7/3 Purrcee PMPS 142+2 118 +4 79 +6 79 +8.5 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Julie + Muffin

Member Since 2013
Sorry for the 911 but need a quick answer this morning.
Purrcee had a good day yesterday. I had a question last night but no one around so I winged it which you can see in my comments yesterday.
Today I will be leaving after +1 and not returning for quite sometime. I fed him at 7:15 and just did AMPS at 9 am. 164 could be a little of the food he had about 1.75 hours ago. At 164 I feel I can proceed with feed/shoot, get a +1 and maybe a +2 (but doubtful). On my way out which will probably be around +1, leave LC for all the kids. When I get home I will be the next test just not sure when.

Please advise if this is an ok plan for today.

Thanks.
Yesterday:
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=99021&p=1058385#p1058385
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee Won't be home beyond +1 Advice

Hi Julie! I'm too new to this to advise you on dosage, but from what I've learned in the past month or so, your plan sounds ok, but I know you'd like more experienced eyes

If you Edit your post and add the 911, it'll alert the members that you need some advice QUICK

If you have a general question, add the question mark so they know your condo includes a question

Just look above the subject line for "Post icon":.....when you get your answer, you can take the 911 or ? off again

Good luck to you and Purrcee
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 Won't be home beyond +1 Advice

thanks Chris...China is lovely. Today I'm in a hurry so will do a 911 but if inappropriate someone please tell me.
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 Won't be home beyond +1 Advice

I think yo're fine to shoot. Just get your out the door test and leave plenty of food out.
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 Won't be home beyond +1 Advice

Thanks Sienna! I'm not yet "qualified" to advise others, so appreciate your more experienced eyes taking a look
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194

leaving LC food for the kids and then out the door. Kind of glad he is a bit high but worried he may go low when I'm not here. What's a girl to do!
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47

Purrcee really low and below that 50 mark. Please advise what to do? Thanks.
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47

Just try some LC food and test in 30?
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47

I was going to say to try LC since it's so late in the cycle. Congratulations on the dosecrease :cool:
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47

I have read the info on Handling Low Numbers...but am I not suppose to post and ask for help? Still don't feel comfortable just reading something and going forward. Please let me know.

I fed about 2 tsp of HC gravy.
30 minute retest 82
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82

Great job catching that 47 Julie. Purrcee is doing really well and so are you! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Congrats on the dose reduction.

It depends on your comfort level when you ask for help. Most people do the first few times their cat goes low. The first few times can been nerve wracking and it's good to have someone walk you through. My first few times no one was on, so did it on my own, but I'd read a lot of condos of other people who had gone through it already.
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82

Thanks Wendy
Did I miss something on the dose decrease? I can't find anything suggesting that on here???
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82

It's part of the tight regulation protocol. That 47 you got today earns Purrcee an automatic 0.25U reduction in dose.

Reducing the dose:
•If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
•If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
•Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82 dose decreas

From the Tight Regulation Protocol Sticky:
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.
SInce Purrcee is a newly diagnosed diabetic, he earned a deduction today. His new dose is 1.0U.

If Purrcee is very high by PMPS (over 300) you have the option of doing what we call "shooting through the bounce". That means shooting the old higher dose once only, to help him get through the bounce. You'd then shoot the new dose in the morning. If he isn't high by PMPS, then shoot the new dose.
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82 dose decreas

Julia --

I wasn't implying that you shouldn't ask for help. There are times when people aren't around and I wanted to be sure you had the tools you need handy.
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82 dose decreas

Since the new server changeover, the message board has been wonky, giving SQl errors, losing the connection, not delivering PM's, not delivering email notifications for posts that have been subscribed to.

Because of those types of incidents, I think it would be a good idea to print out that post on handling low numbers, just in case the board is unavailable. Sort of like the boy Scouts, we want you to be prepared.

We are more than happy to walk you through the low numbers because it can be really scary and stressful the first few times.

There is also a Facebook group for the Feline Diabetes group. https://www.facebook.com/pages/FDMB-the-Feline-Diabetes-Message-Board/202644379634 for emergencies in case the message board is down.
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82 dose decreas

Thanks Deb. I have been printing out things as they happen but not retaining as much as I would like.
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82 dose decreas

Julie + Purrcee said:
Thanks Deb. I have been printing out things as they happen but not retaining as much as I would like.

Julie,
I've read the sticky threads and the protocol a hundred times in the past year. I still open them up when I'm not sure!

Yes, dropping below 50 means Purrcee gets a reduction in dose by .25u. Congrats!!!

You should always ask for help if you need it. Like Sienne said, though...sometimes there may not be people who are familiar with you and Purrcee's story, or the board might not be working quite right for some folks, or like this weekend, a lot of people might not be around as often or as regularly. So it's a good idea to at least be aware that the various sticky threads are there for you to look over when you need a quick answer and nobody is around to see your questions.

You and Purrcee are doing terrific with all of this!
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82 dose decreas

Julie + Purrcee said:
Thanks Deb. I have been printing out things as they happen but not retaining as much as I would like.

I equate learning everything in this new sugardance as a crash course, college masters degree level in feline diabetes management. Grading is pass/fail and everyone passes. :mrgreen: You will get the hang of this in a bit. Don't worry, we are here to help you with your questions.

This is HARD! Remember to do those deep breathing exercises. They helped to calm me down a lot at the beginning of this sugardance with Wink. ;-) ;-)
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82 dose decreas

Thanks Deb and Carl
I don't think I have ever been as stressed out over something with one of my kids as this. It's a guilt trip too...feeling like you are inflicting pain but doing the best for him. Sometimes it's the cure that's worse than the disease feeling. Carl I will have to read and reread the stickys more often.
Purrcee's reduction is great and I hope it holds. PMPS AROUND 8:45 so hopefully below 300 to activate the reduction.

Thanks for always being there when the going gets tough!
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82 dose decreas

One of the cats steppd on my keyboard and the print is so tiny I can't
Code:
[*][url]
Not sure if you can ready it either.  
Have no idea how to change to bigger font.
[/url]
read it.[youtube]
Code:
[list][list=][*][img][url][size=150][/size][/url][/img][/list][/list]
[/youtube]
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82 dose decreas

That's strange because what you just posted is in huge font. Is everything on the screen tiny at your end?
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82 dose decreas

This was weird. I just hit control 0 and it came back to normal but it just may be a coincidence? I was just going to go through all the control keys and pray it did something.
I can see the post where it is really big but on my end it was really tiny. Hopefully okay now!
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee PMPS 142 dose decrease

First shot with 1.0 (rather than 1.25).
Today:
AMPS 164 +1.5 191 +7.5 47 +8 82
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee PMPS 142 dose decrease +1 163

This is Purrcee's first dose reduction. What kind of tests should I get tonight? Or will it have more of an affect tomorrow at AMPS and after?

Thanks.
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee PMPS 142 dose decrease +1 163

Congrats on the reduction.

The depot can affect up to six subsequent cycles so you might see some lower numbers tonight.

For tests tonight, I'd get a +2. If that test is similar to or much less than the preshot,it's likely to be an active cycle. In that case, I'd get a +4 or if he drops early by quite a bit, I'd get a +3. You can go from there depending on where he is.
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee PMPS 142+2 118 +4 79 +6 79

Looking pretty good. Going to feed a little because they are all hungry and I keep getting up to test so can't ignore it!
 
Re: 7/3 Purrcee AMPS 164 +1.5 194 +7.5 47 +8 82 dose decreas

Julie + Purrcee said:
This was weird. I just hit control 0 and it came back to normal but it just may be a coincidence? I was just going to go through all the control keys and pray it did something.
I can see the post where it is really big but on my end it was really tiny. Hopefully okay now!

Okay, that makes sense. If you hold down the control key and hit "-" you can reduce the zoom, and if you hit "+" instead, you can increase zoom. I guess control and 0 is the quick reset back to 100%. I'm guessing kitty had one paw on the control key and one paw on the "-" key.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top