Re: 7/31 Charlie 7am AMPS 121, 8am AMPS 184
Have a good day at work, Jill. I take it you will not be able to get mid-cycle tests today?
Regarding your approach this morning: Remember that
Lantus requires a 12-hour rhythm, so you've now shifted your regular shot time by a whole hour. When stalling, this can sometimes happen, we know - but you need to keep in mind that stalling (i.e. shooting LATE) acts like dose reduction. (Conversely, shooting EARLY acts like a dose increase.) You cannot simply switch back to your previous regular shot time. Instead, you can do it in one of two ways:
- Shift shot time back by 15 minutes each, both at PMPS and at AMPS.
- OR shift shot time back by 30 minutes once a day until you're where you want to be.
When you shift in small increments like this, is has the least effect on the cat's numbers - that's what we want, so that there is as little disruption to whatever are the cat's "regular numbers" as possible. There *are* exceptions to this practise of moving shot times in small steps - but for those to take effect, it's best to check here on the board, ok?
Also: The 121 BG you got is now no longer the AMPS, it is the (+12), since you actual morning pre-shot (AMPS) is the one you got an hour later, before you shot, i.e. the 184.
Please note this in your SS. You can do so by moving the 121 into the remarks section and indicating that it is the (+12) and that you then stalled for 1 hour. Later on when you're back on the board, you can also alter your subject line, so that it does not indicate two AMPS values.
Also, for future reference - when stalling, it's best to
retest every 15 minutes or so while withholding food to see if the cat's BG is rising. That way, one can catch a rise as it begins. Waiting a whole hour is often not necessary, and the longer one stalls, the more it has an effect on the following cycle(s). Had you been able to be home today, and had I arrived on the board an hour earlier, I would have advised you to retest in 15 minutes and see if you got a rise so that you could have shot sooner - you have shot a 131 before (on the 26th). Keep in mind that ultimately, the goal is to get Charlie into numbers like you saw this morning at (+12), and gradually get her not to overreact to those numbers via bouncing - it's always good to make sure you are keeping your cat safe and you are comfortable with what you're doing, especially when you won't be around to test the rest of the cycle, of course. But once you've got a bit more data, you'll encounter one of the fundamental principle of the LL Tight Regulation group, which is that one must
shoot low to stay low. When you have time, maybe you can have another read through
this sticky on becoming data ready to shoot low so that if and when you are next confronted with a lower-than-before pre-shot, you won't feel like you have to stall for that long.
Sorry you didn't get responses right away when you posted the (=12) of 121. Still, you did a great job, and it's very good that you shot. Have a good day at TBP, and see you when you get back! :smile:
Jane