7/30 Eddie AMPS 226, +6/76, PMPS/309, +2/370, +6/120

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jen&Eddie

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

YESTERDAY: AMPS/130, +1/154, +2/172, +2.5/168, +4/181, +6.5/206, +10.5/250, PMPS/230, +2/296, +4/331, +6/326
TODAY: AMPS/226, +2/221, +2.5/162, +6/76, +6.5/81, +10.5/242, PMPS/309, +2/370, +4/197, +5/171, +6/120, +7/153, +8/155

Hi LL!

Eddie slowly climbed up from low blues at AMPS yesterday, into yellows for PMPS, and then into a stinky pinky bounce. This morning, though, he cleared the bounce, and started with a respectable 226. He was flat at +2, but I grabbed an extra test at +2.5 after second breakfast as I was racing out the door, and saw Eddie had dropped to 162. I fed some 10% to be on the safe side, and plopped some 5% in the auto feeders to open at +4 and +6. I was pleasantly surprised with a visit from Mr. Greenie at lunch time. :mrgreen: It does always make me a little nervous when I see green on my spot check at lunch, as I usually don't have any idea whether Eddie's headed up, down, or whether he's surfing. Hopefully, he will surf the rest of the afternoon.

I did make a dosecrease threat in his condo yesterday that I was going to chalk up our last reduction as a fail if I didn't see greens overnight, which I didn't. I held off on increasing this morning, though, as I prefer to increase when I can keep an eye on things - in the evening. But then Eddie gets a visit from Mr. Greenie during the AM cycle today. Am I correct that with the greens today, I should probably give it a couple more cycles before throwing in the towel on the 2.0u?

Prayers and vines and hugs to all kitties and beans in need.
 
Re: 7/30 Eddie AMPS 226, +2.5/162, +6/76

I am the same way, Jen. When I see that Mr. Greenie has visited at lunch, I know I am supposed to be happy about it, but just like you said, you never know if it is on they way up or the way down.

I am way too new to this to give advice, but I did run into the same thing a little bit ago with Skooter. I wasn't sure if I should go back up to 2.25 and stayed with the 2 for one more cycle and it worked wonders for him and he continues to improve.

I also like to do my dose increases when I will be around to monitor, while it makes for some sucky nights, at least I am there to watch him.

Good Luck!!!
 
Re: 7/30 Eddie AMPS 226, +2.5/162, +6/76

Well done Eddie! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: You are correct Jen. The rule of thumb is to wait for the bounce to clear and see if he finds green again before increasing. I'd hold off a bit and see if greens become a regular occurrence.
 
Re: 7/30 Eddie AMPS 226, +2.5/162, +6/76

Woo hoo on the green. :mrgreen: I hope Eddie keeps surfing the rest of the day.
 
Re: 7/30 Eddie AMPS 226, +6/76, PMPS/309, +2/370, +4/197

Well, look at Eddie clear the bounce! :-D

Just when I was going to post whining about how Eddie's bouncing more, etc., he does a whiplash-inducing turn-around and starts to come back down from the high stinky pinkies - 370 at PM +2. I was going skip testing until +6 snack time, but now I'm glad I got a +4.

Its seems like Eddie is "trending up" for purposes of determining a failed reduction, but the greens today don't give me a whole lot of room to bring the dose back up. In fact, given that Eddie was well on his way into a bounce by AM +10.5 today, I'm suspicious that he hit some lower greens earlier in the cycle than I caught at +6 today.

Am I missing anything? I'm sure I'm being a bit hyper-vigilant about holding the dose/bringing the dose back up, as I don't want to have a repeat of going down the dosing scale, only to have to climb all the way back up again like we did before. That was heartbreaking. :sad:
 
I think you've got room to increase. Maybe you want to wait until tomorrow night when you'll be home for the start of the weekend? Then if he gets into green tomorrow, you can decide whether you want to or not.
 
Thanks Marje!

Barring anything strange occurring tomorrow, I'll bring him back up to 2.25u tomorrow evening. Hopefully we can get the bouncing to settle down some. If Eddie decides he doesn't want to go back to 2.25u, I'm sure he'll let me know. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top