7/31 -8/1 Grayson - 2 months since switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

Grayson & Lu

Member Since 2012
Today is the official 2 month anniversary since Grayson switched insulins to Lev. Despite the Acro, insulin resistance and the high doses, he seems to be doing pretty well on it. Definitely a good move for us... although I'm anxious to get back to the blue floor! Not that I don't like yellow, but he looks really good in blue! ;-)

I didn't realize how long it had been since I updated my SS... it's now current. Except for some stinky/soft poops from the food changes, he seems to be liking all the new varieties. I'm thinking it's safe to say he especially likes the Purina DRY :o :shock: ;-) - some of the samples our folks at CSU sent for him to try. I'm sure he thought he'd hit the motherload!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

Knock on wood, it seems his preshots are coming down a little. I commented to Kim that he was "down to 320" - well after so many reds, that IS a downward turn! I guess everything is relative, right?

I'm still amazed to see the effect of the L's on our other ProZinc friends who've also switched. Hoping to see better preshots like ALL of them, and maybe even SOME of Hershey's lower numbers! :o Not that I'll remember what to do with them! ;-)

Wishing all good numbers this evening!
 
Re: 7/31 Grayson - 2 months since switch

So glad you guys are doing well Lu. We are glad we made the switch too, we’re almost exactly a month behind you.
Hurray for the L’s!
 
Re: 7/31 Grayson - 2 months since switch

oh my - poor grayson is so high. yikes. i hope you start seeing some action soon, but if he continues to have nadirs in the mid and upper 200's, if i were you i'd go up every 4 doses. that option is listed in the Tilly Protocol, then you slow down the increases when you start seeing better numbers. of course, it's up to you, but i'm tossing my 2 cents worth out there.

i'm gonna talk to punkin and have him send some psychic vibes to grayson to COME DOWN! hopefully the SRT will start producing some changes soon. i'll also put in a word for better tummy action!

what's the carb load of the dry purina, do you know? the only dry i'm aware of that's low-ish carb is (i think) evo kitten, which if i recall people's posts is around 7%. that's second hand info, though, so don't quote me on it. if he's getting much of the dry food that might explain his need for more insulin.
 
Re: 7/31 Grayson - 2 months since switch

Morning Luann
Nice to see you and great to hear that Grayson is seeing yellow
As we know all to well, even pink numbers are great for Grayson
Whoever thought that Grayson would even see a yellow number!!
Wishing nothing but great numbers for Grayson! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/31 Grayson - 2 months since switch

Hi Lu! I'm sorry Grayson is in high numbers.

I know you've probably been reading like crazy, but I just thought in case for somereason you hadn't come across these links yet, I'd post them:
Compilation of ACRO Posts by Libby.
The ACRO Basics, because the phrase "Back to Basics" exists for a reason.
The Tilly Protocol Julie referred to with the section on dose increase sequencing in case of repetetive high nadirs.

I hope this helps. We're all rooting for you and Grayson!
Jane
 
Re: 7/31 Grayson - 2 months since switch

Thanks all - especially for the links!

Yes, as Denise well knows, my "little turnip", who spent so much time "swimming in a sea of pinks", looks really good to me in yellow! And yesterday was a really good day in the big picture. I know a lot of his numbers are food-related, and we've tried some Core, Wellness and EVO - all of which were well-received (except for the mushy poops). I've started changing up to try some of the ones from CSU - the prescription ones for his IBD... NOT necessarily low-carb. UGH!!!

That was the case today... he had a nice AMPS of 381 (nice for him!).... then a +6 of 417!!!! :shock: all due to one tuna-sized can of Hills ZD. Mostly liver and chicken by-products... so thinking that's not one of the better choices. Ugh!!! Will continue to try others. The ZD dry that he had did NOT seem to make much difference, but he only had about 1/4 cup - nothing in comparison to his old Kitt-N-Kaboodle!

Gotta run, shot time!
 
Hey, Lu -

Thought I had already posted, but I don't see it, so guess it's another example of me getting distracted... :roll:

You're doing a great job with Grayson, trying new things, staying on top of the details.
cheerleader2-smiley.gif


Hoping things just get better and better!

Have a great night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top