Merlin
Very Active Member
7/31
AMPS 270; 1u
+2 - 280
Hi all. We are still around and kicking. I just have not had a much time to do any reading or logging numbers lately. I have logged on a few times when I had to stay up and test Merlin late at night. Merlin has been feeling good except of course for the sneezing. Nothing seems to help his sneezing and runny nose i.e. antibiotics, lysine, etc. Otherwise, the five P's are all good. He has been running high for the past couple of weeks and I had to increase his dose. His insulin was purchased in March and has an expiration date of Dec 2014 so that should be good. I have not seen green numbers during the day in quite a while except for yesterday, finally. I have had to be a bit more aggressive in his dose though.
I have a question and I think I know the answer but just wanted to check. When you test at +2 it is a good indicator of how the day will be. I can't exactly remember what the numbers indicate i.e. if number is higher than AMPS - then nadir should be high, if number is the same or close to AMPS - then nadir should be good/safe possibly on target, and if number is lower than AMPS - his BG is dropping to fast and you should be monitoring very closely. Is this correct?
I hope all your kitties are doing well. Thanks.
AMPS 270; 1u
+2 - 280
Hi all. We are still around and kicking. I just have not had a much time to do any reading or logging numbers lately. I have logged on a few times when I had to stay up and test Merlin late at night. Merlin has been feeling good except of course for the sneezing. Nothing seems to help his sneezing and runny nose i.e. antibiotics, lysine, etc. Otherwise, the five P's are all good. He has been running high for the past couple of weeks and I had to increase his dose. His insulin was purchased in March and has an expiration date of Dec 2014 so that should be good. I have not seen green numbers during the day in quite a while except for yesterday, finally. I have had to be a bit more aggressive in his dose though.
I have a question and I think I know the answer but just wanted to check. When you test at +2 it is a good indicator of how the day will be. I can't exactly remember what the numbers indicate i.e. if number is higher than AMPS - then nadir should be high, if number is the same or close to AMPS - then nadir should be good/safe possibly on target, and if number is lower than AMPS - his BG is dropping to fast and you should be monitoring very closely. Is this correct?
I hope all your kitties are doing well. Thanks.