7/31CharlieAM184+4 137+6 203+7 209PM338+1 418 +3 382 +4 391

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 7/31 Charlie 7am AMPS 121, 8am AMPS 184

Waited an hour for it to rise a bit. Then shot once it got to 184. Will need some speed to get to work now!
 
Re: 7/31 Charlie 7am AMPS 121, 8am AMPS 184

Have a good day at work, Jill. I take it you will not be able to get mid-cycle tests today?

Regarding your approach this morning: Remember that Lantus requires a 12-hour rhythm, so you've now shifted your regular shot time by a whole hour. When stalling, this can sometimes happen, we know - but you need to keep in mind that stalling (i.e. shooting LATE) acts like dose reduction. (Conversely, shooting EARLY acts like a dose increase.) You cannot simply switch back to your previous regular shot time. Instead, you can do it in one of two ways:

- Shift shot time back by 15 minutes each, both at PMPS and at AMPS.
- OR shift shot time back by 30 minutes once a day until you're where you want to be.

When you shift in small increments like this, is has the least effect on the cat's numbers - that's what we want, so that there is as little disruption to whatever are the cat's "regular numbers" as possible. There *are* exceptions to this practise of moving shot times in small steps - but for those to take effect, it's best to check here on the board, ok?

Also: The 121 BG you got is now no longer the AMPS, it is the (+12), since you actual morning pre-shot (AMPS) is the one you got an hour later, before you shot, i.e. the 184. Please note this in your SS. You can do so by moving the 121 into the remarks section and indicating that it is the (+12) and that you then stalled for 1 hour. Later on when you're back on the board, you can also alter your subject line, so that it does not indicate two AMPS values.

Also, for future reference - when stalling, it's best to retest every 15 minutes or so while withholding food to see if the cat's BG is rising. That way, one can catch a rise as it begins. Waiting a whole hour is often not necessary, and the longer one stalls, the more it has an effect on the following cycle(s). Had you been able to be home today, and had I arrived on the board an hour earlier, I would have advised you to retest in 15 minutes and see if you got a rise so that you could have shot sooner - you have shot a 131 before (on the 26th). Keep in mind that ultimately, the goal is to get Charlie into numbers like you saw this morning at (+12), and gradually get her not to overreact to those numbers via bouncing - it's always good to make sure you are keeping your cat safe and you are comfortable with what you're doing, especially when you won't be around to test the rest of the cycle, of course. But once you've got a bit more data, you'll encounter one of the fundamental principle of the LL Tight Regulation group, which is that one must shoot low to stay low. When you have time, maybe you can have another read through this sticky on becoming data ready to shoot low so that if and when you are next confronted with a lower-than-before pre-shot, you won't feel like you have to stall for that long.

Sorry you didn't get responses right away when you posted the (=12) of 121. Still, you did a great job, and it's very good that you shot. Have a good day at TBP, and see you when you get back! :smile:
Jane
 
Re: 7/31 Charlie 7am AMPS 121, 8am AMPS 184

They don't only look alike Vyktor is a vet hater too. He starts hissing as soon as we get there and all the vets are too afraid to turn their back on him :lol: Looks like Charlie cleared her bounce :smile:
 
Re: 7/31 Charlie 7am AMPS 121, 8am AMPS 184

12pm - BG at 7.6

2pm - BG at 11.3

Dont exactly know how we should fill in the sheet since shot was done at 8am this morning.

12pm - +4?
2pm - +6

I assume tonight's PMPS test should be done at 7:30 with the shot at 8pm (since we moved the shot 1 hour back), or no?
 
Re: 7/31 Charlie 7am AMPS 121, 8am AMPS 184

You don't need to test 30 min. before you shoot. I test, feed, and shoot all within 5 min.

If you shot at 8:00 this morning, you can shift the PM shot 30 min. early (so your PMPS will be at +11.5). The pre-shot test is assumed to be when you shoot.

As far as the spreadsheet, you can stack numbers in a cell. I do this with Gabby so you can look at her SS for an example. You will need to manually color the cell. Alternatively, you can put the information in the "Remarks" section.

If you're able to test at +11 and if Charlie's numbers are high, you may be able to shoot an hour early. Shooting early is a possibility but you need to keep in mind that shooting more than 30 min. early can have the effect of acting like a dose increase. So, if numbers are in the lower ranges, it may not be something you want to do. It look like, based on your +6, that Charlie may be bouncing by your PM shot time. How about getting a +11 and posting? I suspect you may be able to shoot early.

I think Jane made a very good point. If you are stalling, you want to test a bit more often so you can catch when the numbers start to rise. Hopefully, that means that you're not too far off schedule.
 
Re: 7/31 Charlie 7am AMPS 121, 8am AMPS 184

Hi guys .. glad you got some answers to your questions .. I'll add in that charlies numbers are looking nice! have a great day!
 
Re: 7/31 Charlie 7am AMPS 121, 8am AMPS 184

You've gotten some great answers today..and the very lovely Charlie is looking very lovely today!
 
Re: 7/31Charlie+12 121 AMPS184+4 137+6 203+7 209 PMPS338+1 4

Thank you very much for your detailed responses again!

JANE, JACK & KARRE THE EMPEROR:
- My partner is off work for some weeks and thus got a few mid-cycle tests in today. It helped that Charlie was as tired as she was (antibiotics have knocked her out a bit, but she's not hiding so I know she's doing MUCH better than a week ago).

- Thank you for providing more information about the effects of stalling. In the future if her AMPS turns out too low, I will test minutes later and post (to be able to shoot the minute she starts rising and gets to a comfortable number again). In this case, we moved an hour ahead in our morning shot because our goal is first and foremost to keep our cat safe. That doesn't mean we wont take "informed risks" in the future if we have enough data to back it up. However, in this case with me leaving for work, and the month Charlie has had, plus the antibiotics, we decided to play it safe. I had read on the board that you can always "skip or stall" if the AMPS is too low, so that's what I did. We shot at 8am instead of 7am. Tonight, we also took Sienne & Gabby's advice and moved the evening shot 30 minutes earlier to 7:30pm (instead of what should have been 8pm). I hope that was the right thing to do. Her PMPS was high again so we thought it was the right call.

- Oh and, what in the world is TBP?

SIENNE & GABBY
- Thanks for your advice. Again, hope we did the right thing.
- You were right in your prediction that Charlie would be bouncing by PM shot time. Is that one really a bounce though, or just a steady increase? I'm confused as to why this seems to only happen in the evenings. You saw it coming so maybe you have some thoughts on this?

PETER ... AMY....
Thanks!

ALL:
- FINALLY, we updated our profile as requested. :razz:
 
Re: 7/31CharlieAMPS184+4 137+6 203+7 209PMPS338+1 418 +3 382

Can anyone explain why Charlie has this weird pattern of low, seemingly normal #'s during the day, and high #'s by PMPS and for the few tests thereafter?
Know it's early days and we need a few more days on antibiotics to hopefully bring her #'s down (if that's what is causing it).

If the spikes are not caused by the antibiotics, isn't it a little long for this amount of bounces? And why don't we get those in the morning?

Very hard to figure out, this stuff. Thoughts welcomed..
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top