7/31 Merlin AMPS 270,+2/280,+6/201,PMPS 303

Status
Not open for further replies.

Merlin

Very Active Member
7/31
AMPS 270; 1u
+2 - 280

Hi all. We are still around and kicking. I just have not had a much time to do any reading or logging numbers lately. I have logged on a few times when I had to stay up and test Merlin late at night. Merlin has been feeling good except of course for the sneezing. Nothing seems to help his sneezing and runny nose i.e. antibiotics, lysine, etc. Otherwise, the five P's are all good. He has been running high for the past couple of weeks and I had to increase his dose. His insulin was purchased in March and has an expiration date of Dec 2014 so that should be good. I have not seen green numbers during the day in quite a while except for yesterday, finally. I have had to be a bit more aggressive in his dose though.

I have a question and I think I know the answer but just wanted to check. When you test at +2 it is a good indicator of how the day will be. I can't exactly remember what the numbers indicate i.e. if number is higher than AMPS - then nadir should be high, if number is the same or close to AMPS - then nadir should be good/safe possibly on target, and if number is lower than AMPS - his BG is dropping to fast and you should be monitoring very closely. Is this correct?

I hope all your kitties are doing well. Thanks.
 
Re: 7/31 Merlin AMPS 270,+2/280

Welcome back - we missed you! Sorry your life has been so hectic.

That +2 number is an indicator for a lower than normal nadir if it is a big drop from amps. So, for example, if 270 is the amps and +2 is 140, it is likely to be a lively cycle. (Maybe you could look, as a general rule, if he drops 50% or more early on?)
 
7/31
AMPS 270; 1u
+2 - 280
+6 - 201
PMPS 303; 1.2u

Well he was just a little flat today. I was really expecting him to have a good run today since his +2 was about the same as his AMPS. Thanks for the explanation Sue.
 
Hi Cindi! Been keeping an eye out for you. Glad to see you!

Here's hoping Merlin starts handing you some greens soon.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top