7/31: Nova--amps 116--thoughts about vet visit today

LindyNova

Member Since 2019
Man o man! getting Nova in her carrier is major production, growling, hissing, legs slayed to prevent the push in, claws holding onto the carpet for dear life......but once she's in, she's good.

Vet visit went good. It's definitely weird hanging in the car when they take her away. She got her rabies shot, I declined the distemper one, and she got a senior blood panel drawn. Teeth are good, no signs of inflammation, just a bit of tarter that the vet scraped off. Nothing major yet. Results will take a few days.

Vet says she looks good, and her weight is right where I want it---12lbs, 13 oz. I don't want her going over 13, much less less back to her chonky days at 15.

Vet is AMAZED that I test 4x daily---and will run a curve at least once a month. She said none of her diabetic cats owners test and only come in every 6 months for a test at +4 and maybe a curve. "How do you do it" she says, "doesn't it get Nova mad?" I explained that we have a system, and she willingly jumps to her spot for the test and treat. No Biggie. You could hear hew jaw drop over the phone, I swear!

She also mentioned the roller coast #s that tests produced and how they can drive you crazy if you do it too often....really tried to talk me out of it. She didn't believe me when I said her nadir was between 6-9 hours after dosing. She said that a normal range for a diabetic cat should remain above 100 and could stay in the 200's, and really, you can tell how she's doing just by looking at her along with their behavior. Thank goodness she could not see my HUGE eyeroll in the car.

She also said that others do not raise and lower their insulin doses and they stick to, say, 2 units for a minimum of 6 months. I told I'm not comfortable not testing, and will continue to monitor her as needed.

Crazy. I really like my vet, but I can see that she is not who I want to assist me in this journey with Nova, and when this COVID thing is not as dicey, I will be interviewing a new vet for her.

Thank you, every single one of you, on this message board for your assistance, support & knowledge. If I didn't find it before I met with my vet after diagnosis, she may not be here with me today, and my DH may have talked me into ending her life.

:kiss::kiss::cat::cat::bighug::bighug:
 
Oh my! I hope @Lisa & Oberon read this! She's also had some very poor direction, misinformation from her vet. It's common...unfortunately vets have had little training in FD (Feline Diabetes)...and they end up giving very bad advice, and in my case the first vet that saw Luci said the same thing - you should euthanize her...sheesh...

Please visit Lisa and Oberon's condo if you have a few minutes...she's only been with us a couple of week and could use the support.

Thank you :)
 
Sadly, what you experienced is not unique. :( I too liked my vet, had worked with her for years with my pets and also as a consulting vet to the shelter I worked at. I did look at other vets trying to find someone more knowledgeable on diabetes and at least experience with Lantus. She was fine with my home testing - but I was the first client to do so. Anyway, long story short, thought I'd found a new vet who'd had a diabetic of her own on Lantus, until I found out that vet's FD cat had hypo'ed and died. So back to the original, and she was fine with me handling the diabetes and she did everything else. She was also willing to learn. If you have a vet willing to work with you, and good at everything else, you can make it work. You just need to practice your eye rolls periodically.

Come on Nova, let's dip your toes in green.
 
Amethyst and I went thru 3 VETS!!! We love our Dr.Pickering she is very pro Cabergoline and Home Testing!!! Good Luck!!
I've gotten a referral or two, but not meeting face to face is not gonna cut it in an interview. Gotta look in their eyes and see the office. ;)
 
Oh my! I hope @Lisa & Oberon read this! She's also had some very poor direction, misinformation from her vet. It's common...unfortunately vets have had little training in FD (Feline Diabetes)...and they end up giving very bad advice, and in my case the first vet that saw Luci said the same thing - you should euthanize her...sheesh...

Please visit Lisa and Oberon's condo if you have a few minutes...she's only been with us a couple of week and could use the support.

Thank you :)

Thanks! Yep, it sounds like Nova and Oberon have the same vet ;) ... generally good, but not up to speed on this. My take on this is that vets have to know about many species, diseases, drugs, etc. and even if they're really good they can't possibly be experts on everything. People here have been dealing with one specific condition for years and have a wealth of knowledge about it. I'm not happy going against his advice just because I know it'll mean an awkward conversation later, but I really feel like the advice I'm getting on the forum is getting us on the right track.
 
Back
Top