7/29 Tomcat PMPS 108, +1=154

Status
Not open for further replies.

tomtom13

Member Since 2013
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=100994

afternoon all

well...here we go again. Having to stall/delay. Because yesterday was such a fiasco...waiting 6.5 hrs to get him to rise....I decided to try a new plan today. I went ahead and fed him some LC and was going to wait an hour and half and see what the number was. yesterday I did not feed and he puked from hunger, plus it got me no where. tom is not a food spiker at all....so I thought at least this way I can halt the upset gut. he has an appetite thankfully.

So I retested 45 mins later and he was 49. I immediately go to the cabinet to grab the gravy and my DH says: "don't you dare give him sugar!!!!!!....This is what you want Kelly!!!....just go ahead and feed him a little LC." ha. so I did.

and so we sit. at +13.5 AGAIN

well, I know I am not supposed to wait....but like you all say: know your cat (okay that isn't right, but I can't think of it right now)

Since he isn't a food spiker...and he is at 49......I can't give him insulin.

I will just keep checking and find a number I feel safe with.......like a 90 would be okay.

okay here is the question after all this venting

DO I SHOOT A REDUCED DOSE AGAIN GIVEN HIS 49?

I just reduced this current cycle...so I am assuming no.

advice?

I am, of course, home all day to monitor.

Thanks all


~kelly
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +5.5=93 +12=54, +13=49 DOSE

I'm not the most experienced by a long shot, but I followed yesterday's condo too. Since he hasn't had any insulin for +12 hrs, I think I'd tend to stick to small amounts of LC food and keep testing. You don't want to give a lot of food, in case he continues to drop and you DO need to get some MC or HC into him, he might not be hungry enough to eat it willingly.

I wouldn't shoot either at that number!

I'm sure more experienced eyes will be along soon to help

The protocol says to hold at current dose for 6-10 cycles, but he went below 50 again, and that usually earns another reduction, so you may be looking at another reduction even this soon!
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +12=54, +13=49 +14=54 DOSE?

Kelly

Since you just reduced him last night, I think you are still looking at depot with this number. And it looks like he might have had a small and short duration bounce up into blue. There is really no difference between a 49 and 54 and I know you haven't shot anywhere near this low yet.

If you are worried he will go really low today because of the depot and you can't be there to monitor, you can skip a shot to drain his depot and then start shooting the 3.25u tonight. Or, if you can afford to be way off schedule and get back slowly, you can shoot when he gets a rise that you are comfortable with but I'd hold the dose.

DH is a smart man!!!! From Dealing with Low PS, if you get a number in the 40s, you should retest in 15 mins and if they are still in the 40s, give 1 tsp LC and then retest 20-30 mins later and shoot the rise.
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +12=54, +13=49 +14=54 DOSE?

thanks you two for the help!


Chris said:

I wouldn't shoot either at that number!

oh I am so glad...I feel like such a weak CG! I know I am supposed to shoot practically any number...but geez....really?!!! It is so nice to know I am not the only one!!

Marje said:

Or, if you can afford to be way off schedule and get back slowly, you can shoot when he gets a rise that you are comfortable with but I'd hold the dose
.


yes, that was my plan. hold current dose of 3.25....shoot the rise. as far as getting back to my schedule....well, I am practically there already....fast forward. I usually have a 330 shot time.....so I am only off 1.5 hrs right now FORWARD. I assume I can "delay" shot time 15 min...to get back to schedule.


Marje: do you think he even earned his latest reduction? I am even worried about that one!!! ha


thanks again all!!!

~kelly
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +12=54, +13=49 +14=54

Kelly

Yes you can delay it 15 more minutes to get back on your original schedule.

When they start down the dosing scale fast like this, sometimes you have to be flexible and don't get too caught up in the protocol. Think Bob/Dara. I've always thought it's important to listen to the depot as well as look at the meter. In other words, if you are having to work hard to keep his numbers up, then I'd reduce. I know that no one wants to reduce and then have them stall out. Been there done that. But one of the best pieces of advice I ever got was "don't get attached to a dose". So if you reduce and it doesn't work, go back up. If he needs a few more cycles at a higher dose, so be it. He's healing....just let him continue to do that. If you think the depot is getting ahead of you, reduce.

I think it was on your condo that I said that I don't let the number that I "think" might have happened make my decision for me. I decide based on what the depot is doing. If I "think" she might have gone low but her subsequent numbers and the depot don't indicate it (e.g. nadirs stay in the 50-80 range with no special food management), I don't reduce. But if I think she might have gone low and the next cycle she is just relentless on not coming up from 40s (even if she doesn't actually "earn" a reduction), I shave. This example pertains to Gracie alone and is just an example. you have to get your own sense of Tom's depot and when he might need a reduction even though you didn't get a number below 50.
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +12=54, +13=49 +14=54

Wow Kelly, you do such a great job with Tom!

I wish I could be home all day with Nikki right now. She seems to have decided to come down the scale super fast and since I'm not home all day I'm left guessing at the right dose for her for today. It sure is stressful!

Good luck with the reducie!
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +12=54, +13=49 +16=+48

THANKS Nikki's mom!!

I feel so badly for those of you that can't monitor around the clock! That would be the most difficult part of all. you have to hand it to those folks!! Wonder what the cat will do all day.....is kitty hungry? then decide the dose.....shoot the cat.....cross your fingers....grab your keys and head for work.....worrying all day if kitty is okay or not? I hate leaving just to go to the store lately.....

Nikki is doing great too!!! wow :razz: ..on that 85 shot this morning!! that is hard!! you have the BOS award for today.....

unlike me! :sad:

well, I have just been sitting here all afternoon ......poking, feeding...poking...nothing. he is still 48 at hour 16! he has had OVER a can of food.......I guess I just continue to poke and wait.

he had one heck of a depot I guess! I figured that was drained yesterday given his over 6 hour delay and with the reduction this morning...or last night? anyway the current cycle is a reduction....

I am now back to my original shot time! that didn't take long. of course...will be past that given his numbers aren't moving. I have a feeling I am in for one hell of a bounce.....
:roll:
thanks for looking in

~kelly
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +12=54, +13=49 +16=+48

I'd just call it a day and skip and then just shoot at what time would be your normal time at the next shot. It might be good to let his depot drain. That way you can feed, take some time off.

What do you think?
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +12=54, +13=49 +16=+48

well.....I am at my current shot time now! and he has ate....he has ate over a can of LC. so he is happy.

if I skip, then I would have to wait an additional 12 hours from now....that is a lot of insulin depot draining time.

a lot of healing time wasted!

I don't have a problem continuing to wait it out........he will surely rise SOON!!

that depot isn't that potent is it? is this what this is from....the low 50's for 4 hours at the end of the cycle? all depot?

as I said before.....shot times are very flexible around here.

I just want what is best for Tom.

given his low figures all day.........was I right to not shoot? or if I would have shot...then the insulin would have been doing the depot job and I would have most likely just stayed level all day anyway?

also: does he have a very very late nadir lately and hold it for hours? and why does that insulin kick in so quickly too!!?

oh.....ugr! so confusing......

but, I realize these are good problems to be dealing with!

~Kelly

okay at +17= I have a 79. he is on the rise. he had just a few bites of LC an hour ago. I am probably okay to shoot now? I will give in another 20 mins. if higher...I will shoot.

well 30 mins. later he is 70 :?:

thanks all
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, 17.

Again, just my opinion, but the 79 and 70 are within the normal variance, (so basically the same number). I'd wait and retest in 30...I'd want to make sure he was really heading up before I gave any insulin or you might end up with a very busy night of testing and worrying!
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, 17.

thanks chris:

that is what I am going to do. I just knew he would be higher!!

so strange to be sitting here all day waiting for a high number ;-) , that isn't how this is supposed to work!

I wish he would climb...so I can give that shot and get it over with!! again......that isn't how this is supposed to work!!


thanks for your input again...I appreciate it so much

kelly
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, 17.

I'd LOVE for China to have those numbers! Her's seem to make no sense whatsoever...Maybe Tomcat is on a mission to knock the insulin off completely!....There's always a chance!
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, 17.

This thread is always so informative!! Tomcat is really making you dig into the details of how best to handle low numbers and a lot of good information is being shared. Thank goodness you have a flexible schedule as far as his shots go. I hope you're fitting in some sleep somewhere too . . . I will see you around later if Papaya decides she's done with this bounce in a hurry!! pc_work
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, 17.

What a show-off Tom is being!!!! Wow! Bob's been there - take a look at my day yesterday and last Wed. Egad! Bob was in the 40's ALL DAY! I understand the stress. But you are doing such a good job! Idon't understand half of what you are talking about....
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat PMPS 132, +4=85, +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, 17.

AMY SAID:

This thread is always so informative!! Tomcat is really making you dig into the details of how best to handle low numbers and a lot of good information is being shared

YES, AMY AGREED. now if only I had SOME REALLY REALLY REALLY BOS.....I would follow what I read!!! yikes :shock:


hey, dara

what is Bob like today? I have been looking

Idon't understand half of what you are talking about

said Dara

well, I don't either!!! ;-) :?:


confused in fog land

~kelly
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, 17.5=70, +18.5=93 SH

WE HAVE BEEN ON THE SLLLLOOOOWWWW RISE FOR 2 HOURS.

non food influenced

what do you all think?


shoot? :shock: :shock: :shock:

OKAY SCRATCH THAT

I was going to shoot ...so I fed him...and then tested and he has dropped to 84

still okay to shoot?

insulin ready...3.25?
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, +18.5=93, +19=84SHOO

or should I get 2 rising numbers?


sorry to be such a pain....freakin a little....

never shot a 84 before after such a low low low day :shock:
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, +18.5=93, +19=84SHOO

I think you'd be playing with fire to shoot a dropping number, especially with food on board.

I still think you should take Marje's advice and just skip tonight....let the depot drain a bit..It shouldn't empty overnight. If it takes a week to build up the depot, I just don't see it emptying that quickly
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, +18.5=93, +19=84SHOO

I think Marje's advice sounds good, too. These numbers are still pretty low so you don't have to worry that they're hurting him any. Was the shot that you're counting +19 from now at the time that you would prefer to be shooting? If not now is a great time to get back to whatever time is your favorite, if you just skip until that time comes around.
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, +18.5=93, +19=84SHOO

I think if this can be your new shot time and he hasn't had food for awhile, you can shoot. It could be a long night.

Yes...the depot an affect longer than this but I understand your concern. You just need to be vigilant as you normally are . Pls get a +1 and +2. I can't be here though for those tests but others are around. Just be sure you are ok if you don't get an immediate response.
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, +18.5=93, +19=84SHOO

okay...I don't like that playing with fire bit!!

since I have been waiting all damn day....what is another few hours right??!!!

jeez......

he isn't a food spiker...so if I have a much higher number in like an hour and half...then am I good do you think?


i can't wait until next shot time as that would be......9 more hours from now.

he has already almost had an entire day "skipped" as is....not that I have been able to enjoy this skipped shot!
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, +18.5=93, +19=84SHOO

okay...sorry my posts are so slow....I have satellite internet and I keep having to re log in every time...so I have all these lovely responses before I even get another freak out!!

okay...well I was gonna shoot the 90 or whatever....so I fed him ...just to see if he was going to eat good...which he did....so I tested to get a correct PMPS number and it had dropped

so long story short

he has already eaten

given this.....I will delay and test in......? that is the question. how long does it take food to not effect the numbers?

he isn't a food spiker...so I think an hour and half is good?

thanks
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, +18.5=93, +19=84SHOO

Kelly

My 1st suggestion to skip was to drain the depot. If it has been more than 12 hours since his last shot, then you can shoot if that is the decision you want to make.

It's good to know he doesn't get a food spike so if you feel more comfortable with him rising more, I understand that, too.
It's your call since you are the one that has to deal with potentially low numbers.
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, +18.5=93, +19=84SHOO

alright everyone....thanks again

I just need to calm down and relax and realize I have one of the GOOD PROBLEMS in life right now
:-D
okay.....draining the depot for 12 hours...would be 11:30 p.m. tonight....4.5 hours from now.

he basically has already had a skipped shot today....I don't want to skip another. his last shot was 19.5 hrs ago.

I was hoping to get back on my schedule that I like....which I have passed AGAIN.

I think I will just play it by ear......I will know when I feel safe. I would like to not stall until 11:30 tonight again...that isn't the most ideal shot times.....

but....if that is when he tells me he needs a booster shot....then so be it

okay I am good. now off you all go and enjoy the evening with your own cats! or help some other scared Newbie who has real problems

thanks all

~kelly
 
Re: 7/28 Tomcat +13=49 +16=+48, +17=79, +18.5=93, +19=84

Hey Kelly! I'm joining the Stall Club for a little while anyway. Not feeding 1 cat is bad...Not feeding anyone is dangerous to my health. I think they're looking way too lovingly at my ankles!!

Maybe we should start a pot of coffee....could be a long night

Good going with Tomcat so far. I'm sure you feel like I do. You don't want to backslide, but knowing exactly when to shoot can be a pretty tough decision sometimes
 
TALK ABOUT A DEPOT!!

okay, well I finally did it!! I shot the cat! I shot the cat 8.5 hrs. late....but I did it!!
;-)
did you all hear that noise? yes, that was my SIGH OF RELIEF when I got that 154 at plus 1.
;-)
isn't that awful??? so awful.

I don't have a clue what I am supposed to learn from this today........so I don't do it again tomorrow.....I have collected the data...but have no clue what it is telling me?

is it telling me I should have shot hours ago? and if so ...at what hour?

well...maybe after i have time to relax, i can gain something from it :?: :idea:

tom almost had a 12 hr. skipped shot. but instead of skipping the shot so i could spend time with family or spend a stress-free night out with DH or gone to a concert.......actually milked the most out the freedom and non-stress of a skipped shot~~~~~i sat here all day poking the cat every 30 mins!! waiting and worrying for that infamous rise......don't want to miss it!!
:-x
okay...well....thanks again all.....til next time right?

i hope all is healthy and safe tonight

~Kelly and depot-less Tom
 
Wow - I'm going to have to print and study this post.....this stalling thing is confusing. I guess we all have our thang! Mine is finding food for Mr. Picky Pants.

I hope tomorrow is an easier day for you!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top