7/30 PMPS 116, please check & 7/31 AMPS 257

Status
Not open for further replies.

kay&junior

Member Since 2011
http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=76044

Morning,

Last night he did it again, low number, to me it's low! and I followed my stckies better this time, waited 15 minutes, no food, and he was going up to 139, so I fed and shot normal 2 units.

He did sneak into Sparky's Food at 4.15am this morning, don't know he got up there, but he did, it is lo carb, grain free EVO @ 7% carbs.

I think I did better last night, and remained calm , cool, & collected!!!!!

It seems lately,. to me, I Have been getting low numbers more often, what does that mean?

thanks for letting me double post!!!!
 
You did great!! The only suggestion I would make is to put the 139 as your PMPS since that's the # you actually shot. I'd put the note about stalling 15 min. when you got the 116 in the Remarks section.

I think you have room to increase Junior's dose. You're not seeing very much green. I'd love to see more blue and green and less yellow on your SS. A lot of those above 200 numbers are above renal threshold. Even if you don't want to see if Junior can reach remission, keeping him tightly regulated so you can spare the wear and tear diabetes puts on the kidneys would be a good thing. What about fattening the dose if you're concerned about a full 0.25u increase?
 
Well done on staying calm, you will get used to seeing lower numbers (and don't forget that's what you want!) I almost had a heart attack the first time Vyktor went under 50 :lol:
 
Thanks Sienne!

I was trying so hard to do it right this time, and I will change his SS to reflect the 139 that I shot.

Remission would be great, it has been over a year for the little guy, and it was even before that he was sick, a few months anyways, and I have noticed he seems more playful lately too! I just didn't think it could still be done after so much time had passed...

This weekend, I will be home for 4 days, family is coming to visit the Mountains of New Hampshire! and I think I will try for the fat 2 unit?? almost .25?

Thanks as always for your help and input, Junior sends Kisses!
 
A "fat" dose is between 2.0 and 2.25u. However you measure it, the aim is to be consistent.

FWIW, there have been a number of cats who have gone OTJ even at 2+ years. It's less likely as time goes on but it's not impossible.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top