7/29 - Tip - AMPS(386); Dosing question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cindy & Pets

Member Since 2012
7/28 condo

AMPS - 386
+4 - 483(tested at 486, 481 to make sure it wasn't bogus reading)

I can't figure out why she'd jump that high? I don't think Tip got in to anything. I wish I could've gotten a +2, I had plans on a full curve today, but I slept through my alarm to get me back up for it. I am feeling a bit better today though.
 
Re: 7/29 - Tip - AMPS(386);

Did a +6 and it came out as Hi and then 484. ): I'm wondering if it's my meter that's gone wrong?
 
Re: 7/29 - Tip - AMPS(386);

Don't worry about falling back to sleep. Just get a +6 and go from there.

Regarding the meter, a lot depends on what high is on your meter. On some, numbers above 500 give a "Hi" reading and on other meters, it's over 600. If the Relion uses 500 as the cut-off, that reading is within the 20% attributable to meter variance.

If Tip stays in the pinks and reds through your PM cycle, I'd go ahead and increase tomorrow morning to 2.5u.
 
Re: 7/29 - Tip - AMPS(386);

I have a question.

I see in your profile you are feeding special kitty.
Would you tell me which varieties?

And are you shooting insulin in the flanks or the scruff of the neck?
 
Re: 7/29 - Tip - AMPS(386);

Yeah, I got a +6, +4 as well. For mine, 500 reads as 'Hi'. Okay, I'll do the increase if she stays there. And my grandpa tested it against his meter for him, and it came out right on....

The varieties of special kitty I have are....I've got it somewhere....
Super Supper Dinner
Classic Tuna Dinner
Mixed Grill Dinner
Classic Cod, Sole, & Shrimp entree
Ocean Whitefish & Tune Entree
Ocean Whitefish & Tuna Dinner
Meaty Turkey & Giblets Dinner. It's all pate. I'm not using the classic tuna right now since I found something high in carbs pretty high up on the ingredients list.

I shoot in the scruff of the neck.
 
Re: 7/29 - Tip - AMPS(386);

Try to shot somewhere else, the scruff of the neck may be easier but sometimes it doesnt always get into the system. Most people, including veterinarians, make the mistake of injecting the insulin into the scruff of the neck. This area has a very poor blood supply and insulin absorption is thus rather erratic from this area. Use an area further back around the hips or flank or, ideally, on the sides of the stomach. Try to rotate sites also, because repeated injections in the same site can cause a "granuloma" or knot of tissue that has poor blood supply (which means the insulin isn't absorbed well). Go here to read about giving injections with some pictures. You may also find some videos online to help show you where and how to shot.

Go here to read more about injections:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/injections.htm
 
Re: 7/29 - Tip - AMPS(386);

So....that might be why her numbers have been up and down all day? I know she was getting a curve shape for a while when using the scruff. I'm a bit nervous about using a spot other than the scruff of the neck because it seems like it'd hurt more, and I'm not sure how well she'd take to it....
 
Re: 7/29 - Tip - AMPS(386);

As long as you do it where you can get a good fatty place, she will be fine. I was doing mine when he was skin and bones almost and he fussed but he was ok. Also a tip I found out just recently, make sure the numbers on the syringe are facing up, that way the bevel on the tip is going in the right direction. I do mine on his sides near the rear where there is more fat. Just pull up the skin a little more, it will also help to keep it from pinching. What size syringe are you using?
 
Re: 7/29 - Tip - AMPS(386);

Shes got the shot part covered.

I double checked your food list and they look like the right ones too.
Your list did lean heavily on the seafood. My girl loves seafood too but according to Dr. Lisa Pierson
we should try to lean more towards chicken and turkey.
The seafood that gets put in pet food tends to be the left overs from the catch used for people food.
It often sits on the docks for a while so it's not the best quality.
You may want to find a chicken /fish blend variety and get yours to eat a little more poultry.
She recommends using people quality seafood when you can. But she would also rather see cats eat the fishy
type canned pet food than any dry food.

I just wondered about the walmart food with all the recalls and so many of our pet foods being made in China
these days if they are being honest about what's in the food. The binky chart cites 2006.
 
Re: 7/29 - Tip - AMPS(386);

So....should I move where I give the shot? Or still shoot in to the scruff of the neck? I'm getting a bit confused here.

Yeah, I try to limit the seafood, I think I only bought 1 24-pack of the seafood and the classic tuna came with one of the 13oz packs, I don't think I've used any of that. I tried to buy a lot more of the mixed grill dinner, meaty turkey & Giblets dinner, and super supper dinner. Ah, yeah, I had the hardest time looking them up because I wasn't sure if I should've use Binky's chart because it's old or what.
 
Re: 7/29 - Tip - AMPS(386);

http://www.felinediabetes.com/injections.htm

Did you look at the site that Donna had? Here it is again.

the picture helps . I try to tent the skin more that they do . I want that error of margin so I know I'm not shooting into muscle or anything else.
You truly want to get the insulin under the skin....

So yes, try to shoot in the flank or on the side. It could help.
 
Alright, so....should I try that? And yeah, I did look. I'm just confused because I've always heard to use the scruff....

I'm thinking she might've had an off day though, since she seems to have a better look to her numbers tonight. So it leads me to my dosing question, should I up it tomorrow morning or stay up to see the nadir tonight?

Her numbers were:
PMPS: 429
+2: 403
+4: 378
 
Cindy

I'm one that is of the opinion that it may/may not matter where you shoot. There is some anecdotal info that the insulin is absorbed slower in the scruff. But to tell you the truth, I've been keeping track of Gracie's numbers and where I shoot for 18 months and it has not made one iota of difference. I do rotate where I shoot just so she doesn't develop a lipoma (hardened fatty tissue from repeated injections in the same spot). So I shoot left side in a.m. and right side in p.m. I shoot scruff one day, side of chest the next, and side of tummy towards flank the third. Never seen any difference in her numbers at all.

IMHO, the issue here isn't where you are shooting. It's that you have to work your way up in dose. She was at 3.5u of humulin and still seeing these kinds of numbers. I just think you need to systematically keep increasing her dose every six cycles if she doesn't come down. If her nadirs are over 300, increase by .5u.

We've already fast tracked her dose once so give her two more cycles at this dose for a total of six.
 
Alright....I may try switching where I shoot from now on just so that a...lipoma doesn't form. Is there away to feel for one so I can see if she has or hasn't developed one already? I might not start doing that in the morning, but in the evening. It's just she's too irritable overall(always has been) in the morning to try shooting elsewhere. So I'd rather not try switching to a new spot when she's more easily angered.

So...wait 2 more cycles and see where she's at then.

For some good news though, I think she's finally almost to her ideal weight. :) I weighed her prior to her dinner and she came out as 9lb 10oz. By the way, how do you figure out what a cats ideal weight should be?
 
She probably hasn't had enough injections to develop one. It's usually hard, circular....you'd be able to feel it.

On Ideal Weight from Dr. Lisa's website http://www.catinfo.org
Note that you should be able to easily feel the ribs with just a slight fat pad over them. Cats should also have a waist when viewed from above. They should not have any fat pads over their shoulders and if you pick up their skin, you should not feel thick fat underneath.

Their top line (backbone and back of the head) should be well-muscled and not terribly prominent (too thin) or hard to feel (too fat).

Cat Body Condition Chart
 
Ah, then no, she doesn't have one. Best to prevent it though. Do they go away at all? Sorry for all the questions about them, just never heard of one before.

Ah, thank you. I'll be checking all of the cats using that chart to see if I need to change how much food they're getting. :) Probably right before I give them their 2nd round of Frontline tomorrow.
 
Yes....if you quit shooting in the area, they should go away. Gracie got one and it went away pretty quickly after I started moving her shots.
 
Oh, that's good.

Also, I looked on my calendar only to realize I accidentally scheduled their yearly right when Tip gets her PMPS tomorrow. ohmygod_smile Would it be alright to give it to her a bit late? It might be half an hour to an hour. If so, what's the best way to work her back up to her normal time?
 
Generally, if you shoot late, then the next shot would be 12 hours from the time you shot late. We make up time either in 15 min increments every cycle or 30 mins once a day. So if you were an hour late, then you could start shooting 15 min early each cycle beginning Tues morning or shoot 30 min early Tues night and then 30 min early Wed night to put you back on schedule.

A late shot acts like a dose reduction and an early shot acts like a dose increase. Sometimes when kitty is high, we shoot an hour early to get the insulin into them. So let's see how Tip does tomorrow. If she's still high all day tomorrow and through tomorrow night, you could feasibly shoot an hour early on Tues morning to get you back on track as long as you would be there to monitor.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top