? 7/3/2015 NORMAN amps 295 +6 256 PMPS 110 +2 83

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindywith4cutecats

Member Since 2014
ok Norman is doing great today. He is being a brat as far food goes though, he is refusing Wellness core and only wants EVO 95% chicken. He has been getting 2 units and we had a little bounce yesterday but this BG of 110 pre shot, little concerned on giving 2 units . What do you think, reduce by .25 ??? I have shot low numbers before but not this low at this dose of 2 units. If you look at his SS at the start I was using a alphatack meter , I use a human meter now ....so I am confused and need some guidance

previous condo http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...ht-pmps-260-4-260-7-128-amps-167-dose.140345/
 
If you've got plenty of supplies like strips and high carb food, and can test tonight as much as necessary, I'd shoot the 2U and make sure to get a +1 and +2

Maybe he's finally getting to that "good dose" that'll start sending him down the dose ladder instead of up!
 
my only concern has been that he is refusing the 4% carb food and is now on 2%. I am inclined to shoot the 2 units and I do have plenty of strips and I am home with plenty of HC food for emergency. 110 at preshot is not all the bad considering he went a long time without eating today, the EVO is holding him longer than the FF classice and the lower end cat foods he was eating before. SO I know that if I give him little bits of his low carb food I can coast him if I need to. I just don't want to see him climb back up .
 
I too would shoot a 110 full dose. He is on Levemir so you often will get lower preshots. Some Lev cats, like my Neko, will have her nadir sometimes at preshot. Good luck. Here's hoping for a nice flat surf tonight.
 
just shot the 2 units. I hate to see him bounce back up out of control. As I looked back through my SS I shot 2 units at low numbers before I just didn't know it cause I was using Alphatrack meter at that time lol...I have 200 strips, plenty of pickers and just sent hubby to get a wide variety of the gravy lovers FF for just in case. I know on his own without insulin he does well in the high end of the 50s so we still have room. He just didn't eat good today, he snubbed the wellness core and I just thought he wasn't hungry ....
 
My bad - still, Lantus cycles are flatter when you shoot lower too. It seems he often has a later nadir, that's why I thought Lev. Might be worth putting the insulin type in your signature.
 
He is strange this time on Lantus. My Nadirs use to be early in the cycle and now they are much much later in the cycle. Cats never play by the rules but I am so happy to see him in the blues . I was getting so discouraged . Like I said I am not afraid to shoot low cuz I was doing it the past but didn't realize I was lol. and yes I will get his insulin type in my signature now
 
If you are able to monitor, shooting at this number is probably the best decision. It is the "shoot low to stay low" thought. I know with my kitty that if I can keep him low and surfing, he doesn't get the dreaded bounce so bad. Good luck tonight!
 
I think we already cleared a small bounce so I am hopeful. I just love seeing the blue numbers and green ones tooo...so much happier and he's happy to
 
plus 2 hours and we are at 83...now I am a little concerned ...trying some wellness core since its a little higher in carbs on him instead of the Evo which is lower carbs..hes hungry again so we shall test and coast all night..he is eating the CORE
 
It might help him surf if you just dole out 2 teaspoons of his low carb food every hour or so. Often that's enough to help a kitty stay green and flat.

I think of a lower preshot as "WOOHOO FINALLY!!! the kitty's making progress!" Good job on shooting tonight!
 
I was scared to shoot but I knew it had to be done . Following the protocol exact this time and not being as afraid as I was the first time. The first time it was so hard cause I was using that darn alphatrack meter....and yes we are giving small amounts of his food every 2 hours and testing to make sure we can surf thru the night safe and sound. He just throws me a curve ball cause his nadirs have been happening late in the cycle..but he is good so far. +4 (which he had a tablespoon of his LC food exactly 2 hours earlier ) was BG 91 so we will go surfing Norman style
 
I just have to keep reminding myself that off insulin he would give bg's of 57 and was totally fine lol. He is doing great , he loves the extra attention he is getting tonight.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top