7/30 Skooter PMPS 177 +2 159 +4 81 +5 88 +7 102

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
Reduction Condo! (7/29)

I will take a 202! That is only 3 away from the blue zone.....Hopefully this is more of a mini bounce and he clears it quickly....

Well two nights ago, Skooter kept me up until about two am and came close to earning a reduction. While I made it through the work day (not sure how).....Got home and T/F/S Skooter and set alarms for a +2. However one must also remember to take phone off of vibrate from when at work when getting home....

So ended up getting up in time for a +3.75 and BAM reduction! I am oh so very glad I took today off and it was another late night for us, trying to get Skooter up. I think Mr. P finally got a copy of his job description and is looking for a promotion! He got his reduction today and I sure hope he clears his mini bounce fast and earns a new reduction soon (after he has held this one of course) as 1.5 is a lot easier than 1.75 to figure out with the needle.

This chicka is gonna go back to bed and hopefully wake up at +2 a little more refreshed so I can get things done around my house.

I am thinking it is also time for a career change. I shall quit my job and create a line of diabetic pet supplies....from syringes, to food, to treats, to supplements....a whole line, dedicated to helping cats and maybe dogs... oh a girl can dream, can't she?

Sending healing vines to all of LL, to the kitties, humans and families....

Hope everyone has a great Wednesday!!!
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215

Must repeat to myself:

This is a bounce. This is a bounce. This is a bounce.


I sure hope he clears it quickly so I can see what this 1.75u dose can do!
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215

and remember what often happens with flat yellow cycles!

Hope you're getting some good snooze time in today
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215

OH I planned on not getting much sleep tonight anyways....

He just really seems to be on a mission.....so I figure if I can give him what he needs now, then perhaps....JUST MAYBE....

I actually just finished the errands I needed to run, except forgot to pick up his new needles at the pharmacy. But I would rather wait until tonight anyways as I do not think the tech who took my call enjoyed being educated that yes, there products DO have half markings....I am hoping they have replenished their supply of ReliOn Mirco meters, so I can get his back up one. Worst case I can get the Prime as I think that is the one that takes the same strips as the micro.
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215

The Prime takes a lot more blood. I have one and don't recommend it. Also, I'm not sure it uses the same strips as the micro.
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215 +7.75 198

barely a blue, but a blue I will take.

Thanks for the info on the meter....I know the micro takes the same strips as another one, I just can't remember the name of it. But hoping they have another Micro in stock today when I go.....

Going to take a quick nap as I have a feeling that tonight is going to be a pretty active night....AGAIN...... :roll: :roll: :roll:
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215 +7.75 198

Looks like a Flat Yellow (and slightly blue) Cycle. The mysterious and magical phenomenon known as the Flat Yellow Cycle sometimes precedes a very exciting cycle to follow. :lol: ;-) :mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215 +7.75 198

The Confirm takes the same strips as the Micro

The Prime takes a little bigger sample size (.5 instead of .3) but the strips are the most affordable ($9 for 50)
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215 +7.75 198

I know Jen, soooooooooooo not looking forward to tonight's cycle lolol

Nap time for about an hour than off to get Skooter's new syringes and back up meter.....I really hope this is it for purchasing for awhile :roll: Oh the things we do for our furbabies!!! :lol:

Thanks Chris! I shall pick up the Confirm if they do not have the Micro's back in stock....I know this sounds dumb, but I REALLY don't want to learn how to use yet another item/meter, so I am really hoping they have more of the micros.....HOWEVER if I remember correctly, the Confirm comes in a pretty blue or a pretty pink, so that is also appealing :lol:
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215 +7.75 198 +11 160

Hrmmmmmm, he started AMPS at 2002 and at +11 he is 160.......


It is gonna be a looooooooooooooooooooong night again, isn't it? :? Where is the pizza delivery information again? Starting season 8 of NCIS, hoping to stretch this season out until Friday (payday) but if I am gonna be up all night tonight, I have a feeling I will be going through several discs......

I am guessing I want to try and stop him from earning another reduction since he just earned one last night? I did start him on the 1.75u this morning as he was under 250.
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215 +7.75 198 +11 160

if it's only one cycle after a reduction, we would probably say that it was still the previous dose's depot that caused it. so yes, you don't want him to go under 50 tonight, but even if he did, we'd suggest you hold the 1.75 for now anyway.

it does look like he's clearing the bounce already today. that's a great sign when the bounces are getting shorter. that means Skooter's body is getting used to normal numbers.

i agree, i think you're going to be having another pj party tonight. put on the coffee! ;-) :-D
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215 +7.75 198 +11 160

Directions for using the Confrm--open container of strips... insert 1 (one) into working end of meter..touch against blood sample--read results

Directions for using the Prime--open container of strips...insert 1 (one) in working end of meter..touch against blood sample...read results

I think you can do this :lol:

Looks like he's breaking the bounce and headed back in the right direction! Even if he DID drop below 50 again tonight, we'd tell you to probably stick with the 1.75 and not take another reduction so soon....he's still working on the "depot" of 2 units..it'll take a cycle or 2 (or more) before you'll see exactly what he'll do on the 1.75
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215 +7.75 198 +11 160

Sadly, I have not had caffeine in about a year.

After this week, I am now regretting my decision to remove caffeine via liquids from my diet lololol

He is due his dose in about 50 minutes, not enough time for me to run and pick up his syringes (I just woke up a little bit ago from a nap as I had a feeling I would be having a late night). So I am thinking, after giving his shot, I might run out and get it as I can get there and back probably within an hour or so.....and I normally do not test until +2.

Since he does seem to be clearing his bounce, do I need to try and get a +1 or is a +2 still going to be good enough? With all the testing I have had to do over the past several days, he is starting to get a LITTLE testy sometimes when I do test, so I would like to try and minimize the number of pokeys I have to give.....thoughts?
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215 +7.75 198 +11 160

i'd look at his pmps, compare to the +11 and figure out how many points his BG dropped in the past hour, then decide from that if you need to get a +1 or not, and whether or not you have time to run out.

cats don't drop at a consistent rate per hr during a cycle, but sometimes looking at the current speed can at least give you an idea of what's going on.
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter AMPS 204 +2 222 +4 215 +7.75 198 +11 160

Sounds good....I will most likely post to see if the difference is ok or not as I have no idea lolol

I also don't mind waiting until tomorrow after work to pick up his needles, I have plenty of the non half marked ones, but was hoping to start using those. I am almost wondering if I should hold off on using those needles until Friday night, as who knows how accurately I am dosing the 1.75 as it is lol and if I change syringes, I fear that will have an effect on his numbers and hopefully, he will let me get a weeeeeee bit of sleep tomorrow night.....
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177

AM recap:

AMPS = 204
+2 = 222
+4 = 215
+7.75 = 198
+11 = 160


I decided to just hunker down for the night as I did a lot today in between my naps.

It looks like he is trending up, so I am thinking a +2 is ok? (VS a +1).....
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177

Looking good, Skooter! You both are doing a super job. Give your bean a nice headbutt from me. :-D :-D
Liz
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177

My errands took longer than expected, so not as much as I was hoping, but I will survive.....

I really really think he is on a mission and I will do whatever I need to in order to help him get there if the there is what I think it is that I do not want to mention as to not jinx anything......I am ok with all this short term if it means in the long term what I think it means....

I will say, I just started Season 8 of NCIS and it is sure to keep me awake!!! This is starting out to be a very exciting season!

Thanks, Liz! It is still a lot to take in and some days I still can't believe I am doing this but we are trudging along.....I have gone from trying to do a day at a time to a cycle to a time......

I also still can't get over all the amazing support from everyone here.....I feel truly blessed that Skooter and I found you guys....
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177

i think we all felt that way. trying to manage a diabetic cat on your own, with just the vet's help, is pretty intimidating. it's a lot better to have some support from people in the trenches with you!

we <3 NCIS. great show! have fun watching tonight!
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177

And just in case anyone was worried about Skooter getting enough sleep after these "tough nights", no need lolol
 

Attachments

  • skooterresting.jpg
    skooterresting.jpg
    20.3 KB · Views: 319
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177

Skooter needs to relax! :lol: :lol: Folks here are crazy about their cats and check their egos at the keyboard. :lol: We so appreciate having friends here who understand. We feel normal for the first time in our lives. :-D :lol:
Liz
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177

I know, the poor baby...good thing he doesn't have to get up and go to work on like no hours sleep in order to pay for said insulin, syringes, food, etc lololol

I know what you mean....I have so many people who told me to put Skooter down when was diagnosed because he was just a cat and it would be a hassle. I also have friends who seem to understand Skooter is basically my kid, until they had kids and now they say, oh so you have a taste of what it is like to be a parent.....


DARN TOOTIN I DO!!! I am caring for a living being, one that is dependent on me 24/7, so don't say I am not a parent, first off and if you like your face the way it is, don't every suggest to me that I put him down, simply because of his diabetes...... :evil: it gets me so angry.....

So yes, I agree, it is nice to feel normal and be around people who get it.....
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177 +2 159

A drop is a drop, so more tests to come, BUT not a HUGE drop so perhaps he is going to be kind and let me get some sleep tonight......
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177 +2 159

aw, poor exhausted little guy! :lol: i'm having trouble seeing the perspective of the picture. is he chin up? little pink chin, perhaps?
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177 +2 159

Yes, chin raised up. I was sitting next to him and put my phone over him to take the picture....chin is more white than pink, but I do believe there is a little bit of pink

Such a rough life the poor lil guy has lololol :roll: :lol: :roll: :lol:
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177 +2 159 +4 81

Can I cry now?

It does not look like I will be able to go to bed soon.....UGH....I am not sure how to do three nights in a row....

I know that this is a good thing for him, but this is really starting to take its toll on this momma bean.......

So we thinking a +5 or a +6?
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177 +2 159 +4 81

Hugs - and caffeine vines headed your way, Molly. :smile:

I think I would get a +5 to see how fast he's going. On the upside he's looking AWESOME! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Adorable pic too! We call that pose "sunny-side up" :-D
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177 +2 159 +4 81

I am thinking of giving a little LC food....try to get him to taper off.....

I am afraid to go to sleep so I am thinking 2 teaspoons of LC food and a +5 to see if he is going up.....

He is looking AWESOME, I never thought he would get here, but it is so much more exhausting than I thought....especially a third night in a row....this is one of those times when being single SUCKS....I have no one to trade off with :sad:
 
Re: 7/30 Skooter PMPS 177 +2 159 +4 81 +5 88

Not up enough for my liking...

Migraine setting in....setting alarm for +7 for peace of mind......
 
Oh boy Molly...he sure likes those green nights but he's looking great. Just think how much you can sleep when he's decided he's done with the jooce.

Good job tonight. Hope you catch some winks. Love the picture :lol:
 
Molly, I hope you are safely I-) I-) I-) .

Skooter is looking soooo good! You are a great mamabean. I love reading your condos. So entertaining. What are you going to do when you get all caught up on NCIS????

I couldn't figure out the picture, either, but when you explained, I saw it clearly. What a bum. ;-) :-D

Sending safe surfing vines for Skooter and peaceful sleeping vines for the bean.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top