7/4 Max AMPS 88 +3 108 +4 67 +5 49,46,44 ,62+6 98 +6.5 79 PMPS 67, 71 +1 77 +2 72

Max & Lori

Member Since 2021
Good morning! Happy Independence Day. I think the extreme heat is going to keep me inside today. Max seemed happy this morning. I woke up to a sandpaper tongue licking my arm lol. He was hungry this morning, which is good. Good to see a green AMPS. I’m noticing that he’s drinking a lot of water now so I hope his kidney values haven’t gotten worse. He’s supposed to get labs this month (T4 every 3 months for first year after SRT). Are there any specific labs that I may need to request in checking his kidneys? Last time his vet only did a basic senior panel which showed proteinuria. The vet recommended a renal diet, which we decided to wait on as recommended here. I did call back and ask for a UPCR after talking to some of you all here, which was 0.5. He is eating low a low phosphorus diet most of the time unless he has tummy issues, then I have to give him the rabbit cat food, which is not low phosphorus. Any suggestions are very appreciated. @tiffmaxee @Wendy&Neko @Suzanne & Darcy @FrostD Hope everybody has a great day.
Yesterday https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...-160-8-108-10-96-pmps-95.265363/#post-2971659
 
@+4 he is already at 67. He had LC one hour ago at +3. I just gave him some Purina pro plan chicken indoor formula. He will eat that.
 
Okay anybody, I might need some help. Max isn't wanting to eat much right now. I haven't filled him up earlier either. They were small portions. I just tried his HC and he didn't want it. I gave him more of the Purina chicken indoor formula with honey on it. He did eat that. I'm getting a little concerned over here.
 
To cut the phosphorus you could use a phosphorus binder if it’s over 5.0. I used aluminum hydroxide powder. Check Weruva for food. They keep their site up to date.

How long since he last ate? Rub some honey on his gums and test in 15 minutes. Do you have any Gerbers baby food 100% protein? Will he eat human food if you grind it and add a little honey?
 
To cut the phosphorus you could use a phosphorus binder if it’s over 5.0. I used aluminum hydroxide powder. Check Weruva for food. They keep their site up to date.

How long since he last ate? Rub some honey on his gums and test in 15 minutes. Do you have any Gerbers baby food 100% protein? Will he eat human food if you grind it and add a little honey?
I have rotissarie chicken. He wouldn't eat baby food last time I tried, but I will try again. I just rubbed honey on his gums.
 
It was 46 just then when I rubbed the extra honey on his gums. He only wants to sleep today.
 
Last edited:
Keep trying to get him to eat and test every 20-30 if he eats. I’m not a pro on SRT but I thought reductions and reduced token doses need to be taken at a higher bg. What’s your reduction number?
@Wendy&Neko
 
Keep trying to get him to eat and test every 20-30 if he eats. I’m not a pro on SRT but I thought reductions and reduced token doses need to be taken at a higher bg. What’s your reduction number?
@Wendy&Neko
Well it is 70, but I think Wendy told me one time to only take the reduction if his levels kept dropping fast and furious. I did just reduce a couple of days ago to 8.5. He's 44 after 15 minutes from when I rubbed honey on his gums. I just got him to eat some rotissarie chicken with some karo syrup mixed in. Rechecking in 20-30 mins.
 
Did you get the ham baby food? I’ve had cats not like the chicken or turkey but so far knock wood ham has worked. They used to have veal which always was a hit but haven’t for years.

I would reduce again but see what Wendy says.
 
What HC are you using? Henry is very picky but figured the FF grilled beef plus syrup works wonders for him to bring up the numbers and he loves that (after all it is macdonalds for cats) lol. I know it is not low phos but it is good for crisis situations. I also add some bonito flakes on top to entice him and take away from the sweetness of the syrup.
 
Did you get the ham baby food? I’ve had cats not like the chicken or turkey but so far knock wood ham has worked. They used to have veal which always was a hit but haven’t for years.

I would reduce again but see what Wendy says.
Okay, I will. No I got the chicken and turkey baby food. I will get some of the ham kind whenever I can go to the store. Thanks so much for that suggestion. He has come up to 62 now. Recheck when?
 
What HC are you using? Henry is very picky but figured the FF grilled beef plus syrup works wonders for him to bring up the numbers and he loves that (after all it is macdonalds for cats) lol. I know it is not low phos but it is good for crisis situations. I also add some bonito flakes on top to entice him and take away from the sweetness of the syrup.
Max eats Weruva grandma's chicken soup for HC usually, and loves it, but lately he has gotten very finicky and not eating as much. I usually can't fill him up. Other thing is his IBD, and gravy causes him diarrhea, but I know in a crisis, I will do whatever.
 
I think Wendy told me that about taking reductions only when fast and furious back when he kept dropping in the 60's. I think today would be one of those times I would reduce to 8 units, but I will see what she says.
 
He came into the kitchen looking for food. I rechecked after only 30 mins 79, 82. I did get him to eat some Weruva tuna.
 
Wendy, I’m pretty sure that Max needs a reduction to 8 units, right? Also would it be unreasonable to do some type of BCS at PMPS if he stays where he is now, or will that set him back too much? His dose will be due in about 2 hours. @Wendy&Neko
 
Take reductions when earned, especially if at least 4 cycles since the last one. The bit on waiting for "fast and furious" reductions was to reduce at 70 (instead of 50) if reductions are coming close together. Otherwise reduce at below 50 as per TR. Glad to see you did a bit of a BCS. I think that depot needs a little draining. Note to lurkers, this is something we do for higher dose cats only, especially those with secondary conditions (that cause diabetes) having been treated for that condition.

How is Max with fish? Just wondering what his allergies are, if anything other than wheat, to give a suggestion for HC and/or low phosphorus foods.

To answer the question on blood work, I'd get the usual senior panel - make sure it includes T4, and possibly urinalysis to check his USG and protein. The chem panel in the senior will include kidney value tests. You could do just a chem panel and T4, but not sure if that's any cheaper than a senior panel.
 
Glad to see you did a bit of a BCS. I think that depot needs a little draining.

How is Max with fish? Just wondering what his allergies are, if anything other than wheat, to give a suggestion for HC and/or low phosphorus foods.

I’m glad I did the right thing on the BCS. I usually only give Max fish when he won’t eat his usual rabbit, chicken or turkey. He does fine unless he gets too much of it, then he gets diarrhea. If it’s HC and I only use it when needed, he would probably be fine with that though. I did give him Weruva tuna with honey in it earlier today. I feed him mostly Weruva food, and also EZ complete, but also he gets the instinct food to kind of balance out his GI system. He’s so much better on the Budesonide though. Any suggestions on his diet would be great. Thank you.
 
Last edited:
At PMPS +1 he ate more LC, then at +2, I wanted to give him higher carbs since early in cycle and not much food bump, but he refused his HC and instead ate Weruva tuna with some karo. I keep holding my breath that this will backfire on me and he will shoot to the moon, but I won’t be able to rest tonight not knowing what he will do. Also hoping his tummy can handle all that he’s eaten today. So far so good.
 
I don’t know what is going on but I’m still working to keep his BG up. He’s had quite a bit of food and syrup tonight already. I don’t know how his tummy is handling it so far. I’m trying my best to stay awake but have dealt with a migraine all day and had to take meds now so I really need to sleep. I gave him the forbidden Temptation treats, 3 of them so I hope he will come up a little more for me before I go to bed. He wouldn’t eat anymore food. What a day. I can’t think anymore.
 
Back
Top