7/30 Benny AMPS 91 +2 82 +9 97 PMPS 54

Two more days like this and his dose will be 0.10. You might want to start practicing with an old syringe and colored water.

upload_2022-7-30_7-19-55.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2022-7-30_7-19-55.jpeg
    upload_2022-7-30_7-19-55.jpeg
    11.4 KB · Views: 74
+9 97. Gave snack in the hopes that his PMPS will be lower! He was pretty startled about getting a treat at this time and graced us all by getting up from the supine couch position he has luxuriated in most of the day in order to eat the snack. I felt honored.
 
You did the right thing by shooting. With TR you can shoot 50+. See how nicely he’s surfing? He has two more days on .25 if he stays in mostly normal numbers unless he drops under 50 before that. Then his next dose us 0.10. He’s getting close but needs a week in normal bynvers at that dose unless he tells us he’s had enough before that.
.
 
He has two more days on .25 if he stays in mostly normal numbers unless he drops under 50 before that. Then his next dose us 0.10. He’s getting close but needs a week in normal bynvers at that dose unless he tells us he’s had enough before that.
.

Thanks, Elise! @tiffmaxee I took one more reading and he is just surfing so I'll give the testing a bit of a rest. It says a lot about how you and Bhooma have helped me through this that I blithely shot at 54 after panicking at shooting under 200 in the beginning. Then at 100, lol. You guys have really steeled my nerves.

I do just want to be sure I understand. If he stays in normal numbers for the next two days, he will go to 0.1, unless he drops under 50 before then. When you say "he's getting close but needs a week in normal numbers at that dose unless he tells us he's had enough before that" do you mean he will need a week at .1 unless he goes below 50 during that time...and then he will stop insulin entirely, or...? I doubt he will go below 50, but I just want to understand so I can predict the next steps in the process.
 
Last edited:
Hi Catherine, are you still using the Libre?

From the sticky Reminder: *earning* reductions and starting OTJ trials
"OTJ TRIALS:

Prior to starting an OTJ trial, one wants to see kitty mostly in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL), but under 100 overall... with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range.

Remission is achieved when kitty can go 14 days without insulin while maintaining normal blood glucose values under 100 overall. Most will stay in the 50 - 80mg/dL range. Although, some will occasionally experience BG numbers up to 120 mg/dL."

After 3 more cycles on this dose, if Benny stays largely below 100 with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range, you would go down to 0.10U. Unless he drops below 50 in which case you would reduce in the very next cycle.

And after 7 days on 0.10U, if he stays under 100 overall, you would start the OTJ trial.
 
Hi Catherine, are you still using the Libre?

Not right now. I have one to put on, but have not done so. It seems to me that I might as well just stick with the manual meter from this point on, unless I have to start taking a lot of tests regularly? The last libre overestimated his levels. The little differences seem like they would begin to count at this point, where they might not have made a lot of difference when his bg was over 500.

After 3 more cycles on this dose, if Benny stays largely below 100 with only occasional readings in the 100 - 120 range, you would go down to 0.10U. Unless he drops below 50 in which case you would reduce in the very next cycle.

And after 7 days on 0.10U, if he stays under 100 overall, you would start the OTJ trial.

Okay, that's clarifying. I do read that sticky, but for some reason, probably because I'm nervous, I get a little fuzzy. :) Thank you.
 
Not right now. I have one to put on, but have not done so. It seems to me that I might as well just stick with the manual meter from this point on, unless I have to start taking a lot of tests regularly? The last libre overestimated his levels. The little differences seem like they would begin to count at this point, where they might not have made a lot of difference when his bg was over 500.
No, the regular meter is great. Prefer that to the Libre since the Libre does give wonky readings.
 
Back
Top