7/4 China PMPS 402, +2 453 Any thoughts on dose?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Good morning LL! China seems to be doing well, but I'm beginning to worry some about her appetite. She just isn't eating enough. I understand that as she gets more under control, she won't be eating as much as she did when we first started, but she's not eating even a full can (5.5oz) in a 24 hr period. For breakfast, she didn't even eat 1/2 can of Fancy Feast..maybe ate 1/4. Is there something I can do to increase her appetite?

I'm looking forward to seeing her numbers today...sure hope she gets down into some pretty blues and greens!

Happy 4th of July everyone! Hope all the US members have a safe and fun day!

AMPS 250
 
Re: 7/4 China AMPS 250

Maybe try crumbling some treats on top to get her to eat? Wink loved the Halo Liv-a-little freeze dried chicken treats crumbled on top of his food.

Sounds like China is being a picky cat and might want a different flavor selection.
 
Re: 7/4 China AMPS 250,+2 255,+4.5 285

I have lots of different flavors within the Fancy Feast and Friskies, and a few from Sheba and Whiska's...she seems to like the fishy flavors best, like Salmon, Mariners, etc. I use chicken pieces for test times as a reward/bait/distraction, but she doesn't get enough of that to provide many calories

I tried freeze dried chicken too...she was totally unimpressed
 
Re: 7/4 China AMPS 250,+2 255,+4.5 285,+6.1 327

Need you opinions again (yes, I know I ask a lot, but I still don't quite understand when to increase, although I think I get how to "earn a reduction")

Yesterdays recap
AMPS 302
+2 BG 350
+5.5 266
+8.5 235
+10.6 224

PMPS 230
+2.5 245
+4.5 255
+6 145

Today's recap
AMPS 250
+2 255
+4.5 285
+6.1 327
+9 338

Since we've got (I think) nadirs in the 200 and 300's,(with one 145 last night) would we increase back to the 1u or shoot another .75 at PMPS tonight?
 
Re: 7/4 China AMPS 250,+2 255,+4.5 285

You had a nadir a couple of days ago of 58 and a nadir of blue or ? last night. China sometimes nadir's late it seems. Neko's like that, I never know when her nadir is so I just do the best I can. But those pinks look like the start of a bounce to me. I try to see what a dose can do by looking at the cycles where she's not bouncing. It's best to not increase until a bounce has cleared, because if you increase and the bounce breaks at the same time, you could get a lot of downward momentum that makes for a very exciting cycle.
 
Re: 7/4 China AMPS 250,+2 255,+4.5 285 Any thoughts on dose?

yes, previously we thought she had a late nadir , but with the numbers she had on the 29th and 30th, it looks like it was more in the mid-range. I figured the bounce of 421 on 7/1 was probably due to those lows

Where the 58 on 7/2 came from is a big ? for me but it explains the 311 at PMPS...Maybe :?

I know ECID, but China sure isn't making this easy!!
 
Re: 7/4 China AMPS 250,+4.5 285,+9 338 Any thoughts on dose

Also, any idea's on how I might get her to eat more? She's not even eating a whole 5.5oz can per day
 
Re: 7/4 China AMPS 250,+4.5 285,+9 338 Any thoughts on dose

Went ahead and gave a "heavy" .75u She ate a little better tonight

Can only hope I did good for China

Will retest at +2 and maybe +6 unless something tells me to test sooner
 
Re: 7/4 China AMPS 250,+4.5 285,+9 338 Any thoughts on dose

Does she need to gain some weight?
Have you tried adding some FortiFlora on top of her food? Or some crumbled up all meat treats to the top of her food?
Or giving her some unspiced boiled chicken? J.D. will eat steak that I make just for him, and he will eat boiled chicken, and thawed out cooked frozen shrimp. Have you tried the FF Appetizers?
 
Re: 7/4 China AMPS 250,+4.5 285,+9 338 Any thoughts on dose

Does she need to gain some weight?
Yes, she's only about 8.8lbs and should weigh about 10.5...weight loss was one of the reasons she was taken to the vet to begin with

Have you tried adding some FortiFlora on top of her food? Or some crumbled up all meat treats to the top of her food?

Will have to try to order some FortiFlora...Not sure how to squeeze it into my budget...be better if I knew it'd get her to eat more before paying for a bunch. Have been using chicken for test distractions/rewards and although at first, she was crazy about it, her interest is waning

The FF appetizers are just too expensive, although I have a couple to try for test treats...the problem again is it's not something I can afford to feed on a regular basis...so far I've tried mixing chicken in with her regular food to get her to eat more, but it's been pretty unsuccessful
 
Re: 7/4 China AMPS 250,+4.5 285,+9 338 Any thoughts on dose

Hi Chris - I'm Dara and my kitty is Bob. Looks like China was diagnosed only a couple of weeks after Bob. It looks like you are doing a really good job, so hang in there! I know it's frustrating. I can't get Bob to eat any sort of low carb food right now and I'm ready to jump in front of a train! Also, he's had some pretty crazy #'s too. I guess patience is a virtue!!! :-D
 
Re: 7/4 China AMPS 250,+4.5 285,+9 338 Any thoughts on dose

Hi Dara! <<<waves HI to Bob too>>>

Yes, this sugardance is crazy, and China isn't making it any easier. None of her numbers make much sense to me....and as soon as they DO start to make sense, she throws a crazy hi or scary low number

I only increased her dose tonight by a tiny bit, but at this point I wouldn't be surprised if she dipped into the 40-50's in the wee hours of the night just to keep me guessing. I know all cats are supposed to be mysterious, but this is ridiculous ....LOL

I've heard there's a pair of patience pants we all get to share...guess it's my turn...hope the last guy washed them first :lol:

Best of luck to you and Bob!
 
Re: 7/4 China AMPS 250,+4.5 285,+9 338 Any thoughts on dose

Personally, I would have waited to increase China's dose. Here's my thinking. It looks like China's bouncing. If you increase and the bounce breaks, you could have a very exiting cycle. It's best to be patient an wait for the bounce to break. This dose has brought China's nadir as low as 58 which is a pretty good nadir! In addition, you want to remember to not increase the dose based on the pre-shot value. Even though it's not a pretty PMPS, you can't let it distract you from where the nadir is.
 
Re: 7/4 China AMPS 250,+4.5 285,+9 338 Any thoughts on dose

Patience pants coming up. I have plenty to go around. ;-)
 

Attachments

  • Green denim patience pants.jpg
    Green denim patience pants.jpg
    6.7 KB · Views: 217
Yesterdays recap
AMPS 302
+2 BG 350
+5.5 266
+8.5 235
+10.6 224

PMPS 230
+2.5 245
+4.5 255
+6 145

Today's recap
AMPS 250
+2 255
+4.5 285
+6.1 327
+9 338

PMPS 402
+2 453


It figures....the patience pants had to be green :lol: :mrgreen:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top