7/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 410 PMPS 344

Status
Not open for further replies.

april925

Member Since 2011
yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=48693&p=523761#p523761

She's back up. Could this be a bounce? It seems though every time she starts to make some progress, she goes right back up. How do you get the bounces to stop?
 
Re: 7/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 410

Good morning!
april925 said:
Could this be a bounce?
Hard to tell without more mid cycle data. Are you able to work in a few more spot checks? Honestly, without that information you'll have a hard time getting answers to your questions.
 
Re: 7/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 410

Today I got a +5 309 and +8 312. Looks like she is staying about the same.
 
Re: 7/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 410

no valuable input from me...
but sending hopes that Miss Kitty will come down for you...

celi & binks
 
Re: 7/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 410

april925 said:
Today I got a +5 309 and +8 312. Looks like she is staying about the same.
That's great !

The next important thing to do is update Miss Kittys ss; right now the last data I see is from 07/29/AM. This helps others to help you. Those who have knowledge thorough experience and are willing to help are unable to without up to date info.
 
Re: 7/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 410

you especially want to test mid-cycle so you can see when the lowest point is. nearly all dosing is based upon the lowest point in a cycle - and seeing that day after day is what is most accurate in making dosing decisions. that is the critical number to try to get each day.

i'm not an expert, but just looking at how high her numbers are i wonder if she's just not getting enough insulin yet. i don't think it's a bounce, just a reflection of her dose. was there a reason you fattened the 1.5 instead of just going to 1.75u a few days ago? and then it looks like you dropped back to 1.5 on thursday. were you concerned about the preshot of 253 being too low, maybe?

the goal you are going for is to get miss kitty's numbers down into "normal" undiabetic cat range - somewhere 50-120ish.
 
Re: 7/30 Miss Kitty AMPS 410

You're right, I should just give her 1.75 now. I think I got spooked when she went into the 200s. I can update my ss now, I've been working all day today, I do medical transcription at home as a part-time job and when I open the ss, it slows down my computer, so I couldn't open it earlier. As for the mid cycle checks, I can only do them on weekends, so it's been hard to get a feel for how low she goes. When I've been checking her on weekends though lately, she has not been getting too low, so she probably simply just needs more insulin. I'll start her on the new dose tomorrow.
 
april i don't know how late you are up at night, but we usually shoot punkin at 7am7pm, and i stay up til about 11 or midnight, so i can get a last-minute-before-bed test that's fairly close to the nadir. something you might consider - or - another option that i've seen people do is to move their shot earlier, like at 6am, so they can get a nadir at the night cycle.

cuts short your night, but at least doing it a few times a week would be helpful for knowing more about what's going on with miss kitty.
 
Hi April. I'm just here to echo Julie's advice. I, personally, shoot at 7AM and 7PM. It works well for reasons Julie explained. If you have doubts about increasing dose, first read the protocol through. If you still can't decide, ask the question in your posts. You'll get good, safe advice. Mid-cycle numbers are important. Good luck.
 
I shoot at 530a and 530p. I try sometimes to get some readings at night, but I have to get up so early and I can't function without 8 hours of sleep andI usually don't make it. I'll have to take some days off from work.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top