7/30 Napoleon AMPS 266 +3 160 +4 71 +5 40 PMPS 100 +3 139

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nicole and Napoleon

Member Since 2010
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=20971

Happy Friday!

We had quite an ugly PMPS last night after his BCS yesterday morning and some bounce, but I am happy to see he is coming down from it somewhat. Sorry there was no update last night. I found a little bird stunned and potentially injured on my way to go food shopping right in the middle of a heavily traveled street. Cars were just driving directly over him, he would have been toast. Luckily I had a little plastic tupperware container in my car that I used for toll change in the past. I turned around, picked that sweet bird up and took him home. He/She looked injured or sick. I gave water from a paper towel by squeezing it into it's mouth in very small drops, stroked it's little head, tried giving some food (you can give wet cat or dog food according to a bird rescue I called) and just gave it some comfort. We called around but no one was open that would take wildlife at 7pm. I figured if it was dying then it at least it would not be alone, would be comfortable/comforted and safe. Then something amazing happened. The bird completely turned around within an hour. It started to move it's wings, head, started jumping. Then it jumped, then it flew. I followed it for 15 - 20 minutes around the outside watching it's every move. Each time it was a little bit stronger. It flew farther and farther each time and looked stronger and stronger. I finally felt ok with leaving it be after it flew right up into a tree looking perfectly healthy and happy. That made my night :-D
 
Re: 7/30 Napoleon AMPS 266

aww I love happy endings. soar little birdie!
You're so sweet to take the time to care for it.

hope Napoleon also shows you some great numbers today
 
Re: 7/30 Napoleon AMPS 266 +3 160

That was a very nice bird story and it was very sweet of you to take care of that little bird. Looks like Napoleon is headed to some good numbers today.
 
Traveling soon - need some dosing advice

I will be traveling to Canada in the near future for 5 days. My mother will be here with Napoleon taking care of him. I think it is safe to say that he has dropped fairly low and sometimes fairly quickly with his current dosing of 3.25U BID. I was wondering if I would be making a huge mistake having her give him 3f for those 5 days if he should still be on this dose then. She is not as diligent with testing as I am because she said he struggles with her sometimes, which I believe. She knows where my hypo kit is, my vet is 5 minutes away and I always provide her with the ER vet numbers and locations. I told her I would make a list of every possible scenario and how to handle it. She has done a wonderful job of caring for him with his shots, etc when I have gone away before, but he was only getting on shot a day then. I do not want to board him because he completely melts down if even at the vet for a day for testing. We do not have a petsitter and my husband is not completely comfortable with having a stranger come to the house when my mother has the availability to be here all day, everyday.

I am just getting very nervous. Any advice anyone? Thanks so much!
 
Re: Traveling soon - need some dosing advice

That's a tough one, but ultimately you have to do what you are most comfortable with so you can have a relaxing vacation and not be worrying the entire time. I am not an expert on dosing and I am sure someone else will be along shortly. Good luck with your decision and have an awesome vacation!
 
Re: 7/30 Napoleon AMPS 266 +3 160 +4 71 +5 40 - decrease??

I am so happy to read this...I just love stories about saving innocent little creatures. Looks like Napoleon is also doing great!
 
Re: 7/30 Napoleon AMPS 266 +3 160 +4 71 +5 40 - decrease??

Great story! I'm so glad that Napoleon didn't want to play with the bird.

Congrats on the dose reduction. Your new dose will be 3.0u. If Napoleon bounces, you can always shoot the old dose through the bounce and shoot the reduced dose tomorrow morning. See where the numbers are this evening.
 
Re: 7/30 Napoleon AMPS 266 +3 160 +4 71 +5 40 +6 ~66- decrease??

Thanks Sienne!

Gave him a whole can of lc at +5 with the 40. He is up to 66 now. Might just try shaving the dose on him to 3f cause his last reduction didn't take so well. We'll see. Just wanted to get the green light to reduce :-D
 
Re: Traveling soon - need some dosing advice

Nicole:

What you're suggesting is very common practice. When I travel, I have a petsitter who comes in to shoot twice a day. It's pretty clear she will lose a few fingers if she tries to test. Even if she could test, she'd only be getting a pre-shot test and Gabby, like many kitties here, can have unpredictable numbers. We typically drop the dose to a safe level.

Post a note in the subject line of your condo the day before you'll be traveling and we'll work with you to come up with a dose that will be safe for your mom to shoot.
 
Re: Traveling soon - need some dosing advice

That is great to hear Sienne, I feel better already. I just didn't want to mess anything up long term.

You guys are lifesavers!!!!!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top