7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 PMPS 79

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aleven

Member Since 2014
Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122558

These are some very low AMPS, after 0.1 u. I'm stalling, going to test again in 20 mins. I will be around to monitor today but I don't want her to go so low again! If she goes into the 40s again does that mean I take her off insulin?

Also, she just threw up a couple big ol hairballs. I haven't fed her yet so there was no food, but I don't want her to do it again after I've fed and given a shot.

Can someone direct me to the instructions for an OTJ trial? It seems crazy but we might be there soon... I know I came across it but for the life of me can't find it now.

Thanks!
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMPS 65 - STALLING - Advice?

Hello! I cant advise, but maybe someone will check in soon..for what its worth, just my opinion, I would hold off giving shot for now. Youve had some low #s lately on .1u so maybe otj trial time is here!
ETA- you will need to feed soon, if not #s might continue to drop and you dont want that either. Perhaps skip and just feed for now.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMPS 65 NS

She definitely seems a bit out of sorts - vomiting/hairballs, not eating - so I think I'll skip the shot. I will aim to give the PM shot a bit early so as not to have to stay up too late to get her +6.

Thanks all.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMPS 65 NS

Sounds good. Did she eat yet this morning? If not try to get another test soon to make sure she isnt dropping, and hopefully she will eat something soon.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMPS 65 NS

I tested her before I fed her and she was up to 90, which seems like a bit of fast spike - she doesn't usually come up that fast. Anyway I put out food and hopefully she'll eat some.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMPS 65 NS

At least she isnt dropping, so I would just keep an eye on her and test in an hour or so..hopefully she eats soon.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMPS 65 NS

since you've skipped this morning, let's see how she is when you get home and decide on an OTJ trial from there. :mrgreen:

eta - i just realized you said you're home today. so give us a test result after 6 hrs or so past the usual shot time that you would've had this morning and maybe again at what would be your normal +11. in other words, check her BGs a couple of times today and let's see from there.

Some cats are done when they are done and won't tolerate going to 0.1u.

Do you go back to work tomorrow?
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMPS 65 NS

Okay, I'll post the +6 of when I would have given her the shot - that'll be three hours from now.

She did eat a bit, and pooped in the bathroom, which is what she does when she's constipated, which I already suspected. So hopefully that was just a little intestinal upset that's over now and was keeping her from eating with her usual gusto.

I will be home again tomorrow so can stay on Mottylguard.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58

Her +6 AMBG is 58. I don't plan to give her a shot tonight unless she goes up significantly for some reason. Thoughts?
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58

No advice from me but if I were a betting person I would say it's trial otj time if green at what would be pmps time !! Congrats if I'm right.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58

Here are the most up-to-date OTJ instructions I could find when I started my trial earlier this week. Mona's numbers looked just like this and were suddenly very low at her AMPS and again at PM. Good luck!!

OTJ Trial Instructions

Start the trial on a green pre shot.

If he is green at your normal test times, no need to test further until the next "PS" time, just feed small meals and go about your day. If he is blue, feed a small meal and test again after about 3 hours. If his number is lower 3-4 hours after a meal, then his pancreas is working!

Post every day so we can monitor your progress and see if any tweaks are needed. It is not unusual for cats to get lots of blue during their trial, especially at first. Don't panic and don't shoot unless we tell you to.

After 14 days of no insulin, we have a party!

Sometimes the trial doesn't work the first time and we have to give a little more support in the form of resuming insulin. It's not the end of the world if that happens, we just give him the support he needs. Our goal is a strong remission and it's better to take our time to get that than to rush into remission just to have it fail later on.

Good luck!

If he gets through the trial successfully, you enter a new phase. Your cat is still diabetic, but has now become diet-controlled. Continue feeding low-carb food and small meals for the rest of his life. Avoid medications with sugar in them and steroid medications unless they are medically essential. Continue testing blood sugar weekly for the next few months and then monthly forever. It's a good idea to weigh him monthly. His weight should remain stable. If he seems "off" or sick, or is showing symptoms of diabetes (excessive drinking, eating, urinating, weight loss) test his blood sugar right away. Keep the teeth clean; dental issues can bring a cat out of remission.

If you see rising blood sugar numbers, post here before you restart insulin and ask for advice on how to proceed.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58

Normally we encourage people to give 0.1u until the cat dips below 50 on it, and since you're going to be home tomorrow you could still monitor one more day. If i'd been online this morning, i'd have encouraged you to give the 0.1u since you were going to be able to monitor. i'd hate to start the trial too soon and have her pancreas not quite able to keep it up for more than a day or two, and then have to restart insulin.

on the other hand, she's doing well. we used to have people start the OTJ trial after 0.25u.

so . . . it's up to you. what would you like to do?

yes, those are the most recent OTJ instructions. we usually like to have at least a couple of the most experienced people concur that it's time to start it - that's why the directions aren't posted anywhere on the site. Wednesday is a day when several of our regulars are scarce and I haven't heard back from anyone yet.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58

I'm sorry, I should have been more clear that I was posting the instructions just to pass them along, but not as an actual recommendation to stop insulin and start the trial. That was definitely a mistake on my part.

For sure go with advice from folks, like Julie, who are experienced and explicitly giving you a recommendation for dosing.

And I won't repost them again myself, though I was definitely confused when I couldn't find that information on my own scouring the documents, only by searching the forums!
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58

it's ok, katie. i was just explaining why they're not out there. sometimes people are afraid of normal numbers and might be more likely to begin an OTJ trial before the kitty is really ready, that's all.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58

Thanks, Julie. That's helpful, and it was a good reminder overall for me to make sure I remember to say that I'm not actually giving advice on dosing. I know I'm not qualified to do that, but forget to state when what I put might be interpreted that way. :)
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58

Okay - it's 15 mins shy of her AMBG +11 and she's at 79. I don't mind giving the 0.1 tonight if the consensus is that's the best idea. I don't want to start the trial too soon. However, she did go to 58 on no insulin at all so it seems like she might have gone below that had I given it. I dunno - I guess it's not a bad idea to get hard evidence that she's ready to go off (ie a # under 50). But I don't want to risk a hypo either. Thoughts appreciated!
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58 +11 79 Advice???

i still haven't heard from anyone yet . . . but my gut feeling would be to keep giving her the 0.1u until she either goes below 50 on it or you have to go back to work and leave her unmonitored. if you're home tomorrow, i'd give it tonight and tomorrow morning, and monitor to see if she goes below 50. i'd reassess tomorrow night and maybe begin the OTJ trial then so that she will be safe on the next morning when you go to work.

how does that sound to you?

if you aren't comfortable giving it, we can go ahead and start the trial.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58 +11 79 Advice???

by the way, under 50 isn't a hypo. As long as you're monitoring until her blood sugar begins to rise, you'll be able to steer her numbers and she'll be ok.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58 +11 79 Advice???

I just feel a bit hesitant because A) she hasn't eaten much today and B) is in quite a mood and won't let me near her ear to test her right now.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58 +11 79 Advice???

Ok. I will give her the 0.1 tonight. I'm gonna do it now so I don't have to stay up too late to get her mid-cycle. Wish me luck!
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58 +11 79 Advice???

good luck. fingers crossed for a surf, but if she goes below 50 after skipping this morning, you'll have a clear message that she's done with insulin - no doubts then.

:mrgreen:
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58 +11 79 Advice???

just a reminder - always get a +1 and a +2 whenever you shoot a low number or one that's lower than you've shot before.

I think it's about +1 now and I wanted to check in on you.
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58 +11 79 Advice???

Just stopping in to wish you good luck. I know you are worried about her going under 50. Max has done it many times now. His lowest was I think 32. It still gets me going but with hc and karo should it happen you will be able to bring her up and then know for her that the trial time is here. So good luck!!
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58 +11 79 Advice???

Hi there :cool:
It's been a super condensed 'one shot a time' ride all the way with Mottyl!

Just catching up. I agree with Julie and would have thought it best to shoot this morning rather than skip.
However being Mottyls appetite was off and you are flying by the seat of your pants due to lack of data, best to err on the side of caution. Good call.
I too am glad you shot tonight - it may be a telling cycle.

For me to stop shooting any insulin was scary nailbite_smile - I never expected to be able to stop-
It was very emotional - I would have been devastated if it didn't hold. .. .
I kept BK on 0.1u for 10 days :lol: :lol: :lol:
until the wise ones of the time said "it's time"
 
Re: 7/30 Mottyl AMBG 65 +6 58 +11 79 Advice???

Hello! Just updating with +1 and +2 - 77 and 65 respectively. She generally seems to drop most between +3 and +5 so that will be my most telling time. Of course that's based on 1 week of data, so who knows. :lol:
 
No dosing advice, here, but watching Mottyl very excitedly! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

I sense an OTJ trial coming sooner rather than later! If you can get her to hold with a tiny bit of insulin for just a little bit longer - all the better to continue to support her healing pancreas. Or she may just let you know she's done with the juice! No matter what, congratulations on doing such a fantastic job with her! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Anna

I've been one of the scarce ones today.....work day for me. But I also got Julie's email and I agree with she and Sandy that I would shoot the 0.1u until she earns a reduction either by going below 50 or being in normal numbers....mostly green.. For seven consecutive days. We really like to give them the best chance of staying in remission.

Good luck!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top