7/30-31 Fred PMPS 210, +6 378, AMPS 518, +2 482

Purrberry

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/7-28-hello-from-fred.250529/#post-2827719

I don't know what to do anymore. I've lost any and all confidence in shooting a lower number, and I know that screws things up. But, I'm amazed he stayed so "low" given the tiny token dose (tiny for Fred). All of my instincts were screaming at me NOT to give his full dose, and I listened to them this time. Likely should have at least given 3u.

Of course, he's v high this AM, but I've gotten blacks like that from bounces. He's really throwing me for a loop with these new low PMPS numbers. His number of 210 at PMPS was also food influenced, as schedules got off last night.

He's happy and purry.
 
Hi Kathleen! Likely the depot was still in effect to keep the numbers low after the BCS.

Maybe you should post when you get a PMPS that's lower than you feel comfy with and someone here will chime in and tell you "shoot low to stay low." Dunno about you but sometimes the moral support/hand holding helps me squash the fear.
 
I'm so sorry you are so stressed, Kathleen. The bouncing can be really frustrating - I know. Just know that you have my full support for whatever keeps you sane and your kitty safe.
 
someone here will chime in and tell you "shoot low to stay low." Dunno about you but sometimes the moral support/hand holding helps me squash the fear.
I've tried to be brave and adopt this, but the couple of times I've done so, I've ended up with "shoot low, go hypo". :rolleyes: Now I've had the pants scared off me. But absolutely...the moral support is invaluable. I have such fear, and if God forbid anything WERE to go really wrong, I know the guilt would crush me. Hope you are Ruby are doing well!

@Summer and Susie Thank you...you're so sweet. Looks like Susie had a really nice run yesterday. Hope you were able to get some sleep, and fingers crossed for your mom!
 
I've tried to be brave and adopt this, but the couple of times I've done so, I've ended up with "shoot low, go hypo". :rolleyes: Now I've had the pants scared off me. But absolutely...the moral support is invaluable. I have such fear, and if God forbid anything WERE to go really wrong, I know the guilt would crush me. Hope you are Ruby are doing well!
Completely understandable! It's so hard when you don't know what's going to happen. I think though that the only remedy to bouncing and steep drops is shooting those lower-than-you-would-like numbers and feeding the curve, but this is hard to do at night when you might want that thing call sleep :rolleyes:. Did you give him some food after that +6 test? That is a huge drop.
 
Hugs to you, Kathleen! You’re gonna get through this. Right now I think you need to stabilize Fred’s dose somewhere and see how he does (as long as he doesn’t hypo of course). His doses have been pretty wonky lately (understand your fears) and I think he needs a more consistent dose. Depot should be drained now, don’t you think?

ETA: I see that you really are trying to get him back on track already!!!
 
Did you give him some food after that +6 test? That is a huge drop.
I did...he got some of his dry. This is the thing with Fred...he DOES have these huge drops, which is why I panic over lower preshots. I know how the Lev can drop him.:eek:

Depot should be drained now, don’t you think?
It should be by now, what with all my crazy dosing! ;-) I think it is...Fred ended up with a big old bounce last night. That's one way for me to stay on track with his dosing..lol!
 
Back
Top