7/3 Allie AMPS 240/+4 233

Breelynne

Member Since 2023
7/2

I will hold the dose until after the 4th and see what happens. With all the fireworks we should all be watching what happens to their blood sugar.

Forgot to put in the numbers. Looks like we are headed up again.
 
Last edited:
I expect she's still bouncing from yesterday's lovely 117.:rolleyes: As for a cat's reaction to fireworks, it's ECID. Made no difference to Neko's BG, but I had to haul her out from under a bed to test her.

Commenting on your post from Xena's thread yesterday:
I had the same issue with my vet but he came around. Think he is giving me a heads up that once she reaches her units=to body weight he may change his mind. I send him a copy of her spreadsheet
You do know there is no reason that the vet needs to wait for a units=body weight before testing for certain conditions. That's old school thinking - very common in vets of a certain age. Neko's max dose was 8.75 units, her weight was 14lbs, her vet thought she needed to get to 10 units before testing for IAA and acromegaly. Neko never got there and tested positive for both. The Royal Vet Clinic 2015 study that showed that about 1 in 4 diabetic cats has acromegaly found some on as little as 1 unit, with an average of 7 units. We had an acro here on 4 units, and for most of her diabetic life, Neko was around 3 units or less.
 
I expect she's still bouncing from yesterday's lovely 117.:rolleyes: As for a cat's reaction to fireworks, it's ECID. Made no difference to Neko's BG, but I had to haul her out from under a bed to test her.

Commenting on your post from Xena's thread yesterday:

You do know there is no reason that the vet needs to wait for a units=body weight before testing for certain conditions. That's old school thinking - very common in vets of a certain age. Neko's max dose was 8.75 units, her weight was 14lbs, her vet thought she needed to get to 10 units before testing for IAA and acromegaly. Neko never got there and tested positive for both. The Royal Vet Clinic 2015 study that showed that about 1 in 4 diabetic cats has acromegaly found some on as little as 1 unit, with an average of 7 units. We had an acro here on 4 units, and for most of her diabetic life, Neko was around 3 units or less.
I thought she maybe bouncing still ....Anything to watch for? Maybe some lower numbers tomorrow?

Well I emailed the vet her numbers and dosage and have yet to hear back from him. Maybe after the 4th I should make some calls to some other resources for a better vet. I'll have the time, thank goodness but then I have a few catch up appointments for me. Allie is 13lbs right now up from her 12.1 but under her 14.1 at diagnosis. She is doing great but hisses at Cassie which I wish she would stop doing. They never got along but have always coexisted, but now she just can be a witch, not sure why? Allie has started stealing Cassies favorite bed too. They have like 16 beds between them in the house!
 
She does seem to be coming back to blues every other day, so here's hoping she does it again tomorrow.
 
She does seem to be coming back to blues every other day, so here's hoping she does it again tomorrow.
:( I'll post her numbers but not happening. I fed the cats and gave Allie her shot and went back to bed so it is catch up day, doing some housework.
 
Back
Top