7/30 FCC AMPS 95, +4 74, PMPS 85, +4 68

Hello,

I am really hoping to go see my family next week. I am not sure what to do about FCC. I would be gone from the 7th - 15th (though if necessary I could make it shorter) and my partner would be with FCC until the 11th at which point he would join me (hopefully).

The ability to get readings without me no matter who is trying is iffy. My partner will attempt. I need to figure out if I can find a way to give FCC his insulin doses from the 11th PM cycle to the 15th AM cycle. He should have people coming in to take care of his other needs with no issue.

Is this is a terrible idea given where he is at in his progress? Also, if we lower his dose too much I am worried whoever I managed to get to come inject him won't be able to eyeball such a low dose. Has anyone found this to be an issue?

Thank you.
 
Feeding is no issue, shots for the first half is no issue. He is getting squirmy about them too. Definitely has pulled out the attitude. I am sure I can find a technician or someone to come in, but I'm worried he won't let them do it? Does anyone have any experience with this. All this new feistiness is further complicating things.
 
Sorry, I haven't had anyone come to take care of Ruby. Neither my BF nor I have been away for a year and a half. I do plan however on contacting a vet tech who works at the local clinic who has in the past come to my house to give Ruby fluids. They might cost a bit more than a regular pet sitter, but they will at least know how to handle FCC, know that insulin is a powerful thing and can understand how to look at half-unit markings on a syringe. I would also leave a syringe filled with water dyed with food coloring so that they have a guide to eyeball .25 or .1 units if that is going to be your vacation dose.
 
Sorry, I haven't had anyone come to take care of Ruby. Neither my BF nor I have been away for a year and a half. I do plan however on contacting a vet tech who works at the local clinic who has in the past come to my house to give Ruby fluids. They might cost a bit more than a regular pet sitter, but they will at least know how to handle FCC, know that insulin is a powerful thing and can understand how to look at half-unit markings on a syringe. I would also leave a syringe filled with water dyed with food coloring so that they have a guide to eyeball .25 or .1 units if that is going to be your vacation dose.

I also never had anyone take care of Gracie other than my husband. I’ll tag @Sienne and Gabby (GA) as she did have to travel and she can help you with some ideas.

Thank you both for your insight. I have contacted a vet tech just to see if she would be available and if it would be possible for her to administer low doses.

I am also not sure what his vacation dose should be.
 
Thank you both for your insight. I have contacted a vet tech just to see if she would be available and if it would be possible for her to administer low doses.

I am also not sure what his vacation dose should be.
You’re welcome. I believe Sienne had her petsitter shoot a half dose and Gabby would not allow her to test.

With whatever dose you decide, get out the number of syringes to be used and mark them with blue tape where she is to draw to. That will take the guess work out for her and the dose will be more consistent. Just show her with an extra one that you’ve marked with tape.
 
technician
Our pet sitter was a vet tech in a former life and she had experience with a diabetic cat of her own - the last part was pure luck. When Jax was diagnosed, I texted her to see if she would be okay with testing and shooting him and that's when I found out she had previously had a sugar cat. We went away for a week last summer but Jax was far from regulated (had not started following a dosing method hereo_O). My pet sitter did come over before our trip for shot time and watched me test and shoot. I like the idea of marking syringes with tape- I left one with colored water out as a sample. She also texted me the glucose readings though I had also left a paper log for her to write them down in. Good luck <3
 
Marking doses does make a lot of sense. We need to do it soon anyway because insulin duties will have to become shared at some point and so far FCC has just had one person doing the injections.

Our pet sitter was a vet tech in a former life and she had experience with a diabetic cat of her own - the last part was pure luck.

That's pretty ideal. I am realizing vet techs are quite pricey, but obviously it's one of the most important part of FCC's journey. There's a cheaper boarding option, but I don't know how much he'd like that.

On a different subject his +4 is 74 so hopefully that is an indication that he stays relatively flat throughout the day.
 
There's a cheaper boarding option
Boarding would likely raise his glucose levels, which might not be a terrible thing while you are away. But then you might have to do some work to get him back to where you are now. Boarding a diabetic cat where I live is $60 per night according to some research I've done. I don't even know if they do testing.
 
Boarding would likely raise his glucose levels, which might not be a terrible thing while you are away. But then you might have to do some work to get him back to where you are now. Boarding a diabetic cat where I live is $60 per night according to some research I've done. I don't even know if they do testing.

I am hesitant to board, but if I do there is a place here that boards cats in people's homes so they don't get as stressed out. I think he'd probably be happier in familiar surroundings though. The boarding is quite reasonable (25$) compared to pet sitters (30x2/day). As I'm writing this out though I am thinking that there's a possibility he would hate it and I don't want to do that to him.
 
I am hesitant to board, but if I do there is a place here that boards cats in people's homes so they don't get as stressed out. I think he'd probably be happier in familiar surroundings though. The boarding is quite reasonable (25$) compared to pet sitters (30x2/day). As I'm writing this out though I am thinking that there's a possibility he would hate it and I don't want to do that to him.
Home is always best!
 
I've been away twice only for 2 nights. Second time was a tech from our vet who stayed overnight, and was much better because he was experienced with diabetics. She dropped low the 2nd night and we texted to decide dose for that night and next morning, and it was great that he was experienced because he already knew about karo and had a sense of what to do. I was going to try boarding at the vet though wasn't happy about nobody being there overnight, and he is the kennel manager who would have been looking after her anyway! I also had my sister drop by during the day to check and give extra food though she doesn't test or shoot. Do you have an autofeeder? I rely on them a lot, especially when I'm away. I'm such a worrier, I have them leave lots of food!

Good luck. You've made excellent progress with FCC in such a short time. I have s/s envy!
 
I've been away twice only for 2 nights. Second time was a tech from our vet who stayed overnight, and was much better because he was experienced with diabetics. She dropped low the 2nd night and we texted to decide dose for that night and next morning, and it was great that he was experienced because he already knew about karo and had a sense of what to do. I was going to try boarding at the vet though wasn't happy about nobody being there overnight, and he is the kennel manager who would have been looking after her anyway! I also had my sister drop by during the day to check and give extra food though she doesn't test or shoot. Do you have an autofeeder? I rely on them a lot, especially when I'm away. I'm such a worrier, I have them leave lots of food!

Good luck. You've made excellent progress with FCC in such a short time. I have s/s envy!

I actually haven't purchased an autofeeder yet, though I will if I am going to go. I've been waffling on which one to get because I have two cats and I am worried that one of the more popular ones on here that has five servings will be too small for two cats. I started to wonder if it was better to get one that only has two containers, but bigger servings. Indecision has led to inaction.

Thank you. He has made excellent progress and I owe it all to this board.
 
I actually haven't purchased an autofeeder yet, though I will if I am going to go. I've been waffling on which one to get because I have two cats and I am worried that one of the more popular ones on here that has five servings will be too small for two cats. I started to wonder if it was better to get one that only has two containers, but bigger servings. Indecision has led to inaction.

Thank you. He has made excellent progress and I owe it all to this board.
I can sympathize! I have 2 cats and that's part of the reason I worry so much, no way of knowing who will eat. I started with the petsafe then got the catmate, both recommended here. So now I have 2 and use both! Catmate during the day when it's hotter, or if I'm super worried I'll set out both of them even though I know it's overkill.
Petsafe: 5 slots but you can program 2 cycles i.e. 8 times - just need someone to come in and refill it after slot #5/programmed time #4. It's heavier.
Catmate: 5 slots but only can program 1 cycle i.e. 4 times. It comes with ice pack.
 
I can sympathize! I have 2 cats and that's part of the reason I worry so much, no way of knowing who will eat. I started with the petsafe then got the catmate, both recommended here. So now I have 2 and use both! Catmate during the day when it's hotter, or if I'm super worried I'll set out both of them even though I know it's overkill.
Petsafe: 5 slots but you can program 2 cycles i.e. 8 times - just need someone to come in and refill it after slot #5/programmed time #4. It's heavier.
Catmate: 5 slots but only can program 1 cycle i.e. 4 times. It comes with ice pack.

Super helpful information. Thank you. I have spent so much time feeding the cats since FCC got diagnosed that it's rather comical. I have a bit of a better idea of how he needs to be fed now so I think that will help. I must guiltily admit that I miss the old days of dry food. I would never go back and would have changed a long time ago if I had understood the nutrition. I'm always worried that the old skinny civvie is not getting her share. She's a dainty bully so I suspect she'll be okay.
 
His PMPS is 85. Not sure when I should try for tonight? Back to +2 or a different time? I tried a sneaky +9, but when it didn't go smoothly right away I just stopped. I didn't want to mess up the potential to get the PMPS.
 
Maybe I'll try for a +4 so that if it doesn't work I can make another attempt at +5.

Thank you.
 
People have given helpful suggestions about going away, but I still have no idea what to do with his dose while I'm gone? I'm working on my options for hiring people to inject him and thinking through an auto-feeder. I hopefully have neighbours who will come do all the standard stuff, but aren't comfortable giving insulin.
 
People have given helpful suggestions about going away, but I still have no idea what to do with his dose while I'm gone?
He looks like he will earn another reduction before you leave. One of the ways to earn a reduction is to be in largely green numbers for a week. He is more than half way there.

Let us take a call on dosing closer to your departure date - depending on what dose he is at then. Say on the 4th.
 
He looks like he will earn another reduction before you leave. One of the ways to earn a reduction is to be in largely green numbers for a week. He is more than half way there.

Let us take a call on dosing closer to your departure date - depending on what dose he is at then. Say on the 4th.

Okay, thank you. I will check in closer to the date. I suspect my partner will not be able to test him for the 4 days I would be gone before him. Depends on if he maintains his feisty demeanour, but I know he will try. He is currently getting squirmier at insulin time so I am hoping that doesn't start causing problems. Distraction is working at the moment. I can't tell if he thinks it is a game because he pretend nips my partner's hand when he is getting close with the needle. He usually barely feels it so I know he's not getting hurt.

Nap time! Thank you and I hope you are having a good afternoon.
 
His +4 is 68 (PMPS 85). I wasn't sure he was going to let me finish that one. It's okay to leave him until AMPS? I want to do my best to make sure that's successful.
 
Great, thank you so much for being here at such random times. I really appreciate it. I'm glad I can leave him be because he is still on the cusp of not accepting tests. We've seem to have found a bit of a rhythm at the moment provided I don't bug him too much and I really want to be able to keep getting the PS numbers. Is there a time you would suggest trying for tomorrow? It seems I have now scared him off and he is hiding somewhere somewhat unimpressed that I dare mess with his ear at such an hour.

I hope you and your kitties have a wonderful day.
 
I just saw Marje's tag. Gabby was not very cooperative when it came to anyone else testing her. All of the petsitter I used were feline specialty vet techs and had zero success trying to test -- she would hide, lose bladder control because she was so afraid, etc. At one point, she figured out how to get up to the top shelf of a closet and wouldn't come down. (My petsitter ended up feeding and giving her her insulin when she was on the shelf.)

If you take a look at Gabby's SS, most of the time that I was traveling I have the sections in gray, I would lower Gabby's dose. Given where FCC is, I would drop the dose to 0.25u and raise it back to your current dose once you are able to test. I'd also be sure your partner leaves food out just in case FCC decides to not eat exactly the same since you're not nome.
 
Back
Top