7/31 Tipper AMPS 256 PMPS 333 Recovering from pancreatitis

Status
Not open for further replies.

tipper11

Member Since 2011
Tipper is recovering from yet another bout of pancreatitis. We were able to manage with a vet visit and treatment at home.
She is doing OK, appetite is improving but her BG levels are all over the place. She now has signs of diabetic neuropathy, her back legs are very weak. He vet is concerned because she is unregulated. Any thoughts, suggestiions or comments are welcome.


Thanks,
Patty and Tipper
 
Re: 7/31 Tipper AMPS 256 PMPS 333 Recovering from pancreati

I would get Tipper started on methyl-B12 for the neuropathy as soon as you can. Xobaline is formulated for cats and contains no sugar. You can find it on Amazon.

It's hard to know just how "all over the place" Tipper's numbers are. Whatever you can do to get in spot tests will help -- especially at night. You are seeing some blue numbers and I suspect Tipper is bouncing. You don't want to increase the dose on a bounce. Are you around at all during the day? Also, I would test for ketones.
 
Re: 7/31 Tipper AMPS 256 PMPS 333 Recovering from pancreati

Thanks Sienne,

I am gone for a large part of the day, but I can do a few more spot checks at night. The vet had suggested a dose increase to 2.5u based on her BG levels. She also received a B12 shot and I will be bringing in a urine sample. It has been 6months since her DX and she has has 3 pancreatitis attacks. He levels start to fluctuate, vomiting and loose poo etc. and she is ill for a good 10 days or so after each attack so I don't know how much her reduced appetite influences her BG levels. Does that make sense??

Her vet still thinks there may be something else going on - small cell cancer. She has had 2 ultrasounds one with inflamation the second clear. Well thats our story, we struggle, we cry but we don't give up hope that we can get this disease under contol. We are in awe of all the courageous kitties who battle illness every day and keep them in our thoughts and prayers.
 
Re: 7/31 Tipper AMPS 256 PMPS 333 Recovering from pancreati

Patty:

Sending the lovely Miss Tipper healing vines. Just so you know, the B12 shots they give at the vet's office are not methyl B12. I'd recommend the supplement Sienne provided.

I hope she feels better soon and her numbers come down.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top