7/4 Napoleon AMPS - 446 +4 379 +6 412 PMPS 440 +3 308

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole and Napoleon

Member Since 2010
yesterday:http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18810
I don't know what is going on :sad: Another fur shot. I smelled it on his fur and had a little on my finger - most got in. I have been doing this for a long time, I cannot believe this happened again! I don't know if it is the fact that I am going on such little sleep. There is no excuse twice in a row.

Should I raise his dose back to 3u fat to rebuild the shed next shot?
 
Re: 7/4 Napoleon AMPS - 446 Another partial fur shot

Good morning Nicole,

((((hugs)))) first....
let's see how the day goes, we'll see what the others suggest for later today ok?
How's Napoleon doing?
 
Re: 7/4 Napoleon AMPS - 446 Another partial fur shot

Good morning Ronnie,

Thanks you for the hugs :) He seems to be fine. He is alert and looks good. All p's are in place.
 
Re: 7/4 Napoleon AMPS - 446 Another partial fur shot

Good Morning: Sorry about the fur shots. It happens to all of us. Have you gotten a ketone test? I would wait and see how the day play out regarding dose. Have a good day.
 
Re: 7/4 Napoleon AMPS - 446 Another partial fur shot

Start shooting practice with an empty syringe and an orange--I used to do fur shots a lot in the beginning, and that helped me get the feel of shooting--It really works! You can do it!--Try the orange!---Insulin on your fingers can also be residue from excess left on the needle sometimes when you draw the shot.....
Also never ever shoot again after fur shot--you really dont know how much got in--Yes, Let's see how he does today!
You are doing a Great Job!! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/4 Napoleon AMPS - 446 Another partial fur shot

Sorry about the fur shot. You must be frustrated! I do agree with Ronnie - let's see what today looks like. Maybe more went in than you think. There are certainly times when I thought I gave a fur shot and it turned out that I didn't.

As for your other question, I think I'd hold the dose. The 3.0u looked like is was getting somewhere. The shed isn't going to fill any more quickly if you increase the dose and you run the risk of being over what Napoleon needs.
 
Re: 7/4 Napoleon AMPS - 446 Another partial fur shot

Im sorry about the fur shots. :sad:

Ive been giving Latte injections of various medications for well over three years. After a few suspected fur shots of insulin many months ago, I switched to longer needles. It just made me feel more confident. I use the longer needles for her two most important meds - insulin and steroid.

Hope the day goes okay.
 
Re: 7/4 Napoleon AMPS - 446 Another partial fur shot

Morning.....look at that healthy liver go! :YMSIGH: Well, I tried to be positive...LOL...
I know what you mean about lack of sleep. Is there a way that you can nap during the day to try to make up for what you lost?
We have all done the fur shots sigh....we just have to wait and see the numbers today to see if some of it went in.
I hope that you can rest up and at any rate, have a good day...
Happy 4th of July to yous!!
 
Re: 7/4 Napoleon AMPS - 446 Another partial fur shot

I had a run of fur shots a while back... I'd been shooting fine and then bam! All of a sudden I kept screwing it up. I took Carolyn's advice (and the advice of some of the others around here) to switch to the longer needles. Aside from one fur shot where I think I actually shot all the way thru the skin and out the other side, we've had pretty good luck. Even though I got Kasha shaved down this week and I could switch to using my shorter needles, I've still been using the longer needles because it just makes me feel more confident about the shot going in.
 
Re: 7/4 Napoleon AMPS - 446 (Another partial fur shot) +4 379

Thank you all so so much. You are all wonderful. I truly think it has been my lack of sleep, I am going to try to nap today and I will try the orange trick also for practice - it can't hurt. I have been using long needles, I noticed that they are easier to use and I get better results with them.
 
Re: 7/4 Napoleon AMPS - 446 (Another fur shot) +4 379 +6 412

Krikey...((((hugs)))) yep been there done that :lol: I can laugh now, but when it happens it sucks!
Hang in there...take a nap. It's like having a baby up all hours for sure :-D
As my mom told me when I was freakin over my fur shot (and doesn't it stink) that Doodles will be fine, this isn't her first day with FD :-D
mom's are they great :-D and remember you are doing great :-D

have a great day and don't you just love these beans!!!!

heidi and doodles >"<
 
Re: 7/4 Napoleon AMPS - 446 (Another fur shot) +4 379 +6 412

Heidi, thank you so much for the kind words :YMHUG: No fur shot tonight thankfully ;-)

You have a great night, enjoy your Doodles (who is doing awesome by the way!!!!!) and the fireworks!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top