Lesley & Cheekyface
Member Since 2011
Maybe not according to the TR's stricter parameters but "all signs are that she's reversed her diabetes and insulin is no longer indicated" - we can diet control! now I can get her off that damned m/d and onto something lower-carb from J&B's list so she can really knock it on the head :lol: :lol:
The vet did:
* a venous-sample BG = 144 at +1 after food and no shot
* a bladder stab = no glucose, no ketones, clear, normal specific gravity
* took blood and sent it to the lab (the courier arrived as I was leaving so I'll get the results early next week) for a full workup and to check pancreatic function
* and said a fructo test was a waste of time now.
We have a total break from testing for a week, then I test AM and midday, and if they're normal, then once a week for 4 weeks, then once a fortnight ad infinitum--unless of course I start getting higher readings (>15) or she starts weeing/drinking more again.
I have to take her in for weighing every two weeks on the cat scales and I'm so goddam happy I'm about to cry!
Again, that is!
flip_cat drinking24
THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART, FDMB!! especially Dyana who has held me up for this past week, and Miriam and Julie and Sienne and everyone else who kept checking on me xox
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
PS btw the worm wasn't a gastrointestinal one; Cath says she must have eaten it out of the garden ohmygod_smile
The vet did:
* a venous-sample BG = 144 at +1 after food and no shot
* a bladder stab = no glucose, no ketones, clear, normal specific gravity
* took blood and sent it to the lab (the courier arrived as I was leaving so I'll get the results early next week) for a full workup and to check pancreatic function
* and said a fructo test was a waste of time now.
We have a total break from testing for a week, then I test AM and midday, and if they're normal, then once a week for 4 weeks, then once a fortnight ad infinitum--unless of course I start getting higher readings (>15) or she starts weeing/drinking more again.
I have to take her in for weighing every two weeks on the cat scales and I'm so goddam happy I'm about to cry!
Again, that is!
flip_cat drinking24
THANK YOU FROM THE BOTTOM OF MY HEART, FDMB!! especially Dyana who has held me up for this past week, and Miriam and Julie and Sienne and everyone else who kept checking on me xox
:YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
PS btw the worm wasn't a gastrointestinal one; Cath says she must have eaten it out of the garden ohmygod_smile