7/29 Tiger AMPS 331;PMPS 418;+2=270

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tiger(GA) and Ruth

Member Since 2014
Last condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=122416

We're stuck in red and pink again! ohmygod_smile I know this has to be the failed dose reduction from 2.25; I think I should have gone straight back up to at least 3 units, but instead have tried to progress slowly by .25. I feel like I need to increase again soon, these doses are barely getting us into blue and the bounces are higher in red. This can't be helping her CKD....Suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I feel like I am failing her.

Tiger's appetite was off today. Especially in the morning, she will eat and get her shot, then she goes and sleeps for 1-2 hours. I feel so bad for her. My vet doesn't want to see her yet, or check her bloodwork until our next appt in August, then she will get full BW done to see how her kidneys and thyroid are doing. I was able to confirm no sugar or additives in the levothyroxine compound but I have managed to give maybe 1/2 of what she is prescribed. If I don't manage it tomorrow I will take her into the vet for a lesson. :oops: Her hypothyroid may be affecting her BG. I feel this because now after a week of taking my prescription for levothyroxine, I can't believe how much better I feel! :shock: A lot of chronic aches and pains are gone, so I just have to figure out how to get Tiger's medicine down successfully.

Sending tons of healing vines, prayers and thoughts to the ailing kitties and their beans!
 
Re: 7/29 Tiger AMPS 331;PMPS 418

Hi Ruth,

I'm not an advise giver, nor am I experienced at this, just wondering how Tiger got all the way down to 2.25u when he was seeing green numbers at around 3.75u to 3.50u. Is it really so that an increase in insulin can raise their BP? Maybe so, I don't know anything about diabetes and it's effects on their BP. Just curious, do you feed Tiger the fish varieties of canned cat food?
 
Re: 7/29 Tiger AMPS 331;PMPS 418

Has the vet looked at Tiger's teeth lately? I know that a while ago the vet thought she needed a dental. Just wondering if something has gotten worse in her mouth. Both infection and thyroid issues can play havoc with the BGs. How is her peeing? UTI's are also notorious for raising the BG's. And you mentioned she is sniffling - what is causing that? So often, other conditions can cause an increase in BG's. Her SS looks like something different starting happening mid month.

I think you did the right thing by going up by .25U each time as the protocol calls for with nadirs under 300. You don't want to miss the right dose by increasing too fast. Just keep going up every 6 cycles like you have been.

Good luck figuring out how to give Tiger her levothyroxine. See Tiger, even mommy is taking it and feeling better. :YMHUG:
 
Hi Tina,
On 7-5-2014, Tiger's AMPS was 44;that was a dose reduction from 3.25 to 3.0. During this time, her appetite was really off. By 7/6 PMPS, she wasn't eating so I gave a token dose of 1.5 and for one more cycle on 7/7. By 7/8, her appetite was slightly better and I did not want to continue draining the depot so I shot 2.5 at AMPS and PMPS. On 7/9 AMPS, I shot 2.5 units but she dropped down to 35 :shock: and so I reduced to 2.25 and stayed there until 7/14. Nothing like making a long story long, sorry! :?

Quote: Is it really so that an increase in insulin can raise their BP? Maybe so, I don't know anything about diabetes and it's effects on their BP. Just curious, do you feed Tiger the fish varieties of canned cat food?

I don't know if increasing insulin can raise BP! Not to confuse the issue, but as far as I know Tiger has normal blood pressure at least as of her check up in May. And no, Tiger doesn't eat fish- I have tried to feed her Wellness Salmon and Turkey but she doesn't like it.

Thanks Wendy, That's a good suggestion, I haven't had the vet look at her teeth lately. The last check up he said her BG was good enough that soon she might be ready but he won't be saying that looking at her numbers now! :roll: Even more likely, she should be checked for a UTI, as she may be prone to that. And that sniffling just started, it's not all the time but she does it when she's eating, and she sounds like she's snoring when she sleeps. Definitely something going on since 7/14 and I think I will take her in and have the vet at least check for UTI and allergies. I thought you might have some secret for giving oral meds!
 
Looks like someone is going to have an interesting night. Quite the drop to +2! :shock: It'll probably cause a bounce. :roll:

Neko is very easy to give oral meds to (anti-jinx). She gets chicken flavored bupe and she even wants to lick the syringe afterwards. She's not as fond of the Hyaflex but we make do. My trick for Neko is to get behind her and curl my arm/hand from behind her back to the front so the syringe is facing towards me and her mouth. I then just prop open her mouth with the syringe and down the hatch. The bupe I'm aiming for her check lining so I have to aim that way. With kitties that are a bit more difficult, I face the side of the cat, gently grab the scruff and tilt the head back - which opens the mouth, and squirt away. But have everything ready to go when you approach the cat. The element of surprise is in your favor.
 
Hi Ruth,
Tiger is certainly providing you with challenges. I don't have any advice, but tonight I can give some support! :smile:
Hang in there!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Ruth

I hope she's eating better today. I'd just stick with the dose increases per the protocol as has been suggested. Sometimes, you have to go up to go down and sometimes higher than before.

I don't think increases in insulin raises the BP. ;-)
 
Well thanks ladies, but this is an old condo and not with the forum rules... :oops: But I do appreciate you looking in! I will stick with the game plan. Last night and today were better for us, I even managed to get Tiger to take about 3/4 of her levothyroxine without getting bitten! :smile:
 
It's ok to post in an older condo if there isn't a current one :smile:

Glad she took her meds. Glad you are feeling better. :-D
 
I'm sorry Tiger is giving you such a challenge. Hopefully the meds will kick in and take care of it. I'm glad that you are feeling better Ruth.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top