7/4 Charms AMPS 518, +2 472, +4 453, +6 448,+8 463,PMPS 442

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and Charms

Member Since 2013
Hi and Happy 4th to all! This is Charms and my second day on this forum since leaving the main board, so I hope this is what I are supposed to do - start a new post with todays BG numbers? Thank you for all the wonderful messages. I have procrastinated posting these numbers all day because they are so depressing. I noted in Charms SS that I may have not done well with the shot last night. Charms was not cooperating and I still get really anxious when I give him the shot. No purples yet today. But as for the five p's , Charms climbed over all the dogs and woke me up at 4:59 this morning by purring very loudly in my face. Someone forgot to tell him that it was a holiday! I do have the ketone strips now, but I have not been able to catch him in the litter box to use one yet. Charms is still ravenous, and thirsty too, but in general he is in good spirits.

I have read the protocol , but want to make sure that I am still at the right dose. Currently 2.5 u. Am I supposed to wait a couple more days before raising it even though his BG is still high?

Also, I am giving the shot in the neck/ scruff area. It seems impossible to give it any where else. My vet showed me how to make the tent , but he wanted me to put the shot in the side of the tent (perpendicular to tent). A lot of the videos I watched online showed giving the shot in the front of the tent which seems easier, so I have been doing it that way. Any thoughts , I did get some very good advice on the main board about practicing with a towel , but I am still not confident with the shot. Gives me a lot of anxiety. - Sam
 
Re: 7/4 Charms AMPS 518, +2 472, +4 453, +6 448

With regards to giving shots, you can give it anywhere on the body, not just the neck. Some people give it on the sides (I do this), some in the neck, some in the belly, some in the flanks. It all depends on what he and you are comfortable with. It's all trial and error. When I give Blackie her shot in the side, I normally have her lay down flat so that I can give it to her and block her from biting me with my elbow (I've had that happen a few times :lol:). You'll get the hang of it over time, and eventually it'll become an everyday routine. I've been at this for over 3 years, and it's just a normal thing to do for us these days. :-D Good luck, and welcome!
 
Re: 7/4 Charms AMPS 518, +2 472, +4 453, +6 448

Sam --

You've got the format exactly right.

The best way/place to shoot is where you can consistently get the insulin in the cat! I've been shooting in the scruff area pretty much since Gabby was diagnosed. I tried flank shots for a while and kept giving fur shots.

If Charms is a kitty who likes to eat, you may want to consider giving him his shot once he has his head in his bowl. This is what I do with Gabby. She's so intent on eating that she ignores the shot.

Please do your best to get a test during the PM cycle in addition to your PMPS test. I'd like to see you increase Charms dose to 3.0u tomorrow but you do need to get the tests in if we're going to fast track Charms' dose.
 
Re: 7/4 Charms AMPS 518, +2 472, +4 453, +6 448

Hi Sam! Glad to see you here - I'm new to LL as of 7/1, so we can be Newbies together!

Can't address your numbers yet - am too new. I would advise that you not make any dosing changes without the advice of some experienced members (barring an emergency & you can't reach anyone, but I think Deb gave you her # for an emergency). I do see Charms is getting some response from the insulin.

BJM & I posted to your 6/28 post re. ketones, today, so check those posts.

Do you have anyone in your household that can assist with the shot? My husband holds treats at bay so Tigger has to push & lick them out of his hand - giving me ample time to get a shot in. Before the injection, though, I do a practice shot with my finger. Make the tent, & put my finger in the place (the opening or flap in a real tent) parallel to the cat's body. Does that make sense?

I shoot the scruff - its the easiest place. The Lantus will take longer to take effect there, but it will also have a longer duration. The flank shot has a faster onset, shorter duration. At this point, if you're most comfortable with the scruff, then that's the best place for now.

You're doing great - keep it up!
 
Re: 7/4 Charms AMPS 518, +2 472, +4 453, +6 448

Suzanne said:
I shoot the scruff - its the easiest place. The Lantus will take longer to take effect there, but it will also have a longer duration. The flank shot has a faster onset, shorter duration.
Sorry, but this isn't accurate for every cat. If the insulin takes longer or shorter to be absorbed, the duration is still the duration since onset will vary. If duration is 12 hours for your cat, it's going to be 12 hours no matter what part of the anatomy you shoot. Where you may see a difference is in onset. If absorption is quicker in the flank, onset will be earlier. I should point out, though, that the rate of absorption does not necessarily differ for every cat.
 
Re: 7/4 Charms AMPS 518, +2 472, +4 453, +6 448

Sienne and Gabby said:
Suzanne wrote:
I shoot the scruff - its the easiest place. The Lantus will take longer to take effect there, but it will also have a longer duration. The flank shot has a faster onset, shorter duration.

Sorry, but this isn't accurate for every cat. If the insulin takes longer or shorter to be absorbed, the duration is still the duration since onset will vary. If duration is 12 hours for your cat, it's going to be 12 hours no matter what part of the anatomy you shoot. Where you may see a difference is in onset. If absorption is quicker in the flank, onset will be earlier. I should point out, though, that the rate of absorption does not necessarily differ for every cat.

Thank you Sienne, for the explanation & I apologize Sam for the misinformation. I read that on a different website several days ago. The distinction is an important one.
 
Re: 7/4 Charms AMPS 518, +2 472, +4 453, +6 448,+8 463,PMPS

Nothing has changed much, so it sounds like the advice given earlier today is to increase the dose to 3u tomorrow. Does that mean starting the 3u dose in the AM ? Just making sure that is what I am supposed to do. thanks - Sam
PS : was finally successful with the ketone test. negative!!!
 
Re: 7/4 Charms AMPS 518, +2 472, +4 453, +6 448,+8 463,PMPS

YAY! for Negative Ketones!!
 
Re: 7/4 Charms AMPS 518, +2 472, +4 453, +6 448

Here is what Sienne said earlier in your condo today.

Sienne and Gabby said:
Please do your best to get a test during the PM cycle in addition to your PMPS test. I'd like to see you increase Charms dose to 3.0u tomorrow but you do need to get the tests in if we're going to fast track Charms' dose.

So, another test in the evening. Many of us do that last PM test right before we go to bed.

It's ok if Charms has eaten within a couple of hours or even a couple of minutes for those later PM tests. It's only the pre-shot tests where you need to withhold food for 2 hours before. (I'm mentioning this because another member thought her cat could not have any food 2 hours before any test.)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top