7/29 Tiger AMPS 182 +4.5 177 PMPS 161

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brian and Tiger

Member Since 2010
Tiger isn't happy. We had a series of errors with 6 strips this morning. Tested myself, worked, tested him, error, finally got a good reading. Not sure what was up with that. Called the meter's 1-800 thats open 24/7, had to leave a message and they STILL haven't called back and it's been over 12 hours. That's not very comforting.

Anyway, have a great day all.
 
Re: 7/29 Tiger AMPS 182 +4.5 177

Oh, poor Tiger. It's never fun to have to keep poking and poking. I am sure you have been forgiven by now...hope you get a response from the company soon. That just doesn't seem right!
 
nice PMPS. :smile:

Will you be able to get a spreadsheet together soon? If not, it's helpful to write out at least a few days' worth of numbers in the post or in your profile, so we can see a bigger picture. I know Tiger just switched to Lantus but it really does make things a lot easier to get the numbers as soon as possible.
 
Sorry about the strip hassle. You probably don't want to point out that the testing is on your cat, but do ask them to send you a replacement set of strips. You don't have confidence in those strips, I'm sure.

You should be seeing less pee from Tiger (hence less thirst - but still keep giving extra water in the food) as the BG drops below the renal threshold. That's the point at which the body tries to get rid of the excess glucose. See http://petdiabetes.wikia.com/wiki/Renal_threshold for more info, but Merck says that the feline threshold is 240 - so yay! Tiger is below that. He is going to feel a lot better, both from the lower BG and from the smoother/gentler ride on Lev. Also, I think TIger's risk of ketones and dangerous ketoacidosis is significantly reduced at the levels you are seeing now. Whew!

Your way forward is to continue gathering data to determine if Tiger's dose needs to be adjusted up or down. I know you work so just do the best you can on the midcycle testing. From the Tilly protocol:

"The cat should be monitored closely on the first 3 days on Lantus/Levemir: do curves between the AM and PM-doses, e.g. AM pre-shot, +3 hours, +6 hours, +9 hours, PM pre-shot. Generally the starting dose is kept for 3 days. Test for ketones daily. Cats that have a tendency to get ketones and/or who are getting relatively high flat curves after the switch should have their dose raised earlier (after 24-48 hours). It is extremely rare that a cat will need to have its dose reduced in the first 3 days, but if the cat falls below 50 mg/dl, reduce the dose."

Have you had a chance to check out the spreadsheets? They look confusing at first (at least they were to me) but very soon I think you'll start to see the patterns. And it will really help others to quickly review Tiger's progress and enable them to give better advice. The Tech support forum has the instructions. People put the link in their signature, so if you look at some of the other threads (aka condos), you can take a peek at their spreadsheets.

You're doing great. Give Tiger a kiss on the nose for us.

laur
 
I appreciate the correction, Sienne. With Danny OTJ and Cole pretty well regulated, I haven't needed to look at the protocol/stickies in ages. I'll check it out.

thanks,
laur
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top