hope you all have fun days planned. In the US we usually all have barbeques and picnics and watch fireworks today to celebrate Independence Day. It's a day to get together with family and/or friends.
The people have fun but the poor animals are usually scared of the noise. It's best to leave them home where it's quiet and peaceful and safe but every year people let them out anyway and a lot of dogs and cats are injured or wind up in shelters on the 4th, no matter how many public service ads there are or how many times they are told.

Racci is very sweet and happy today. She was even good about taking her oral meds! She went down to 84 at +3 last night which was good but was high again this morning (not too bad though 154). If she gets high greens with this new dose I'll be satisfied as long as she stays green for most of each day or under 120.

Well, I have to put away groceries now and test Racci in a few minutes. BRB.

Hugs to all and I hope everyone has a great day!

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 7/4-Racci-AMPS-154,+3.5-LO!,+4-77

At +3.5 I got a LO on the Contour meter! That never happened before and she only got 3u so I freaked out. I didn't know what LO stood for but got some hc in her right away and then some lc. When I tested again at 3.5 she was 77.

I had given a lot more hc than usual to bring her up but when I looked up what lo was if I'm reading this right, it looks like lo is only 10 on the contour! Could that be right? In hind sight, I probably should have retested right away to make sure it wasn't a bad strip, but all I wanted was to get hc in her immediately at that moment and figured I'd look it up and double check afterwards.

Now I don't know whether to believe that or not. It would be logical to go up to 77 with all the hc but doesn't seem logical to go that low with just 3u and all the meals she had.
 
Re: 7/4-Racci-AMPS-154,+3.5-LO!,+4-77

Unfortunately, I don't have a Contour monitor, but I did look it up on Ask.com, and saw this: "• If your test result is below 50 mg/dL, above 250 mg/dL, or you see “LO” or “HI” on the meter display..." It may mean that Racci's # was below 50. That may be what happened. You brought her out of danger, and that's what counts. Good job! She may give you a bit of bouncing from the carb food for a day or 2.
 
Re: 7/4-Racci-AMPS-154,+3.5-LO!,+4-77

Oh poor Melanie!! You must have freaked out!! I am sure it was a meter error, and if it happens again, retest! That is scary, but she wasnt really running in low numbers, but I guess nothing is predictable with FD!
She is fine now & that's all that matters--We are staying home with Moonie and watching the fireworks on tv--Just to keep her happy, when the neighborhood lights the Bombs here again tonite--
Didnt anyone ever tell them these things are dangerous??
Oh well, Have a good evening--Racci Is GREEN :mrgreen: :mrgreen: HUgs & Love from us!!
 
Re: 7/4-Racci-AMPS-154,+3.5-LO!,+4-77

I use a Contour. It will register numbers in the 20s.

I agree -- next time, don't panic and retest. I suspect you had either a bad strip or not enough blood on the strip to get an accurate reading. The question, though, is do you decrease the dose. I'd see what the numbers tell you the rest of the cycle.
 
Re: 7/4-Racci-AMPS-154,+3.5-LO!,+4-77

Thanks for your replies! I think it was a bad strip now too.

Angela, I've measured 37 on it and maybe lower (34 I think) so I know it goes below 50. The info on the strip flyer said it registers between 10 & 600! That's scary (10)! I don't believe she could have been below 10 though! Thanks for looking that up for me though!

Roni, 'poor Melanie' is right! :lol: I did freak out. At first I thought I was reading the numbers wrong. It was a nice blood spot though, not too big or small so it had to be either the meter or strip. Next time I'll just test again no matter what. I was having heart failure and little Racci was sitting there looking up at me calm as can be with those big green eyes. :razz: We're staying home too. They do a huge fireworks display right in my development every year by the clubhouse and people from all over come here so there's no escaping it for us. It's really beautiful but since Racci doesn't have Calli with her this year we're staying home with her too.

Sienne, since she just got a reduction 3 days ago and we don't know the real number other than that it was low enough to allow all that hc to only bring her to 77, I think we have to wait and see what happens. She's certainly feeling good at any rate, purring and rubbing on my laptop table now, trying to get my attention. They have no idea how much they worry us!

Hugs & thank you!

Melanie & Racci
 
Re: 7/4-Racci-AMPS-154,+3.5-LO!,+4-77

do you have any updated numbers? You want to be sure she is staying up. If the 77 was carb-induced, it could drop again when the carbs wear off.
 
Re: 7/4-Racci-AMPS-154,+3.5-LO!,+4-77

Sorry Libby, yes I do. I thought I put it up. I'll update it right now. +6-81, +8.5-99.

I could have sworn I did. I bet it had to be submitted twice and I didn't see it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top