? 7/31 - Mačka - AMPS HI, +5 559 :( + Ziwipeak question

Penelope and Mačka

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...5-5-174-6-5-255-pmps-589.217467/#post-2416156

Macka has been on his new dose of 1.75 for 3 days now.
There were three active cycles, and a lot of bouncing.
Last night he dove into the blues at +4 (for all I know, he could have gone into the greens even earlier, it already happened in the past) and after that up again in the reds at +7 :( He think he's doing a Somogyi right now because meter at 6:30 am said HI.

I am so tired of all this black twice a day. He is grumpy and not feeling too good. Not very hungry either (ketones negative).

I wrote to my new vet to tell her all that, and ask again if a dental could be considered.
What else should I do? Wait more? increase again? but an increase may trigger even more crazy bouncing right?


EDIT: I read conflictual information about the % carb in Ziwipeak. I tried to give some Lamb recipe to Macka and he LOVES it. Since he needs the calories (and has IBD) and needs to eat more, I want to give him more of this food. However, I am reading in some places that it's 6% carb (Dr Lisa), but way higher in other sources. Who's right?
 
Last edited:
It can be so frustrating but hang in there, I really just think that Macka always bounces when he sees blue! eventually he will get used to those values :) remember too that you are just hitting the 7th cycle on this dose... give it time :) A member once told me that there have been cats here that actually bounce all the way to remission! :eek:

Do you have any reason to suspect dental as a high BG culprit? it is true that underlying issues can lead to high BG.

Since you are following SLGS the protocol says to wait a full week before doing a curve and deciding if a dose change is needed. Now that you are becoming a little more familiar with things though, maybe it could be time to consider TR, you test more than enough for it, I'm just a littler worried that the lower numbers might stress you out a too much. You could try it and see how you do though. If not I would stick to the SLGS guidelines and wait a few more days before increasing
 
Thank you @AmandaE !

Yes, I'm considering changing to TR, but can I chose to decrease dose if numbers go below 90? :p

In any case, I know I have to stick to this new dose for a little longer.
Gosh, bouncing all the way to remission! what a rollercoaster!

Regarding dental, I suspect something but I am not familiar with dental issues at all. He likes to lick his food mixed with water, instead of chewing. If he has to chew he'll eat less, and also shakes his head left and right when eating, as if something was bothering him. I know for a fact that he has gingivitis and a resorption. I'm just so annoyed by these ugly black numbers, that I'm convincing myself there must be another reason for them besides bouncing!
 
Thank you @AmandaE !

Yes, I'm considering changing to TR, but can I chose to decrease dose if numbers go below 90? :p

LOL true! I would say eventually you will switch to TR, I think it's more of a when than an if ;) But there is no rush to switch :)


Regarding dental, I suspect something but I am not familiar with dental issues at all. He likes to lick his food mixed with water, instead of chewing. If he has to chew he'll eat less, and also shakes his head left and right when eating, as if something was bothering him. I know for a fact that he has gingivitis and a resorption. I'm just so annoyed by these ugly black numbers, that I'm convincing myself there must be another reason for them besides bouncing!
If you know he as a tooth resporption then there could be chance for an infection... you could ask your vet about it for sure :)
 
On a happy note, his urine analysis came back and he does NOT have a UTI yay! Peeing on bags was most likely 1# jealousy 2# very bad litter sand that I will never ever buy again
 
Yes, not stable enough because of the diabetes, for anesthesia. Actually I have conflictual information, and waiting for the vet to explain again.
 
No such thing as Symogyi in cats in Macka’s situation. It’s a very rare thing. He’s just plain old bouncing cause he hasn’t spent enough time in blue.

Cats don’t have to be “stable” before a dental. If your vet won’t do a dental, get a referral to a dental specialist vet. Neko was very unstable for her first dental, but her regular vet did it anyway. It’s a matter of vet experience and comfort, dental vets take on complicated animals all the time. There are newer anesthesia protocols for diabetics. And a newer (to the US, but already in Canada), anesthesia induction drug that doesn’t mess with blood sugar.

I never noticed a difference in Neko’s blood sugar from Ziwipeak, though she didn’t have it often. She was reasonably regulated, so I could tell. There have been plenty of people here serve it. If Macka likes it, serve it.
 
FWIW my calculations on the Ziwipeak venison were not correct, as I figured out with some assistance. I posted about that in one of your previous threads, but went back to edit my post later. Not sure if my comment was part of the conflicting info you mentioned, but... just to be sure. :)
 
I think it made me wonder yes! Did not remember it was you! So what numbers did you come up with?
I only calculated for the venison, and the other meat varieties may be different, but on a dry matter basis calculation for the venison I got to 3%, which is in Lisa's chart.
Ziwi has nutrient profiles on their website! So you could double check the other flavors.
 
Back
Top