7/30 Gracie PMPS 253

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marje and Gracie

Member Since 2010
Moderator
Gracie's Yesterday

7/29 Recap

AMPS: 334 2nd cycle 1u
+2: 284
+4: 181
+6: 169
+8: 164
+10: 135
PMPS: 84 3rd cycle 1u
+.5: 69 fed 13%
+1: 63 fed 13%
+1.5: 58 fed 13%/drop karo
+2: 59 fed 13%/drop karo
+2.5: 67
+3: 49 fed 13%/karo
+3.5: 70
+4.5: 88
+5.5: 111
+8: 183


Happy Caturday Lantus Land. We are sending healing vines to Rocket and to Simon and also to Christie and Jill.

Gracie broke her bounce last night....of course, because was leaving today. :lol: :lol: While her numbers look fairly decent (until that 49 at +3 when she onset), we were giving her 13% to stop the drop. We tried one of the new Wellness 13% foods and it did seem to slow her a bit but then it wasn't bringing her up and so we had to add karo..she still dropped back down at onset. She loves to accumulate those carbs and then shoot up later in the cycle. Boy I wish she was like the other kitties that they get one tsp of MC/HC and the numbers are up in 15 minutes! She got some rest last night; I woke up with stereo GIRL purrs today...Gracie and Teddi. Gracie was draped over my pillow and gave me some wonderful headbutts and somersaults. Teddi was laying ON ME which she loves to do and she was purring up a storm. Gracie and Tobey got in their 30 minutes of post breffis play time and she's now on the catio.

So....can anyone let me know what 10-13% foods they use to bump up their kitties that seem to work well? I'm trying to stay away from fish as much as I can with her due to her former bladder issues. I do have a 10% that works but it sometimes overdoes it, too.

Hope you all have a great day. I need some major
coffee.gif
and breffis. Then I will visit condos...I have missed you all so much this week and want to catch up.
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +3 68 +4 50 +5 44

Hey Celi!!! Thanks...hope you and Tam and your mom and of course Binks and the tortis are doing well. We miss you!

When we took Gracie up, we knew it was only going to be for a few cycles to get her jump started. Because I've been fighting her all day with carbs to keep her up, I'll be shaving her dose back down tonight.

Newbies: please do not follow the dosing we've been doing with Gracie. We work closely with Jill as Gracie tends to fail reductions so we're trying some different dosing approaches. We have lots of data on her. Please be sure you follow the protocol.
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +3 68 +4 50 +5 44

:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: I'd have to agree with the shock and awe at +5!! She did come up to 66 at +5.5.
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +3 68 +4 50 +5 44

Look at Gracie's beautiful numbers!!--AWESOME ;-)
I use FF's Elegant medleys Tuscan chicken, and it always brings Moonie up--they have lots of flavors, and Moonie will eat only this for mc-hc!--
Have a great evening! Lubs & Hugs from us!
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +3 68 +4 50 +5 44 +6 73

Roni: thanks for that info; I'm going to try and get some and see if that works. Of course, it could be that this is too much insulin for her....which we know...we're just trying to really get her rolling again here.

So she finally has two rising numbers and I'm going to give her and me a break. Time for an hour of floating around the pool before the storms roll in.
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +3 68 +4 50 +5 44 +6 73

i think there's something terribly wrong here. i read Roni's post mentioning tuscan chicken and thought "nom nom nom, tuscan chicken sounds like it would be good for dinner tonight . . . "

:shock:

i think i'll go have a snack before i break into gracie's cat food.

she's sure looking super today, even if you are having to work to get there! :lol:
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +3 68 +4 50 +5 44 +6 73

Hi Marje, wow, little Gracie really keeps you and Mike a hopping! Have you tried the FF Gravy Lovers. It doesn't take much to get Maggie up when she's low, even one Pepperidge Goldfish cheddar cracker will do it! I love Celi's pics, as always! I love the stereo purrs from Gracie and Teddi. I hope it won't be an all nighter for you.
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Julie: you are so right!!!! The FF chicken florentine with spinach cracks me up!!

Ann: Another great suggestion; we actually bought some but hadn't tried it yet because I think they are 15-17% and I don't know if that's too much for her. I should definitely try it.

Finally...no food since +5....SURF GRACIE????

For me...back to the pool.
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +3 68 +4 50 +5 44

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Newbies: please do not follow the dosing we've been doing with Gracie. We work closely with Jill as Gracie tends to fail reductions so we're trying some different dosing approaches. We have lots of data on her. Please be sure you follow the protocol.
ha! you're giving me far too much credit! :lol:

marjorie and mike have accumulated a lot of data on gracie since they began this journey. they've followed the tight regulation protocol to the letter for a very long time. however, gracie is one of those stubborn little kitties who has refused to read the manual.

they're now at a point where they've truly grasped the concept of "knowing thy cat". i have simply encouraged mike and marjorie to use what they've learned about gracie to determine when to increase/decrease the dose... using the data they have to support their decisions.

ECID definitely applies here. please do not follow their approach.
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Hi Marje and Gracie,

What a great kitty report this morning. Hope you have had a great week. :lol: :lol: @ Julie's comment. We also use the FF elegant medleys for MC food, they have a 15% Chicken Florentine that Leo just loves and it works great. Today he dipped down to 40 and i had to break out the 18% FF chicken and gravy and it brought him up almost 30 points in an hour.

You have yourself a wonderful Caturday as well and hope you had fun floating around the pool!
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Gorgeous day at the green Lagoon for Gracie! I'm glad the bump up didn't have to last long. Hang 20 on the next reduction Gracie!

Gracie! I missed a pool party last night? angry(2)_cat Silly beans tied up the puter and I couldn't get to my messages! Mannie said fishing and hang gliding today! See you soon! I may just stop by the lagoon for a while! -- Tess
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Hi guys...we actually use Nature's Variety canned beef from the dog food aisle. :o It gets Attie up enough to be safe, but does not seem to spike him. See today's SS. It's like a nice steady surf for him.

Not sure why it does that as opposed to other foods? Long ago over in thinktank I posted an aritcle about different kinds of carbs, if I recall correctly peas give a long ride. NV has peas in it.

BRB going to see if I can locate it.


Effects of six carbohydrate sources on diet digestibility and postprandial glucose and insulin responses in cats About halfway down is a link to the actual study.
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Good evening, guys! What a cycle for you guys today... at least it was a daytime one this time? The chicken florentine has me cracking up... and thinking I need to make it once my tummy is open to the idea of real food!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

You guys are doing so great with Willie's fellow G-Money! Keep it up (no pun intended!)!
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Thanks, Jill, for clarifying. I'm a little fuzzy headed today (tired) and mainly wanted to impart to newbies, if they look at Gracie's SS, that we are doing things a little differently.

Jill wrote:
i have simply encouraged mike and marjorie to use what they've learned about gracie to determine when to increase/decrease the dose... using the data they have to support their decisions

Any of you who have been around a while have seen the all the great info Jill has put on our condo in the past. And now we're just going to try and think outside the box with Gracie but all decisions on dosing, reductions, increases, etc are solely Mike's and mine. As Jill has said to me in the past, anyone can make a suggestion based on a spreadsheet but we know Gracie best and are holding the syringe.....and the fuds. Her encouragement to use our data to try a little something different has been a great help to us....we are so literal about the protocol but, as Jill said, Gracie isn't reading the protocol or if she is, she's decided to do it her way anyway.

Tracy: nice to see you back around!!! I think we are going to try some of these foods and see if they will work. WOW on the 40 for Leo!!

Ann: Gracie was bummed to not see Tess last night. Thanks...she has had a decent cycle today but it's taken alot of work.

Beth: Interesting!! Tobey ate only NV for a long time and I did try it one time on Gracie (the cat food which was supposed to be 3% calories from carbs). I can't remember if it didn't work or it shot her way up but I didn't use it again. Funny about the peas because Gracie LOVES LOVES LOVES peas. Maybe when she's low, I should just cook up some peas for her. :lol:

Christie: yes, at least daytime. That is funny about these food names. Makes it sound like the cats eat better than us. Thanks....we really are trying to get her doing better and spending more time in the healing range. Hope you feel better!!!
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

That doesn't sound like the same food.

Nature's Variety Cat food and Dog canned foods all run in the 12%-13% carb. range. In fact their cat food and dog food are exactly the same recipes! I called and questioned this a few weeks ago and they confirmed all the canned food is formulated for cats, but is perfectly fine for dogs. Skip the price gouge...go to the dog food aisle!


Yes, as you can tell from that thread I was pondering certain relationships between foods and attaining regulation. While no, you don't want something that is going to overdue the carbs. there may be a place for them in certain cats metabolism. The kind in the NV Beef don't seem to muck things up like the others would for Attie. Right now it is an interesting anecdotal observation.
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Hi guys - what a nice cycle for Gracie. busy night last night, busy day today too. So very nice to see all that green.

Good info here today too.

very nice on the morning stereo purrs. too cute! :-D
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

:lol: :lol: :lol:

there's manuals...and then there's manuals...

make sure Lil G gets the right one to read!

pigeon.jpg
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Beth: That's interesting and maybe we are talking about different NV. I'm talking about Instinct. Here is what I got directly from the company just a few months ago:

Marjorie,

On the instinct cans when we went to our new labeling we did indeed put the actuals on our labels. GA’s, by creation are given in minimums and maximums, which is the way we’ve posted them in the past. However, we’ve found that our consumers are more interested in knowing the actuals, for good reason such as special needs pets. As a result, we reanalyzed our levels for things like protein and fat and with the new change in packaging, we have taken the opportunity to change our label and provided the actual on the cans now, which accounts for the percentage increase you see. Our GA’s are still in min and max, but what you are seeing on the can is now the actual.

So in regards to your question, on the protein, say on the Instinct canned food.

PROTEIN As Fed per label = 11.0%
Dry Matter = 44.0%

FAT As Fed per label = 8.0%
Dry Matter = 32.0%

FIBER As Fed per label = 3.0%
Dry Matter = 12.0%

WATER/MOISTURE 75%

ASH As Fed per label = 2.206%
Dry Matter = 8.824%

CARBS in Canned food is Less than 3%

I put the above numbers in Janet's calculator and did get 3% calories from carbs on the foods. Are you referring to their Prairie foods?

Michelle: yes....now just to figure out when to take her down. I was going to reduce tonight but if she gives me a high PS, I'll probably stay the course and wait until she's lower.

Celi: Is there a Gracie manual???? Love the one you sent!!!
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Gracie's lookin' lovely today! And I'm jealous of the "floating in the pool" thing!!! I hope you got some good float time in before the storms hit.

Havea great evening!!
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Hey Amy....thanks and I'm hoping I can keep her in blue going into her PS.

I did....thanks. First I napped on my back floating around and then I got my other floatie, flipped over and napped on my front. :lol:
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

you're writing the gracie manual every day right here for our enjoyment!! :-D
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

you're writing the gracie manual every day right here for our enjoyment!!

:lol: :lol: SHE'S writing it. Her first entry was "I don't need no stinkin' protocol". :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Beth: That's interesting and maybe we are talking about different NV. I'm talking about Instinct. Here is what I got directly from the company just a few months ago:

Marjorie,

On the instinct cans when we went to our new labeling we did indeed put the actuals on our labels. GA’s, by creation are given in minimums and maximums, which is the way we’ve posted them in the past. However, we’ve found that our consumers are more interested in knowing the actuals, for good reason such as special needs pets. As a result, we reanalyzed our levels for things like protein and fat and with the new change in packaging, we have taken the opportunity to change our label and provided the actual on the cans now, which accounts for the percentage increase you see. Our GA’s are still in min and max, but what you are seeing on the can is now the actual.

So in regards to your question, on the protein, say on the Instinct canned food.

PROTEIN As Fed per label = 11.0%
Dry Matter = 44.0%

FAT As Fed per label = 8.0%
Dry Matter = 32.0%

FIBER As Fed per label = 3.0%
Dry Matter = 12.0%

WATER/MOISTURE 75%

ASH As Fed per label = 2.206%
Dry Matter = 8.824%

CARBS in Canned food is Less than 3%

I put the above numbers in Janet's calculator and did get 3% calories from carbs on the foods. Are you referring to their Prairie foods?

Nope I'm am talking Instinct as well. Sent you the email Customer Service sent me. Big differences here and it may be in how the question was asked.

Our GA’s are still in min and max, but what you are seeing on the can is now the actual.
Wouldn't that be illegal? Guaranteed Analysis and AS-Fed have different legal meanings in labeling law.
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Beth: I did question them on that aspect. Plus I don't get how all of those different types of meat can have the same protein, fat, carbs, etc.

Christie: He's a master at massage! He wanted me to tell you his favorite is Aunt Ellabean's "cimmamun cake". :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Nice set of numbers today...can't wait to see what she throws at you tonight!!
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75 +9 153

Hey, thAnks for the advice. :-D

Glad you had a restful day :-D :-D

Snoozed in the morning but then the BF and his kids came by to the pool...so not that much sleeping after all :cry: :cry: just have a week left :shock: :sad: :cry: :? :YMSIGH:

La Grazie is throwing such beautiful numbers at you two lately!! wohooo!
 
Patty: she bounced, like Champ but worse :twisted:

Natalia: thanks...on all accounts. Hope you enjoyed the pool with DBF!! And kids (blech).

I was going to reduce her tonight based on the amount of work it was taking us to keep her above 50 (and we still failed for a short time period today). BUT, I shot through the bounce and did not change the dose. I'm probably nutso for it esp if she comes back down as I am tired but I'd rather keep her on track and minimize the bounce.

I bought some FF gravy lovers and also some Elegant Medleys. If she comes back down on me tonight, I'll give her a tsp on one of them and see if it will bump her up into a surf. I'd really like to get away from (1) karo and (2) carbing the you-know-what out of her. Maybe some carbs in between the 13 and 18% I have will work.
 
Good luck - I really like the EMedleys - just a little push up. They work well with Mannie. I've used the Florentine ones - he just loves them 10-11% carb for the turkey and the chicken. they have a chicken and cheese one too - that does a decent job when he is in the 50-60 range: 14%

Hoping on a great cycle tonight - Gracie: you be good!
 
The elegant medley chicken florentine is one Zener will eat when I can't get him to eat anything else! Of course he doesn't need the carbs ;-)
 
Sorry on the bounce, but at least you can sleep. Reduction in the Morning?

Wow I didn't realize you were retiring that soon. The countdown has started.! :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 7/30 Gracie AMPS 192 +2 106 +4 50 +5 44 +7 75

Marjorie and Gracie said:
Beth: I did question them on that aspect. Plus I don't get how all of those different types of meat can have the same protein, fat, carbs, etc.

Oh...Marjorie, I believe that you did. It just sounds like the person you worked with didn't quite understand what you were asking. I see he/she used the word 'actuals' and not there term 'as-fed.' So I wonder if they gave you the GA or was explaining the GA was not a number within a range (min-max), but now the actual value. Which as confusing as it seems would still be different than the 'as-fed' numbers which is what Shannon at customer service appears to have supplied me.

As far as all those meats having the same protein, fat, carbs, etc. ...they can't. You and I both realize that is an impossibility.

Side note:

What is Janet's calculator? :oops: I've seen the excel sheet and have tried plugging numbers into it, but based on the numbers you supplied in the thread...I don't see it calculating 3% carbs. The result I achieved was 9% based on your numbers?

If anything this demonstrates, for all those reading along, just how confusing getting accurate pet nutrition values can be. From how the question is asked to how the question is answered. ohmygod_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top