7/3 Philly AMPS 236, +2 106 enlarged heart

Beck and Philly

Member Since 2018
Previous

Not good news at vet visit today. X-rays show enlarged heart (valentine heart). Echo scheduled for Monday. Also a "drop in hock" in rear suggesting neuropathy.

This just keeps getting scarier, and with him not eating enough wet what can I feed him that's safe for his heart?

The vet looked at his spreadsheet and said to reduce only if he drops below 60, so I will be modifying SLGS.
 
Oh Beck, I’m so sorry. If her kidneys are good which I’m suspecting they are there are medications that will help. You won’t need to worry about food provided kidneys are good. One step at a time. See what the echo shows.
 
Nice slide down already. Wish you luck on the echo. My Smokey had enlarged heart and a heart attack 6 months prior we didn't know about. He was put on "cocktail" of meds. He was 18 yrs old. Cardiologist was so surprised how well he improved at his 6 month check up.
 
Nice slide down already. Wish you luck on the echo. My Smokey had enlarged heart and a heart attack 6 months prior we didn't know about. He was put on "cocktail" of meds. He was 18 yrs old. Cardiologist was so surprised how well he improved at his 6 month check up.
Wow. That's encouraging. Any advice very much appreciated. I'll know more Monday. Thanks!
 
Sorry to hear about the cardiomegaly. Were there any other symptoms? Frankly, being on the right combination of heart meds can do wonders! Did the vet get a blood pressure?

With SLGS you would be reducing the dose if numbers fall below 90 unless you had modified the reduction point.
 
Sorry to hear about the cardiomegaly. Were there any other symptoms? Frankly, being on the right combination of heart meds can do wonders! Did the vet get a blood pressure?

With SLGS you would be reducing the dose if numbers fall below 90 unless you had modified the reduction point.
I noticed that he was breathing more shallowly and more often than normal so I counted his respiration. It was often over 40 when resting. He has had reduced motor control over his back end since he had distemper 6 years ago, but it is more pronounced. I took video and sent to my vet who is also a Facebook friend.

Yes, I realize SLGS reductions are at 90 and I've been following that since he eats dry food. My vet wants me to start taking reductions at 60 instead. I test often and would be doing TR if not for the dry. I have read in the stickies that SLGS is flexible, so I updated my signature to modified SLGS.
 
Sorry about Philly's heart. :bighug: I'm glad you managed to get an echo appointment quickly. Getting on the right meds made a big difference for Neko too. You'll have to see what's up with his heart before finding out if you need to modify food. Sometimes it's low salt.
 
Back
Top