7/31 Hershey PMPS(450) +3.5(355) +5(266) +7(232) INC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
7/30 Hershey

HAPPY TUESDAY!!!!

All is well here. Hot, humid, all 5 P's present for both kitties...Hershey trying to sneak Oreo's food...

I'm getting concerned about Hershey's numbers...well, more concerned. We took the reducie 7/27, so this is the 8th cycle and it looks like Hershey should be starting to settle in, if he's going to. But, we only seen blue on two cycles...I remember reading that you don't have to hold a reduction as long...but, now I can't remember who said it...but, I'm thinking we can try raising him, again. Could the problem be that we should've taken him from a f1u to a f.75u (so more like .8u) but because of our math issues and needing to go ahead and shoot - we went with the .75u because it was easier to figure quickly??? :YMSIGH:

Either way - I'm thinking he's asking for more...back to f1u or just to 1u?? THOUGHTS?? THANKS!!

Have a great day -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)


AMPS (234) +12 - Shot .75u at 7:00am
+4 (334)
+5 (310) - fed - but doesn't want it
+7.5 (347) - still hasn't eaten enough of +5 food to tell he ate any

PMPS (450) +12 - Shot 1u at 7:10pm - Still hadn't finished +5 food and only ate a couple of bites of PS food
+3.5 (355)
+5 (266) - fed
+7 (232)
 
Re: ?? 7/31 Hershey AMPS(234) +4(334) +5(310) wants MORE???

Hi Libby,
Not sure who said it, but I will say it again. ;-)
Reading the protocol, I found this:
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.

On the TIlly page, it reads like this:
If the cat will not stay in the normal range after a reduction, immediately increase the dose again to the last good dose. Sometimes, a cat can even manage to keep its BGs low for a day or two, but then the BGs begin to rise again because the beta-cells haven't recovered enough yet.

I read somewhere also that 2-3 days was sufficient time to determine if a reduction failed (BG at nadir >200). It looks to me like Hershey has been over 200 at nadir for 5 out of the 7 cycles since you reduced. I would guess that if you aren't comfortable going up to the f1.0, you could increase to a regular 1u dose?

Carl
 
Re: ?? 7/31 Hershey AMPS(234) +4(334) +5(310) wants MORE???

Carl has the quotes down.

Hershey is bouncing off of the blue numbers. It's your call whether to increase. If you do, I'd bring the dose up to 1.0u.
 
Re: 7/31 Hershey AMPS(234) +4(334) +5(310) +7.5(347)

Thanks, Carl and Sienne. I'm okay with the 1u or f1u, but was thinking the 1u since it's a .25 increase. So, 1u at 7pm, it is.


+7.5 (347) - still hasn't eaten enough of +5 food to tell he ate any. He doesn't seem to feel bad or anything, just not hungry. It's another hot day and still not sure how much that has to do with his appetite...
 
Re: 7/31 Hershey AMPS(234) +4(334) +5(310) +7.5(347)

Hi Libby, good luck on the increase dose. It's very humid here, too, and Maggie just wants to sleep and flop around all day. I think they are bothered by the heat, especially humidity. Scritches to Hershey.
 
Re: 7/31 Hershey AMPS(234) +4(334) +5(310) +7.5(347)

Good Luck on the dose crease..Hope Hershey comes down--
Seems like he's doing a Moonie non eat thingy! Could definitely be the humidity, but Moonie is in AC all the time--What's her excuse?? A fat .75 is very close to a 1U...What you are trying to do is find is his break through dose..But the 34 you got the other day indicated a .25u decrease for safety sake..
So somewhere between 1.00 & .75 lies Hershey's magic dose ;-) ;-) ;-)
Hope the elusive dose will be this one! Hugs from us :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/31 Hershey PMPS(450) INC to 1u

@Ann - Thanks for the well wishes. I hope he likes the increase :-D

@Roni - Hershey is strictly an indoor cat, too, but even in the air conditioning he acts differently on the really hot days. Plus, his numbers are higher today than he's been used to lately. Thanks, I hope we find the elusive dose soon!

Been feeling kind of blah myself today. Could be the heat/humidity or could be from dealing with frustrations all day. Fought to get into my email for over :20 - so much for the 'new, faster, easier' yahoo...STILL can't get an appointment for Joseph for lab work. Been trying since his physical in May. Have decided this office doesn't care to work with a college student's schedule. I used to work in a doctor's office and ran up and down the steps numerous times tracking down a doctor or whoever to accommodate a student's schedule. For goodness sake! ALL he needs is some blood drawn! I think it's time we found another doctor's office. I chose this one because it close to home and he only EVER sees the doctor for a yearly physical, so it made sense. And, on and on my day has gone...

Back to the kitties...

At meal time, Hershey still had not eaten all of his +5 food. And, he wasn't interested in this meal, either. I got a couple of bites into him by heating, coaxing, begging, changing locations, retrieving him...until I gave up because I didn't want to traumatize him. In the meantime, Oreo decided he didn't want to eat, either. Doug coaxed, Jessica spoon fed, held him in her lap, reheated the food, changed locations of the bowl... :YMSIGH: Oreo DOES want to eat Hershey's heated Wellness...Trying to keep him away from it so I can tell how much Hershey eats...

Well, Doug is calling me to supper...spaghetti tonight! YUMMM!



PMPS (450) +12 - Shot 1u at 7:10pm - Still hadn't finished +5 food and only ate a couple of bites of PS food
 
Re: 7/31 Hershey PMPS(450) INC to 1u

Sounds like you and I had the same kinda day Libby :sad: Hoping for a better day and better numbers tomorrow! :-D
 
Re: 7/31 Hershey PMPS(450) INC to 1u

Good luck on the dosecrease Libby. I feel for you with the non-eating frustrations. I go through it periodically with Checkers. but he's notorious for not eating. I found a couple of things yesterday that he loves, and fed too much, but it is so good to see him eat well.
I hope Hershey starts eating for you.
 
Re: 7/31 Hershey PMPS(450) INC to 1u

Blech. I hope the extra juice brings him down. That may help his eating too. I know how frustrating appy issues are.
Liz
 
Re: 7/31 Hershey PMPS(450) +3.5(355) +5(266) INC to 1u

@Donna - Thanks for visiting us today! Hoping tomorrow is better for both of us!

@Barb - Good to see you. Wish I could figure out why he doesn't eat sometimes. Doug went to exchange some the Friskies Special Diet that Oreo won't eat and he said the cashier gave him a funny look when he said his kitty didn't like it. :lol: Hershey decided to eat, again. Who knows...maybe because it's a little cooler? Maybe the smell of the spaghetti made him hungry? :roll:

@Liz - Thanks, I was happy to see Hershey eat his +5 like himself. I hope the extra juice helps, too. So far...so good...

Thanks, Everyone, for stopping in. Hoping tomorrow is a better day all around

Thinking I might should get a +7 tonight since he's showing some movement...

+3.5 (355)
+5 (266) - fed

WOW! Weather just said there was an earthquake about :20 ago in VA and :10 later one in SC :o
 
Re: 7/31 Hershey PMPS(450) +3.5(355) +5(266) INC to 1u

And WOW on those numbers too. Hope that dosecrease works quickly for you. Sending some "eat your fuds" vines from Neko to Hershey. At least you get to sleep tonight.

Did you feel the earth move?
 
Thanks, Wendy. No, we didn't feel either earthquake. They said they were small ones - like 2.4 in VA and 2.8 in SC. I read the epicenter of the one in VA was the same as the 5.8 last year. We did feel that one - wondered what it was, initially. It was the first time I ever remembered hearing of such a thing here.


Guess getting the +7, just in case, was wishful thinking, but it's nice to see the yellows after the red and pink at the beginning of the cycle...

+7 (232)

Goodnight...
 
Hi Libby,

Good Luck with the dosecrease! I hope it does the trick for Hershey.

I'm babysitting again tomorrow so will be online only sporadically again. My dgs is sick so can't go to nursery school. :sad:

Hugs,

Melanie & Racci
 
Morning Libby,
I understand your frustration!
Shakes has been up and down so many times I feel like
bangingg my head against the wall sometimes.
Hang in there, you will find Hershey's perfect dose soon!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top