7/30 Cheekyface is OTJ!

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lesley & Cheekyface

Member Since 2011
Maybe not according to the TR's stricter parameters but "all signs are that she's reversed her diabetes and insulin is no longer indicated" - we can diet control! now I can get her off that damned m/d and onto something lower-carb from J&B's list so she can really knock it on the head :lol: :lol:

The vet did:
* a venous-sample BG = 144 at +1 after food and no shot
* a bladder stab = no glucose, no ketones, clear, normal specific gravity
* took blood and sent it to the lab (the courier arrived as I was leaving so I'll get the results early next week) for a full workup and to check pancreatic function
* and said a fructo test was a waste of time now.

We have a total break from testing for a week, then I test AM and midday, and if they're normal, then once a week for 4 weeks, then once a fortnight ad infinitum--unless of course I start getting higher readings (>15) or she starts weeing/drinking more again.

I have to take her in for weighing every two weeks on the cat scales and I'm so goddam happy I'm about to cry!

Again, that is!

flip_cat drinking24

THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART, FDMB!! especially Dyana who has held me up for this past week, and Miriam and Julie and Sienne and everyone else who kept checking on me xox
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

PS btw the worm wasn't a gastrointestinal one; Cath says she must have eaten it out of the garden ohmygod_smile
 
Congratulations Lesley and Cheekyface!!! :-D
So, I won't see you in the morning? :sad:

We are always here for you, if you need us.
 
Dear Dyana,

I don't think I'll be able to stay away after the past week :lol: but I'll probably be on the Main Board more often than not, just to keep up with things.

While the vet said this was an excellent result and wonderful--even the vet nurses were bouncing!--I have to be prepared for Cheeky to one day become insulin-dependent again as she gets older because of her original DKA, even though it was caught early, so I won't be going too far from FDMB.

Next time round, I won't be so terrified :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

HUGS xox
 
FWIW, you may want to follow our OTJ trial instructions. You would test as you normally would at AMPS and PMPS for 2 weeks. If numbers are above 120, feed and test a few hours later to see if Cheekyface's pancreas kicks in and lowers the numbers. At the end of the 2 weeks, we have a party!

The advantage of this method over what your vet recommended is that if insulin is needed to help the pancreas out for a bit longer, you don't get caught off guard.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
FWIW, you may want to follow our OTJ trial instructions. You would test as you normally would at AMPS and PMPS for 2 weeks. If numbers are above 120, feed and test a few hours later to see if Cheekyface's pancreas kicks in and lowers the numbers. At the end of the 2 weeks, we have a party!

I think I could manage that :mrgreen: thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top