charliesmom
Member Since 2012
Seems to be clearing her bounce. Gave her .5 and hope it doesn't come down drastically further as I don't know if there will be a lot of tests today. Pray for us that it goes well!
Marjorie and Gracie said:Jill, Jane explained it correctly and I apologize that I assumed you knew what "clear the bounce" means. When BG levels come down into blue/green after highs, then the kitty is clearing the excess glucagon/counterregulatory hormones from their system.
Vyktors Mum said:charliesmom said:@ Marge/Mike/Gracie: Thanks for the information. Better late than never. I thought that's what bounce meant but I'm not sure exactly how to deal with it yet. You said:
If her number starts to come down again tonight so you get another blue AMPS, let her clear the bounce
I just read that now after getting her AMPS 10.8 (194 US numbers) and giving her .5
I hope by "let her clear the bounce" you didn't mean that I should not shoot because I already shot. AGH! We may not have a lot of tests this week (will try to do a couple each evening but not so many in the days probably). If you have thoughts on what times we should test each evening (to get a scattering of data), let us know. Probably we'll do 1 PMPS and 1 test after that each night.
What was meant by let her clear the bounce is that you don't increase the insulin dose while kitty is in a bounce. This can be dangerous because the bounce may clear and kitty may end up going lower than hoped.
Please ensure you do test at AMPS as well, you need to test before you shoot everytime. You probably didn't mean that would be one of the tests you'd be missing but I thought I'd better mention it just in case - saftely first!
The most important time to get another test in is around nadir. I'll have a peek at Charlie's ss in a minute and see if I can tell you when that might be for Charlie.
If Charlie's GI problems continue, you may want to back off of the canned food and instead, transition. For some cats, a fast switch from dry to canned can throw their system off. I saw the same thing when I switched from canned to raw. We had poop problems!! It can take a couple of weeks for a cat's system to adjust. Of course, that's providing there's nothing medical going on.Jill & Charlie said:@ Sienne/Gabby/Gizmo - We pretty much made a dramatic switch with Charlie's food (hills dry a/d as of June 22 when she was diagnosed and then very shortly after moving to wet food 100%... with only a few days in between of both). See comments in her SS for details.
To be honest, I'm thinking less in terms of a UTI than I am a GI bug. If Charlie is prone to UTIs, it's certainly a possibility. Some diabetic cats get UTIs rather easily.Sienne & Marjorie: Think we will keep her at .5 until we know from the vet if she has a urinary tract infection (and needs an antibiotic) or not. If the bladder comp (holistic urinary tract infection stuff) worked, then her #'s in her urine should be stabilized. If not, we'll ask for a full urine culture & sensitivity test and the antibiotics. Then ... after that drama is over ... we can think again about her numbers.