7/31 Xander AMPS 219 +2 151 +3 85 PMPS 109 +2 63 +3 76 +4 81

The vet went well but no clear answers.
She didn't think bupe would be a good idea given the constipation , dependency issues, and lack of clear signs of pain. She gave sub Q fluids and sent me home with a bag to give as needed to see if that helps with the pancreatitis/constipation. The tech showed me how to give the fluids and I had to sit down a while, coming very close to passing out 🙄 Hopefully I'll get over that as quickly as I adapted to the insulin needles.

It was suggested to stop using ondansetron as it could actually be blunting his appetite and making his system move slower lately and to try cerenia as needed.
She also said I could try a trial of lower dose gaba to see if it helps with any pain he may be having, around 30mg twice a day. She also noted how he's gained over a pound since our last visit, so it may be acceptable to worry a little less about his eating.
As for the mirataz, she didn't seemed concerned im giving it daily and is even okay with increasing the amount if I need to for my own sanity.

She didn't recommend doing any additional bloodwork yet as wel just did it 3 months ago and he isn't showing any signs that this could be kidney related. An elevated spec fpl again wouldn't really tell us much.

I'm hoping this is just another mild prolonged stretch of pancreatitis that the fluids will help, and maybe stopping the ondan will help his digestive system a bit.
 
Lower PMPS tonight! It seems every time we go to the vet either the fluids or the gabapentin brings his numbers way down.

First meal of the night tonight he cleaned his bowl and then cleaned the bowl of a little more, which he hasn't done in so long so something obviously worked.

I wonder if a low dose gaba trial would be a good idea? Or maybe a small amount of sub Q fluids every now and then to support hydration (impossible to get extra water into him otherwise)?
 
Lower PMPS tonight! It seems every time we go to the vet either the fluids or the gabapentin brings his numbers way down.

First meal of the night tonight he cleaned his bowl and then cleaned the bowl of a little more, which he hasn't done in so long so something obviously worked.

I wonder if a low dose gaba trial would be a good idea? Or maybe a small amount of sub Q fluids every now and then to support hydration (impossible to get extra water into him otherwise)?
Very interesting update. So glad Xander ate well and nice BG! 💞
Very interesting about the ondansetron. I’ve never heard that before so following along with that.
I totally understand your feeling watching and being instructed how to give fluids.
I had my son help me last week when I had to give them to Ivy a few times. I did all of the work, but I had him watching the level of the fluids dropping and calling out to me updates of how they were progressing and he was the one who clamped the fluids shut when it was time to stop it.
I did the holding Ivy in place and then injecting.

Mind you, I did this 20 years ago with my CKD kitty all by myself.
Now I have no idea how I did it, but of course I’m applying the Ivy spiciness to that memory.

My previous kitty was the most chill girl, she would let me do anything to her and never even flinched and I did fluids on her for years.

So if you had to give them and Xander was chill and cooperative, you might be able to manage it by yourself, or have help if you need it just with some slight details.

I add about 3 ounces of water to Ivy’s food at each feeding so her food is like a slurry/soup she doesn’t seem to mind it. She’s very used to it.
I don’t know if you add any water to Xander’s food, you could add a little bit at a time and see how he tolerates it if you don’t already.
But from what I understand, we really couldn’t add enough to make up for what fluids sub Q can do when needed.

You’ve got this Albert! I have total faith in you!! You do the best job with your boys!!
Sending many hugs and kitty belly rubs 🫂💞🐈🐈💝
 
Back
Top