7/3 Emma AMPS 373 dosecrease +3.25 158 +4 181, +5 179

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kristen & Emma (GA)

Member Since 2010
So this morning's AMPS is 373, and it's been a full 7 days of her being on insulin now. I've been hesitant to think about increasing the dose, as my vet wanted her to stay on the 0.5U BID for two weeks and then have me do a curve, but I'm thinking I should bump it up a little. She's been really hungry, and is back to drinking more water than she was the first few days. And this is a long weekend for me, so I can be around to do more testing than I will be next weekend.

So, if I read it correctly, the protocol says to increase the dose by 0.25 to 0.5U depending on whether she's on a low dose or a high dose. So my plan is to bump her to 0.75U this morning and see how it goes. I know I read that some cats respond with a higher BG, so I won't freak out if I see that. :smile:
 
Re: 7/3 Emma AMPS 373 dosecrease

Housekeeping note - remember yesterday's condo: Emma's 7/2 Condo

When I was looking at your SS yesterday, I was thinking about suggesting a dosecrease but wanted to see what the PM cycle looked like. Good reading of the protocol. I think Emma was due to have her dose increased especially if you're seeing some symptoms. Try to get a ketone test when you can just as a precaution. I always feel better when I get one from Gabby.
 
Re: 7/3 Emma AMPS 373 dosecrease +3.25 158

sorry about forgetting yesterday's condo...that's my morning brain still recovering from last night's nyquil. So far so good.. 158 @ +3.25. I'll get some ketone stix when I'm out a little later. Thanks for the assistance!
 
Re: 7/3 Emma AMPS 373 dosecrease

Great to see Emma in the blue. That's more than a 50% drop in 3+ hours. Please get another test in about an hour or so. At this rate, Emma could see some green. Also, I'd give her a LC snack to see if she'll surf a bit.
 
Re: 7/3 Emma AMPS 373 dosecrease

Morning Kristen & Emma...just stopping in to say hello! Nice Blue for Emma...looking GREAT!!! :mrgreen:
 
Yellow-smelloo! You did great getting the numbers in Kristen - besides, it's only the first shot this morning of new dose
Smooth vines for PMPS!
cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 7/3 Emma AMPS 373 dosecrease +3.25 158 +5 179 PMPS 356

Thanks Ronnie! Well, she popped right back up over 300 by +10, and was just at 356 for her PMPS. I gave her another 0.75 tonight and I'll try to get a +4 or +5 reading, if I can stay awake!

Unfortunately, I have underestimated how many test strips I'd be using, and will probably run out tomorrow, long before the next package I bought from someone on eBay arrives on Tuesday. :sad: That means a trip to the local Walgreens to pay a lot more for them! I bought some ketone test sticks today and will try to follow her around a bit - she's pretty sneaky though, and I often have a hard time catching her before she uses her box. It's in the basement, and somehow she gets through her kitty door very quietly when I'm not paying attention.

On a good note, she is not minding the testing at all at this point. She actually purrs when I sit with her on the couch to do it, and doesn't jump up to run away when it's done. That's pretty unusual for her - by the time I'm done with her sub-Qs she's pretty annoyed and runs under the piano to get away from me.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top