7/4 Pumbaa AMPS/317 +6/181 PMPS/277 +5/227 +6/188 +7/214

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
It was so nice to see that blue in there at the AM +6! Tonight, his +5 is 227, so he could actually drop down into the blue again, if I am awake to test him in another half hour or so. (Yes! At +6 PM he hit 188! Another blue today! Yeehaw!!!! Even better, at +7 he was up to 214 so I get to go to bed!)

I'm encouraged seeing blue in the 10th & 11th cycles after reducing his dose to 1.50U. Hopefully by now his shed has now depleted to the 1.50U level.

I'm also encouraged to see that he's broken the pattern of one day of low numbers, followed by six days of bouncing and high, flat numbers.

Seeing blue every other day is enough to let me keep my patience pants on and maintain this dose for a while and see where it leads him.

I need to thank Sheila (of Beau & Jeddie fame) for the idea about the dose reduction, and Dale (of Chip fame) for questioning my previous practice of massaging Pumbaa's injection site after the injection. Since the dose reduction and abstinence from massaging both occurred at the same time, I'm attributing both efforts for breaking his previous response to the insulin. Thank you, thank you, thank you Sheila and Dale!

Suze (very tired after having six people over for a mesquite grilled turkey dinner..I'm getting too old to prepare big dinners like this all by myself, and do all of the cleaning, and grocery shopping, etc. But it was an unofficial celebration of my mom's birthday tomorrow, and the other people were friends of my mom's - who are also my friends by association over the years, so it was well worth it to see my mom have a great time one day before her 78th birthday!)
 
Go Pumbaa Go!

You know I think the hardest thing I had for wrapping my brain around when I started dancing with a sugarcat, was trying to tell the difference between too much insulin and too little insulin. Still not always great about figuring it out...but getting better at it as Autumn's numbers are telling me...lol.

Probably at least in my case it is as my DH tells me "my Vulcan brain" :lol: I know what insulin is....I know its role in the body....so it is illogical that a hormone that's role in the body to lower bloodsugar could actually cause higher readings...it took forever for that to compute with me. Well that and the whole shed thingy, I still only basically grasp that in concept at least. But after 3 diabetics I'm certainly getting plenty of training in understanding it all...lol At least Autumn has read the rules on how to be a good sugarcat...I tried everything to get Musette to read them and she just flat refused.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
I'm so glad to see that you are happy with the blue Pumbaa! Hope Pumbaa keeps the blue momentum. So true to say that we're too happy to see them in blue surfing already :lol:
Happy Birthday to your mom Suze! You are such a great daughter to prepare the birthday dinner for her!
 
Mel:

I totally understand. While part of my brain understands Lantus and the shed and how the cat needs to settle in the dose, etc., the other part of my brain wants to see immediate changes/results. (Can't help it...I'm a results-oriented, let's-fix-this-immediately, instant-gratification type of person.) Add to that the confusion that too much and too little insulin can look so much alike...it's a wonder than many of us haven't ripped our hair out after the first couple of months! *LOL*

I'm glad that Autumn read the directions about being diabetic! It was the least she could do for you after you rescued her and turned her into a pampered, well-cared-for indoor kittie! I think Pumbaa read the directions, then decided, in true male juvenile delinquent form, to ignore them all and make life more interesting for me. Hahahahahaha!

Here's hoping Pumbaa goes blue again today, and doesn't have any rebound from yesterday's blues!

Just checked your weather forecast...100F predicted for Hastings tomorrow. May you and Jon both stay cool, somehow! Something I learned living in Arizona, when you get really overheated, rubbing ice cubes on the insides of your wrists and on your neck over the carotid artery, really helps cool you down quickly.

Suze
 
Helen, thank you for sharing my joy at Pumbaa's blues and breaking that pattern he was going through! And I'm happy to see that Rosy was cruising in the greens again today! The greens keep you on your toes, but it's worth it, isn't it?

Awww, shucks. I try to be a good daughter. We never know how much time we have left with our parents, and I'm trying to appreciate the days I have with my mom, one day at a time. :)

Suze
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top