7/29 Stella AMPS/374 +9/284 PMPS/313 +2/299 +4/241

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Stella

Member Since 2011
Hello and a nice bright morning to all! :smile:

Lowering Stella's dose by .25 seems to have brought her BG #'s up slightly. I would like to finish 6 cycles to see where she takes it. I am hoping Stella can manage to pull out yellows to justify keeping it at 3U or I will raise it the .25 again. What do you think???

Stella is HAPPY! No matter what her numbers are saying she is a little furry fireball. She is so glad to be racing around the living-room again in the early am and late pm (her old routine). She is howling at some unknown prey. It brings joy to my heart even though she wakes me from a dead sleep. :lol:

Her Neuropathy is still very visible, but with the new energy she is able to get speed somehow.

She is eating well, drinking water (but nothing like before)...and her elimination is appropriate.

She didn't like her shot this morning...she went to 'bite' me. Hmmm...she is feeling well. ;-)
 
Re: 7/29 Stella AMPS/374

That's so wonderful to hear that Stella is getting back to her "old" behaviors. It's always great to hear that a kitty is feeling better and the symptoms of diabetes are beginning to resolve.

I'm not sure why you reduced Stella's dose. Based on the dosing protocol we use, doses aren't reduced unless a newly diagnosed cat's BG drops below 50. Given that this is a failed dose reduction, I would suggest raising Stella's dose back to 3.25u tonight.
 
Re: 7/29 Stella AMPS/374

Good Morning Sienne. :smile: Unfortunately, that makes no sense to me. :oops: I thought we decreased in .25 and held 6 cycles and then if it didn't work, go back to the good dose.

With what I understand in your post...Stella would forever stay at 3.25U? How do you ever lower it??? I definitely did read the protocall... I obviously don't understand. I will re-read again and again. I apparently just don't get it.

Thanks for stopping in to catch my mistake!!!
 
Re: 7/29 Stella AMPS/374

Hi guys .. what a wonderful report on stella! Isn't it wonderful to see them back to their old playful selves? I hope these good reports continue .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 7/29 Stella AMPS/374

Mary, I looked at Stella's condo yesterday and I have some advice in the food department! I think the dry food is keeping her BG (and her dose of insulin) high.

Until Boo is transitioned to wet completely, I would only feed him the dry when you're home to keep Stella out of it. That way you can make sure he gets enough food, but still keep Stella from eating it and driving up her numbers. When you're gone during the day, you can freeze the canned food and leave it out to thaw for both kitties. If Boo gets hungry enough, he'll eat it. If he doesn't, well, he'll still get his dry from you and eat when you get home. You shouldn't leave dry food out to free-feed when trying to transition Boo off it anyway--cats on dry food take to wet food better if they have set feeding times for the dry, even if that means feeding multiple meals a day of the dry that they'll eat all in one sitting.

If either of your kitties are aggressive with food like my Bandit, you can get a couple auto feeders like this one. You'll want to get one per cat. You put the frozen food in the feeder, set it to release whenever you want, and then put the feeders at opposite ends of the kitchen.
 
Re: 7/29 Stella AMPS/374

Also, are you still feeding the DM canned to both cats? Many cats will turn their noses up at the DM because of the high liver content (some cats get sick of liver and don't like to eat it). Try some low carb Fancy Feast: http://felinediabetes.com/glutenfree.htm. Pick something that doesn't have liver as the first ingredient--Beef & Chicken, Chicken, Tender Beef, and Turkey & Giblets all have a much lower liver content than the DM. The classic flavors are all low carb and grain free, so Stella can eat them with no problem. Plus, it's a lot less expensive than the canned DM and better quality food.
 
Re: 7/29 Stella AMPS/374

Everybody has posted great information. I am trying to absorb. I thought I understood...but I must have hit a second round of 'overwhelm'.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top