7/3 Oberon AMPS 387 (0.5 R), +4 341, +8 332, PMPS 370 (0.5 R), +4 231, +5.5 192

What’s up with Oberon? He is running so high. I hope that he will settle in to the six units and go lower. I thought those antibodies were supposed to go away after six months? Sorry he’s not cooperating. :bighug:
 
What’s up with Oberon? He is running so high. I hope that he will settle in to the six units and go lower. I thought those antibodies were supposed to go away after six months? Sorry he’s not cooperating. :bighug:

He did a dose dive at the beginning of June but then we had to put him on an even lower vacation dose while I was gone for a couple of days. Looks like the antibodies (or glucose toxicity, or something) grabbed hold again when we did that. If he follows his usual pattern, we'll have to take him back up to 10 U or so before we hit a breakthrough dose and he dives back down. But last time he came down, he plateaued for a couple of weeks at 6.5 U before diving again, so I'm hoping that maybe 6.5 is the new max we have to hit. This is our fourth time up the hill. Each time I hope that the next dive will be permanent, but he's like Lucy with the football...

The other thing we need to do is definitively rule out acromegaly. When he was tested initially we did it a little too early, so we finally got around to repeating it this week. Hoping for results at the end of next week, depending on when the sample gets to MSU. I've been wondering if these ups and downs could also be because of pituitary tumor fluctuations, rather than antibody variation. Meanwhile, all I can do is follow his numbers, which means ramping up the dose right now as fast as I can safely do it. At least it gives us a bit of a testing break for a while. Still doing every 4 hours or so because I don't trust him, but that's not bad.
 
He did a dose dive at the beginning of June but then we had to put him on an even lower vacation dose while I was gone for a couple of days. Looks like the antibodies (or glucose toxicity, or something) grabbed hold again when we did that. If he follows his usual pattern, we'll have to take him back up to 10 U or so before we hit a breakthrough dose and he dives back down. But last time he came down, he plateaued for a couple of weeks at 6.5 U before diving again, so I'm hoping that maybe 6.5 is the new max we have to hit. This is our fourth time up the hill. Each time I hope that the next dive will be permanent, but he's like Lucy with the football...

The other thing we need to do is definitively rule out acromegaly. When he was tested initially we did it a little too early, so we finally got around to repeating it this week. Hoping for results at the end of next week, depending on when the sample gets to MSU. I've been wondering if these ups and downs could also be because of pituitary tumor fluctuations, rather than antibody variation. Meanwhile, all I can do is follow his numbers, which means ramping up the dose right now as fast as I can safely do it. At least it gives us a bit of a testing break for a while. Still doing every 4 hours or so because I don't trust him, but that's not bad.
Oh gosh, Lisa. You hit upon all of the points that I wanted to ask you about, but I was afraid of being too bossy or offending. I wanted to ask if you thought the vacation dose had thrown him off track and I wanted to ask about the acromegaly. I know that MSU does the tests on Wednesdays so you may get the results early next week. I am behind you and Oberon all the way!
 
Oh gosh, Lisa. You hit upon all of the points that I wanted to ask you about, but I was afraid of being too bossy or offending. I wanted to ask if you thought the vacation dose had thrown him off track and I wanted to ask about the acromegaly. I know that MSU does the tests on Wednesdays so you may get the results early next week. I am behind you and Oberon all the way!

He seems to do this every time, so I don't know whether it was the vacation dose that did it exactly. But as he comes down eventually he gets to a point where I reduce more or faster than he needs because I'm being overly cautious, and then he ramps right back up again. I was hoping this time to be a little less quick to take reductions, but my trip threw a wrench into that. (Alternatively, it could just be that he's always going to go back up no matter what, and my dosing really has nothing to do with it.)

I like the analogy of Sisyphus. Always pushing that ball up the hill.:rolleyes: I seem to remember Oberon's IAA number was fairly high, quite a bit higher than Neko.

One last cycle Oberon, show us you don't want the increase.

IAA was 83% (normal <20%). What was Neko's? IGF-1 in Sept was 47 (normal 12-92). Fingers crossed it's still normal. The vet noted that his jaw looked maybe very slightly enlarged, but his teeth spacing looked ok and he doesn't show any other possible signs of acro.

I was so close to just jumping ahead to the increase tonight... had to put my patience pants on and stick with the program.
 
Neko was IAA 52%. I've heard over 80 considered "extreme". Black Kitty was another high scorer.

Neko never had the teeth spacing issue. jaw not really enlarged ever, but lots of soft tissue changes in the mouth in year 5 of FD. Symptoms vary a lot by acrocat. Not saying I suspect it, just that you can't always tell by what you see, or don't.
 
Neko was IAA 52%. I've heard over 80 considered "extreme". Black Kitty was another high scorer.

Neko never had the teeth spacing issue. jaw not really enlarged ever, but lots of soft tissue changes in the mouth in year 5 of FD. Symptoms vary a lot by acrocat. Not saying I suspect it, just that you can't always tell by what you see, or don't.

Got it. And the vet wasn't trying to suggest anything one way or another either. We'll just have to wait for the test result. (Those patience pants again!) Really the thing that makes me wonder about acro the most is the fluctuation of his dose over months (not the short term BG dives and bounces). What I've read about IAA seems to suggest that antibodies stay high for months, then gradually fade and that's it. None of this roller coaster stuff. But maybe I'm not getting the full story. Do other IAA-only kitties have these ups and downs? I think Black Kitty might have, but it's been a while since I looked at that SS.
 
Back
Top